We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New House Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 December 2008

Booked the New House Country hotel for a shopping trip to Cardiff after seeing good reviews here, and was not disappointed. For a three star hotel, this place is really extremely good (if, I suppose, on the small side with regards to number of rooms).

Very pleasant staff, excellent food (afternoon tea on the lawn, brilliant meal in the restaurant) for a very good price. Wonderful spacious room (double for single use) with views towards Cardiff Bay, very thoughtfully decorated. Comfy bed, towelling robes, and generous tea tray. Nice and quiet in the night although there was a wedding celebration on - my room was to the front, and fairly close to the party wing but I was not disturbed in the least.

I'm definitely going back!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lena76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    180
    42
    20
    8
See reviews for
119
200
19
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

Me and my family stayed here in August as we were attending a wedding at the hotel. When we first arrived I was very impressed with the building and also the fantastic views, I thought it was going to be an enjoyable experienced and I wasn't far wrong.

We checked in at reception; the receptionist wasnt very friendly and warming but nice enough. We had our cards for our rooms and got directed to them. My partner and I stayed on the ground floor which had a veranda, it was beautiful. The room was fairly large and the bathroom was very clean and modern. We were very impressed.

The Wedding was absolutley stunning, the food was gorgeous and the surroundings were perfect. For the evening reception the food was cooked on a bbq which was delicious and very different; my partner is very fussy with food and he enjoyed everything!.

The breakfast the next morning was lovely, you could pick whatever you wanted and have as much as you fancied.

I would recommend this hotel to people of all ages, it's perfect.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happygoluckyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2008

Despite an initial mix-up over our request for a "quiet" room, the helpful receptionist jigged around what appeared to be loads of reservations to make available a pair of interconnecting rooms for us and our son.

We are regular visitors to the Cardiff area as we have family nearby and always stay in the Hilton or Marriott, but decided on this hotel when we weren't able to get into our usual haunts; and I'm glad that was the case! Our rooms were comfortable and had all of the facilities we would have expected. We ordered room service both nights of our stay, and apart from two small issues with our desserts (one night, and Eton Mess made with marshamallows instead of meringue!!- uuggh!, and the second night we had to call three times before our desserts were brought), we found the quality of the food fantastic.

We enjoyed the great variety of Tv on offer through their Freeview service and our son enjoyed running around the lovely grounds.

A couple of niggles were that we found the bed impossibly uncomfortbale and both my husband and I slept very badly both nights. Also we preferred the buffert style breakfast served at the weekend rather than the menu service during the week - mainly as we have a 2 year old son and it's never easy to wait for food.

All in all, though we enjoyed the brilliant, warm service and the general ambience of the hotel. We qwere even prepared to accept some of the niggles, where we probably wouldn't have done in some of the city centre hotels, as overall we felt welcome and had a good stay.

We're booked in again over Christmas.

  • Liked — Staff welcome and helpfulness
  • Disliked — Need to upgrade their beds and bedding
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thegamebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2008

My husband & I booked a table in the Restaurant for our wedding anniversary

From the moment we walked in until the end of the evening we have nothing but praise..

The staff were very helpful and friendly we were offered a drink in one of the comfortable lounges while we perused the menu and then lead into the lovely restaurant with a table overlooking Cardiff, the lights over the city were stunning and set the scene for a romantic dinner for two.

The food was first class with a great menu and a very high standard of cuisine. Neither of us could manage a dessert for a while so we took coffee in the lounge and our chosen dessert was brought to us in the lounge later - to our surprise the chef had written in chocolate on the plate 'Happy Anniversary' what a WOW touch that was.

We will definitely come back again and next time we will be staying overnight to make the magic last a bit longer at this beautiful country house hotel

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WOWCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,227 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,760 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
6.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New House Country Hotel

Property: New House Country Hotel
Address: Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New House Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the fringes of Cardiff nestling amongst the Welsh hills, the privately owned 4 star New House Country Hotel & Sequoias Restaurant boasts unrivalled views over the city and beautiful Vale of Glamorgan. The open fires, exquisite furnishings, fully equipped function suites, beautifully restored bedrooms and the stunning Sequoias restaurant combine to create the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your New House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
New House Country Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing