We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Views of Cardiff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New House Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New House Country Hotel
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Views of Cardiff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

This was our second time staying at this hotel. This time our teenage daughter accompanied us. On arrival, we were stressed after a long drive from London and thought we might be late for the Wales/Ireland rugby match kick off. Our rooms were ready, 2 hrs ahead of schedule. My husband and I had a suite! Totally unexpected. Beautiful and very comfortable. Exit doors from lounge led to a courtyard and gardens with fantastic views.
The receptionist booked a cab which arrived before we had dropped our bags off in the rooms.
When we returned later that evening, there were lots of residents sitting around having drinks. We sank into comfy sofas and joined the conversation. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They were exemplary. Bright, bubbly engaging, and anything we asked for we got. While the kitchen was closed for the night, we got fab toasted sandwiches with crisps before heading to bed. Beds were extremely comfortable. If you are looking for a romantic weekend away, you would do worse than here. The views over Cardiff when we arrived back that night were fab, and spectacular the next morning. Throughly recommend it, and in the main because of the fantastic staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cityssliker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
759Alix, General Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking time to write such kind words regarding your stay at the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    158
    35
    18
    7
See reviews for
95
183
16
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed for one night with dinner and breakfast included.
The staff were very friendly and the food was great. It also looks as if the hotel communal areas have been redecorated since our last stay and this is an improvement.
Would definately recomend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonhurley100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Had a lovely lunch in the restaurant. staff were very polite and nothing was too much trouble. will definately be returning. Plenty of choice on the menu, also enjoyed having our coffee in the lounge of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewHouseHotel, Director at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Sequoias Restaurant.

We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Thank you to all the Staff of this excellent Hotel who made my daughters wedding so good : David & Sarah Wallace thank you all for your hard work and putting up with so many Police and Army at the same time : If anyone wants a Wedding Reception then this is THE place

Room Tip: Ask for a Balconey
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil526479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewHouseHotel, Director at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to right such a glowing review.

Firstly we would like to thank you and your family for letting the New House Country Hotel be part of your daughters special day and wish the happy couple all the best for the future.

I will be sure to pass your comments onto the rest of the team who will delighted to read them.

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

This hotel is in a really beautiful setting, and is decorated and furnished beuatifully. We only had one night here, and would go back. The beakfast was very good, couldn't ask for more, very friendly staff and good service.
However sadly due to wedding that was on the night we stayed and the loud partying guests we got no sleep at all. Very disappointing. If the guests had stayed in the area of the party it wouldnt have been a problem, however unfortunatly the party seemed to go on all night in the room next to ours.
Weddings are clearly very popular at this venue (and rightly so) but i would make sure there is no event on if you are only staying for a couple of nights. At least if you stay for a week and have one bad night you would not feel like you had wasted your money like we did.

Room Tip: We had room number 14 which was beautiful with a four poster bed and views over the coutryside and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewHouseHotel, Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Many thanks for your kind words regarding the hotel, While we endeavour to allocate 'non wedding' guests rooms away from the function I was sorry to hear about your problems regarding some guests. It is only with comments from guests like yourself we can try an improve our service with regard to these matters. I do hope to see you again at The New House Country Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

This has to be one of the most comfortable hotels I have stayed in. The room were spotless, well equipped and extremely comfortable. Hairdryer, t.v, toiletries all provided, good selection of teas, coffees and hot chocolate and nice biscuits too. We ate in the restaurant which was excellent. The food was delicious, service attentive and efficient. A little pricey at £25 for two courses perhaps.

The Hotel hosts a lot of weddings.Given the quality and the lovely garden and views, it is perfect for a reception.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StokeyRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewHouseHotel, Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel, hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Thanks ......... Once again faultless ! Great comfortable stay, great food and great staff!
Stayed in different rooms than normal but again they were faultless love the large beds the views of Cardiff bay were really good for once...... So made the stay even more pleasant. Can't wait to return soon and enjoy your hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
5.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
6.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,555 reviews
5.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New House Country Hotel

Property: New House Country Hotel
Address: Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New House Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the fringes of Cardiff nestling amongst the Welsh hills, the privately owned 4 star New House Country Hotel & Sequoias Restaurant boasts unrivalled views over the city and beautiful Vale of Glamorgan. The open fires, exquisite furnishings, fully equipped function suites, beautifully restored bedrooms and the stunning Sequoias restaurant combine to create the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your New House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
New House Country Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing