We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Murder Mystery dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New House Country Hotel
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Murder Mystery dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Nice to see friendly staff, to me it makes all the difference,my group and I had a great time, the night porter was good too and that's rare, one small thing, I wanted to buy wine but they did not take cards, only cash so I could not purchase it , this is the first hotel and dinning place that I have have experienced this issue. Hope the staff stay happy .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Welshcake9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your lovely comments regarding your stay at the hotel for the Murder Mystery dinner, I will pass your kind comments onto the staff. Thank you for your comments regarding card payments, you would have been able to charge your wine to your room.

I do hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    163
    36
    20
    8
See reviews for
100
186
16
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great place to stay if visiting Cardiff, although you will need a car. Lovely atmosphere, friendly people working, and very good food, great views of Cardiff. Lovely walks nearby on caerphilly mountain.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuernseyAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

I am so glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel, I do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

First time at this Hotel, and was not disappointed. Having been to many of the It's Murder weekends, we stayed at this hotel for their first booking. We had the most wonderful time. The room was spectacular - a Four Poster with views over Cardiff Bay. The food was wonderful and the ingredients good quality. The staff were exceptional. Friendly, efficient and Tim, the waiter, never stopped smiling (shame he was accused of the murder!!)

We are sincerely hoping that It's Murder use this hotel regularly, as we will definitely be going back again and again.

Well done New House Hotel Staff and the cast of It's Murder for making this another very enjoyable weekend.

See you in February (and October) 2014.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the hotel for the Murder Mystery weekend. We have had some very positive comments from the weekend and we do hope to run similar events in the future. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent the weekend at this hotel for a murder mystery event. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with lovely views. Our room was very nice with a comfy bed. The food was delicious and much, much better than I've ever had on a 'package deal' weekend. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

The murder mystery was organised by a company called "It's Murder" and was a thoroughly entertaining way to spend a weekend. The cast take their job of acting out the murder very seriously so the performances are very good - however, the whole plot and atmosphere was light-hearted and fun. This was the first time the hotel had run such a weekend but they have more planned which I would strongly recommend to people.

If you are planning to go into Cardiff for a spot of shopping, I would recommend leaving your car at the local train station and catching the train into the city centre as Cardiff parking charges are astronomical - not the hotel's fault but something to bear in mind.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary_Jones77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the hotel for the Murder Mystery, from what I can gather this was an enjoyable weekend for all involved. I do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I note from below that a few people in the past have had an issue with finding the hotel, however on visiting the hotels website they offer very useful information about using sat nav's and on following this found the hotel very easily.

On arrival at the hotel I was amazed with both the grandeur of the hotel and also the fantastic views from the hotel, the view is perfect for a picture postcard!

On checking in I was checked in by a receptionist called Heather, she was extremely polite and professional. On arrival our room was a little cold and we couldn't work out the heating so after a quick telephone call to reception this was sorted within minutes (the hotel has to activate the heating for the rooms in the annex section). Our room was very spacious and we even had a balcony which overlooked the beautiful views of Cardiff.

We were at the hotel for the special reason of attending the Murder Mystery weekend with It's Murder who we have attended a murder weekend with before but in another hotel.

In the evening we all met in the blue lounge which was very cosy with the roaring log fire and the evening began. The entertainment as always from It's Murder was top class and we had a great weekend.

One comment I have to make it on the food at the hotel, the food was absolutely fantastic on the first night I opted for the chicken main followed by a white chocolate mousse in a chocolate cup which was delicious!
On night 2 I opted for the belly pork which just fell apart with your knife and fork and was a delight on the pallet.

All in all a fantastic stay and a real hidden gem, will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdffoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

I am so glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel for the Murder Mystery weekend. As you know it was the first time we have run an event like this for the whole weekend and we are getting some very good comments from it, I do hope you will join us again in the future for a similar event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed here on business on a beautiful September day, it was a lovely setting in the sun with quiet surroundings. The room was classic design, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the waiter was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99hstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the hotel, you cannot beat the views we have of Cardiff, they are spectacular! We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
4.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
5.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
6.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New House Country Hotel

Property: New House Country Hotel
Address: Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New House Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the fringes of Cardiff nestling amongst the Welsh hills, the privately owned 4 star New House Country Hotel & Sequoias Restaurant boasts unrivalled views over the city and beautiful Vale of Glamorgan. The open fires, exquisite furnishings, fully equipped function suites, beautifully restored bedrooms and the stunning Sequoias restaurant combine to create the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
New House Country Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing