We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful everytime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New House Country Hotel
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cheadle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful everytime”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I have stayed many times at The New House Hotel, usually with my father, when we are visiting family in nearby Llanishen and Rhiwbina. Every stay has been wonderful.
We have always needed a ground floor room as my father is unable to walk up/down stairs (no lift). Our request has always been accommodated by the staff. The staff are always polite, friendly and very helpful, going out of their way to ensure we have everything we need. There are very good provisions for anyone who is disabled - parking near the entrance. Flat access and ramp up to the sitting area and restaurants/bar area. Disabled toilet on ground floor. The ground floor bedrooms are spacious and would easily accommodate anyone in a wheelchair. The shower is over the bath so this may be difficult for some guests. Excellent choice of breakfast each day in the restaurant,very good quality ingredients .
The view over Cardiff are fantastic.
I have no hesitation in highly recommending The New House Hotel. I know I will be returning many times in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. Beautiful views over Cardiff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Reviewer

I am so glad you choose the New House when you come to visit your family and you enjoy your stay. We pride ourselves in using Welsh local produce and am happy you enjoy this produce for your breakfast.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    169
    38
    20
    8
See reviews for
105
190
16
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just spent three nights at the hotel. Booking in very effective , allocated the Lewis room which was outstanding from my wife and my point of view, very spacious and comfortable. Had dinner in the hotel on two occasions. Very efficient service and excellent food. On the second evening there was also a dinner party of 30 in the restaurant . However, the hotel staff treated us as individuals and we received quick and prompt service during our meal. A credit to the serving staff. Try and take a window seat for breakfast it is breath taking. We hope to return in the Summer when hopefully we can take advantage of sitting outside and take in the ambiance . Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Reviewer

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel and were comfortabale in Lewis.

I do hope you will visit us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Nice to see friendly staff, to me it makes all the difference,my group and I had a great time, the night porter was good too and that's rare, one small thing, I wanted to buy wine but they did not take cards, only cash so I could not purchase it , this is the first hotel and dinning place that I have have experienced this issue. Hope the staff stay happy .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Welshcake9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your lovely comments regarding your stay at the hotel for the Murder Mystery dinner, I will pass your kind comments onto the staff. Thank you for your comments regarding card payments, you would have been able to charge your wine to your room.

I do hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great place to stay if visiting Cardiff, although you will need a car. Lovely atmosphere, friendly people working, and very good food, great views of Cardiff. Lovely walks nearby on caerphilly mountain.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuernseyAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

I am so glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel, I do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

First time at this Hotel, and was not disappointed. Having been to many of the It's Murder weekends, we stayed at this hotel for their first booking. We had the most wonderful time. The room was spectacular - a Four Poster with views over Cardiff Bay. The food was wonderful and the ingredients good quality. The staff were exceptional. Friendly, efficient and Tim, the waiter, never stopped smiling (shame he was accused of the murder!!)

We are sincerely hoping that It's Murder use this hotel regularly, as we will definitely be going back again and again.

Well done New House Hotel Staff and the cast of It's Murder for making this another very enjoyable weekend.

See you in February (and October) 2014.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the hotel for the Murder Mystery weekend. We have had some very positive comments from the weekend and we do hope to run similar events in the future. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent the weekend at this hotel for a murder mystery event. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with lovely views. Our room was very nice with a comfy bed. The food was delicious and much, much better than I've ever had on a 'package deal' weekend. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

The murder mystery was organised by a company called "It's Murder" and was a thoroughly entertaining way to spend a weekend. The cast take their job of acting out the murder very seriously so the performances are very good - however, the whole plot and atmosphere was light-hearted and fun. This was the first time the hotel had run such a weekend but they have more planned which I would strongly recommend to people.

If you are planning to go into Cardiff for a spot of shopping, I would recommend leaving your car at the local train station and catching the train into the city centre as Cardiff parking charges are astronomical - not the hotel's fault but something to bear in mind.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary_Jones77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the hotel for the Murder Mystery, from what I can gather this was an enjoyable weekend for all involved. I do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
4.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
5.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
6.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New House Country Hotel

Property: New House Country Hotel
Address: Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New House Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the fringes of Cardiff nestling amongst the Welsh hills, the privately owned 4 star New House Country Hotel & Sequoias Restaurant boasts unrivalled views over the city and beautiful Vale of Glamorgan. The open fires, exquisite furnishings, fully equipped function suites, beautifully restored bedrooms and the stunning Sequoias restaurant combine to create the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
New House Country Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing