We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent customer service and Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New House Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank vonnieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Visited for a birthday party. Stayed in Room 4. Lovely large room with double bed, single bed, sofa and still room for a travel cot etc. Gorgeous little terrace outside with views of Cardiff in the distance. Children welcomed warmly everywhere and breakfast was lovely. Only small niggle was that the patio door didn't lock properly. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Reederswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for writing such a lovely review, I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I have passed your comment about the lock onto maintenance.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is the best hotel/service/dinner that I have experienced I stay away between 10to20 days per year and have done so for over 30years This hotel, the staff and the food was simply the best experience Well done!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for such a lovely review regarding your recent stay with us at The New House, I look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely hotel, very elegant and atmospheric public areas. We stayed overnight with DBB and also had Sunday lunch. Food was very nice and well presented. my only complaint is that there is a supplement for Beef for Sunday lunch - approx. £2.50 -which is ridiculous especially as we only had one slice! Evening meal was lovely. I asked to change room as I did not like the location and we were given another room immediately. This one had a balcony with stunning views of Cardiff and Cardiff bay. The hotel is looking a little tired in some areas but overall a lovely hotel in a beautiful location. the staff are very friendly and helpful without being obtrusive. looking forward to my next visit

Room Tip: Pick one with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ALLYSON W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I have passed your comments onto the relevant departments, it is only with these comments we can improve our service for future guests.

I look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We enjoyed a very pleasant comfortable two night stay here in mid July. The staff were notably helpful and caring. The room was beautiful, clean, well decorated if a little on the dark side. A little disappointed with the dinner in the restaurant - very average quality and somewhat limited selection but probably value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I had tried to book another hotel but they were full, so this was my second choice.
I am so glad they were full...this place is stunning!
I'm sure you are thinking of the Best Westerns you stayed at on a business trip, or the one you stayed at with your grandparents on a road trip, but this is nothing like them.
This is a beautiful old property, wonderfully maintained, in the most gorgeous countryside imaginable. There was a wedding going on as we arrived, and it is certainly a perfect setting for one. We had a garden view room - at night you can see the lights of Cardiff in the distance. And Sunday morning we woke to a beautiful sunny scene of rolling fields complete with sheep bleating in the distance. Super romantic.
And the staff are so nice and very accommodating. Nothing is problem, just ask.
What a gem. So glad we stayed here.

Room Tip: Garden view in the main hotel. Just gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bermudian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your recent stay with us at The New House. I do hope we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Due to umpteen graduation ceremonies in the city, there was no room at my usual haunts.
I found this little gem on a bookings site. Easy to find on the road between Caerphilly and Cardiff, set at the base of lush green hills overlooking the City and Cardiff bay.

Its a great Hotel, I had an evening meal in the Hotel's own restaurant.
The restaurant staff were so friendly and so professional, not intrusive but always keeping an eye on you and making sure you were looked after. Eating at the hotel was great, the food is excellent and I didn't have to wait long, the only concern I had with the meal is that the pricing on the menu needs to be clearer. It would be good to know what every meal costs individually not just as a combined course.

My hotel room and en-suite was spacious - yes even the bathroom was spacious, very clean and one of the best nights sleep I have ever had. The Hotel does a have a Gym which is on the ground floor, small but has everything you need for a quick workout.

Will I stay here again - YES I would like to.

Room Tip: My room was facing the city soooo quiet fantastic view to wake up to on a warm sunny summers morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,222 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
4.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,889 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
5.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New House Country Hotel

Address: Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £91 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New House Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the fringes of Cardiff nestling amongst the Welsh hills, the privately owned 4 star New House Country Hotel & Sequoias Restaurant boasts unrivalled views over the city and beautiful Vale of Glamorgan. The open fires, exquisite furnishings, fully equipped function suites, beautifully restored bedrooms and the stunning Sequoias restaurant combine to create the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
New House Country Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing