We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New House Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely quiet setting”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Only 1 nights stay on business, but would happily return again for pleasure, situated in a very quiet country setting over looking cardiff city, pleasant surroundings, with a great country house feel, we had a room upgrade to a suit, which was very spacious, overlooking the gardens, The Restaurant served great food, a la carte style, really nicely presented, breakfast was also served in the restaurant, which was just as well presented, A pleasant experience all round!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for writing such kind words regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I do hope we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    184
    43
    21
    8
See reviews for
128
203
18
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Not having moved into our new house, we booked our friends in for B&B.They were delighted with every aspect of the hotel. We joined them for Sunday lunch and everything was faultless. Excellent food and service. Staff could not have done better. Full marks. Look forward to next visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent experience with us at The New House, I do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I booked 6 x double rooms for Amlin/Heineken weekend. The booking process and all subsequent amendments were flawless. Arrived, all rooms ready and clean. Location is about 5 miles from the town, c.£10-£15 taxi ride - which is worth it. The staff really do go the extra mile e.g. trying to book taxi on Heineken Cup weekend for 12 people. Brekkie is good and wholesome (not exactly a full Welsh). There were two weddings on over the two days - you wouldn't notice. Didn't hear any noise and still loads of staff on. Views are good and hotel easy to find. The little things mattered e.g. free Wifi - really annoys me when hotels charge you £10 a day for basic wifi, fortunately these had free wifi throughout. Without a shadow of doubt, this is now my 1st choice hotel in Cardiff for location, rooms, service, staff and value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave-Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the hotel, I do hope you enjoyed the match as well! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Booked the hotel for a colleague and I as we had a business meeting the next day and due to arriving late booked dinner as well. We were both pleasantly surprised when we arrived by the warm welcome, lovely rooms and the dinner was excellent. All of the staff are really friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. I will definitely be back and have already said to my wife we should do me for a weekend visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent trip to the hotel. I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a perfect wedding day for our son and new daughter in law (despite the rain) on 23rd May.
The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them, especially Tim who helped us out with displaying a recording on the projector in the marquee. Food was great, rooms clean and comfortable and so quiet at night. Everything ran like clockwork so we could just sit back and enjoy the day.
Only slight downside was driving around for 50 minutes trying to find the place with the postcode and being told by the SAT NAv that we had arrived at our destination whilst still on the M4!!
Our thanks again to all the brilliant staff at the New House.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

I am so glad you enjoyed your son's wedding with us at The New House, we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

went back to the New House for a friends wedding. The wedding was run well by Kerry, Tom and staff. A good day with no complaints. Later the nightman was very busy serving at the bar and making sandwiches single handed and juggled the work load perfectly. One of our favourite hotels with a lot of history.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Cardiff view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proudlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely words regarding your recent stay at the hotel, I do hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A family member hosted his wedding here and the hotel delivered on all fronts. Staff were extremely friendly and the rooms were spotless. The views (despite the rain) were simply breathtaking. We stayed for 2 nights and the breakfast was great, especially as the staff were completely willing to bring it up to the bridal suite for us and the reception itself ran completely smoothly. Big thanks to Tim for how helpful he was in particular! Everyone seemed to want to go the extra mile. Had a brilliant sleep both nights with a very comfortable bed and a brilliant shower. A few guests had an issue with finding the venue due to a postcode problem which could do with being fixed but that was the only tiny complaint I could make at all!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,261 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,797 reviews
5.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,111 reviews
6.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New House Country Hotel

Property: New House Country Hotel
Address: Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New House Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the fringes of Cardiff nestling amongst the Welsh hills, the privately owned 4 star New House Country Hotel & Sequoias Restaurant boasts unrivalled views over the city and beautiful Vale of Glamorgan. The open fires, exquisite furnishings, fully equipped function suites, beautifully restored bedrooms and the stunning Sequoias restaurant combine to create the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your New House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
New House Country Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing