We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New House Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Beautiful hotel, fabulous view. Helpful friendly staff, good food for the most part. The phone in my room didn't work so had to walk down to reception to order room service - hardly a problem but irritating as I told them the evening I arrived for a two night stay and the fault wasn't looked at. Also the breakfast on day one was lovely, freshly cooked, plenty of choice, very enjoyable but on day two [a Friday] there was a self service breakfast which was not fresh at all, rubbery scrambled eggs, cold bacon etc. Extremely disappointing.
As an aside, if you are using satnav be aware that there is a separate postcode to get to the hotel. My room was booked via an agency and I wasn't aware of the problem so ended up in a series of very narrow lanes which got there only eventually.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review on the hotel, I am sorry to hear you encountered some problems whilst staying at the hotel, it is only with these reviews we can try and improve our service for future guests. I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

This was a really great hotel. The room was very impressive and much larger than the average hotel room - loads of character. The bathroom was also amazing with great facilities! You really do feel at home. We stayed in a room with a balcony/terrace which showed off nice views of Cardiff. If it had been Summer when we'd visited you could imagine having a a glass or two outside.

The food was amazing! You could just go to the restaurant to eat if you were looking for a nice restaurant in the area. Great for a romantic dinner - small restaurant so you are never one of many in there. Couldn't fault the whole experience.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the hotel, it is with these encouraging words we continue to strive to provide the service you received. We hope you will consider visiting us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I booked 5 rooms for the Saturday of the Wales V England rugby...the only hotel in Cardiff prepared to take a one night booking...all of the chains in town wanted a minimum of two night stay and were charging way over the top prices.
New House Country offers a variety of different bedrooms, all extremely large with exceptionally spacious bathrooms. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble... returning to the hotel around midnight we were able to order drinks and sandwiches which were served speedily and very well presented at a sensible cost..
Breakfast offered a variety of foods again well presented and very appetising.
The views from the hotel are stunning looking right across Cardiff and out to sea.Definately take a camera and sit out on the terraces enjoying the scenery and peaceful location.
I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone attending an event in Cardiff as a taxi fare into town is only £12.00 ...much cheaper than having to book the minimum two stay the hotels in the centre demand.

Room Tip: All of our rooms were excellent however, the rooms with views across Cardiff would be my first choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeniseSouthWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the hotel and your enjoyable day at the rugby. We look forward to welcoming you back for future rugby dates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at this hotel, following a friend's wedding there this weekend. The hotel staff are friendly and very helpful and appear to run a tight ship! Our bedroom was spacious and the bathroom was a very good size. The room's decor isn't particularly modern, but was still nice. The scenery around the hotel is stunning. Would definitely recommend this hotel to those looking for a wedding venue and also for those wanting a weekend away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShonieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your kind words reagrding the hotel, I am glad you enjoyed your friends wedding and I hope to see you at the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Afternoon tea was fine, reasonably priced with good strong tea and a variety of sandwiches, scones and cakes. Staff were friendly and efficient. I think the atmosphere could have been a little better, some background music and more logs on the fire would have been nice. All in all, we enjoyed a nice afternoon in very pleasant surroundings. I would visit again and I'm sure that afternoon tea in the gardens in the summer would be wonderful. The views across Cardiff from the hotel grounds are spectacular.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank italyintimefortea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel and I will ensure your recommendations are passed onto the Director to consider.

We look forward to seeing you in the Summer for an afternoon tea outside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a Valentines day, Anniversary break. Superb room, very large, large balcony, great views across Cardiff. Very clean Hotel, friendly staff, very good food.
Well placed for getting into Cardiff, although sat nav took us up some scary B roads to get there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StanLee.-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
759Alix, General Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel, we do hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

My all-time best hotel is in Madeira, but this comes whisker-close. A magnificent house with charming and comfortable public rooms, a vast bedroom with its own little shaded terrace and a stunning view over Cardiff and the Bay in the distance, a kitchen ready to make me a delicious plate of sandwiches when I returned from an evening meeting at 10:45 PM, staff charming and helpful at all times: a sense of perfect comfort and quiet. What more can a traveller want? To come back, often.
One point to note: the post-code given in the hotel's address is NOT the one to enter into a GPS/SatNav. Phone or e-mail for the latter.

Room Tip: Rooms 5,6, and 7 are on the guest wing's ground floor and have a little shaded terrace from whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roger41France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
759Alix, Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Roger

Many thanks for your kind words regarding your stay at the hotel, unfortunately the only thing we cannot offer is the weather in Madeira!

I do hope you will consider visiting the hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,296 reviews
4.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,391 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,949 reviews
5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
5.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New House Country Hotel

Address: Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £88 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New House Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the fringes of Cardiff nestling amongst the Welsh hills, the privately owned 4 star New House Country Hotel & Sequoias Restaurant boasts unrivalled views over the city and beautiful Vale of Glamorgan. The open fires, exquisite furnishings, fully equipped function suites, beautifully restored bedrooms and the stunning Sequoias restaurant combine to create the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your New House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
New House Country Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing