We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, guests can ruin it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New House Country Hotel
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location, guests can ruin it”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed at the hotel on 9th June and it was a beautiful relaxing location, but there was a wedding on and I think they were a bit overwhelmed by the location and the day, it was a bit like gypsy wedding at the time, lots of drunken chavs smoking and squabbling everywhere until 4am. the walls were thick enough that it wasn't too much bother and i'm sure other wedding parties will be a bit more civilised, I didn't complain as it was a wedding and I don't think there was anything the staff could do to control or educate them. the staff were very friendly and helpful and very clean and elegant location, and a huge bed! a hidden gem for the people of Cardiff

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your taking the time to leave feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, but am sorry to hear of the disturbance caused by other guests, should the matter have been brought to our attention we would gladly have spoken with the guests concerned.

I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    163
    36
    20
    8
See reviews for
100
185
16
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, U.K.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I have no idea what this hotel is like to stay at but its position overlooking Cardiff is second to none.
My experience extends to a series of Sunday lunches taken in the last couple of months and the menu choices and quality of fare has been really excellent. Service is always good and a 3 course lunch costs just under £20.00.
The views from the dining room (with the right table) are fabulous - the whole of Cardiff Bay and the city laid out before you with the 2 islands off the Glamorgan Heritage Coast easily visible.
The food? Well, there's a choice of 4-6 dishes for each course and each one is usually a little different from the norm. Today I ate roast leg of lamb with a fantastic pea puree (NOT spoiled by mint being added as in many restaurants). There were about six or seven different vegetables on offer and I rate their main courses as on a par with The Angel, Abergavenny which hitherto I rated as possibly the best in South Wales! So, I now have two favourite restaurants for Sundat lunch - so good to have the choice in an area not overendowed with restaurants of excellence charging realistic prices.......
This place is already popular with tables hard to get at times so be flexible about times of eating if you want to try it. It's NOT really suitable for children UNLESS you are prepared to leave the table periodically and to give them a run outside in the spacious outdoor area! Inside the hotel the atmosphere is generally calm and quiet and not geared towards entertaing children.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your kind words with regard to Sunday lunch at the hotel, and I am so glad you have enjoyed having it here on several occasions. We pride ourselves on using local fresh produce in our menus and I think this is reflected in the quality of the meals provided.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the wedding of our niece, the venue was excellent the staff absolutely first rate and friendly room was very nice with stunning views and a large bathroom, it had good WiFi, and a kingsize bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikel2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you kind words regarding the hotel and I am glad you enjoyed your stay, we do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My sister and I took our Mum for afternoon tea for her 81st birthday. We were placed at a window seat and brought a pot of tea and a small selection of cakes. There were two other gentleman on a nearby table holding a fairly intensive business meeting. Sadly, we are unable to recommend the New House for afternoon tea as it was overpriced, lacked any atmosphere, and the service provided was poor.

N Mills

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your afternoon tea at the hotel, we are disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with both the afternoon tea and the service which you were provided. If these issues had been brought to the attention of staff on the day we would have gladly tried to rectify them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

On the plus side: great views, good rooms, lovely restaurant and helpful staff.

On the negative side: we stayed at a weekend when they had a wedding party booked. As Chris B reported, the staff do not supervise or manage the guests and we were kept awake until 3am with people smoking & talking out the front of the hotel then guests making quite a noise moving around the hotel, talking, etc. Furthermore we had a LOT of trouble with no hot water in our room. We were staying for two nights and my wife loves to have an evening bath when we stay at a hotel. That wasn't possible :-(. The hot water returned on the first morning so we could shower properly but had not returned for the second morning so we had to walk through the hotel in our dressing gowns to a different wing of the hotel to use the shower in an empty room. Quite what they would have done if they didn't have any spare rooms, I don't know!

The Reception staff dealt with this very professionally and sympathetically and did take some money off our bill. They told us that they would also be referring it to Management but we have NOT heard from them, even several weeks after staying there so I'm quite disappointed that we didn't get so much as an apology from the Management Team.

We would probably stay there again although the problem with wedding bookings seems to be quite difficult to avoid - it is a popular venue for that :-(.

Room Tip: The newer wing would seem to be less "creaky" than the named rooms in the original part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PColmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your recent visit to the hotel, we value all feedback both the good and the not so good as it is only with this valuable feedback we can further improve the product and service we offer to guests.

We pride ourselves on a warm Welsh welcome and great customer service and I am pleased to read you did experience this.

I am however disappointed to read you did experience some issues during your stay with us which were not rectified to a satisfactory level and that you have not received a Management response.

I would very much like to have the opportunity to discuss your feedback further if you so wish and would kindly ask if you could e-mail me your preferred contact details to alix@newhousehotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

When we arrived at this hotel we were immediately offered a better room as they had just received a cancellation. Our room was stunning with views right over Cardiff and out over the English Channel beyond and looked even prettier at night with all the lights. not only were tea and coffee facilities provided but also bottled water. the bed was really comfortable and the bathroom had shower gel, shampoo and thick fluffy towels. We had a sandwich lunch which was reasonably priced and a good breakfast the next morning. the setting is beautiful and only a short drive from the motorway and the centre of Cardiff. I cant wait to go back to this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

What a gem of a hotel! We arrived with a friendly welcome. The room was beautiful with a stunning view of the countryside and Cardiff and the sea beyond. The staff were super, especially at breakfast. The food delicious. It only took a short drive to get into the city, so a perfect location, peaceful and quiet, with great shopping and restaurants on the doorstep. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magicnumber13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel, we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
4.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
2,131 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
2,030 reviews
5.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
6.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
3,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New House Country Hotel

Property: New House Country Hotel
Address: Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New House Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the fringes of Cardiff nestling amongst the Welsh hills, the privately owned 4 star New House Country Hotel & Sequoias Restaurant boasts unrivalled views over the city and beautiful Vale of Glamorgan. The open fires, exquisite furnishings, fully equipped function suites, beautifully restored bedrooms and the stunning Sequoias restaurant combine to create the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
New House Country Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing