We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's Basil Fawlty when you need him?”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #39 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Where's Basil Fawlty when you need him?”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Health and safety?? Had to walk down unlit ginnell to room that was obviously an outhouse at some time. Curtains didn't draw properly and show doors didn't shut. En-suite so tiny! Damp, musty smell on entry to hotel, wouldn't want to have seen p0lace before refurbishment! VERY overpriced.
While we were there (2nights) lights in ginnell were out, a leak on landing and cooker broke.
On the positive side staff very pleasant and breakfast good.
Stayed much better places for cheaper!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahdean56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    30
    11
    15
    22
See reviews for
16
34
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2010

very friendly staff, approachable and helpful, high standards of cleanliness,nice decor, convenient location.No complaints

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen186458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Stayed here for a weekend with my friends. I am unsure whether the hotel has been taken over, however you could not have asked for friendlier staff, if it hasnt i am baffled as to why there have been bad comments on this site. Our rooms were clean and spacious and the location was perfect. We were in the bustling city centre within 5-7 minutes of walking and can i say what a fantastic city. Due to my clumsiness I had to ask for clean bedding (spilt my foundation..oops), this was no problem for the manager who even made the bed for me.......above and beyond the call of duty i would say. Would definitely recommend this hotel (B&B)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddyg82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Thread bear carpets on the stairs, fraying carpets in the room. The twin room we booked had inadequate heating - had to ask for an extra duvet for the second night. Poor quality furniture and dirty, badly fitted valance sheets. Dirty quilts, dubious stains on the bathroom bin & curtains and scuff marks on the walls. Only a single bulb working in the overhead light which I can only assume was due to water damage judging by the marks on the ceiling around the light fitting. Cobwebs on the ceiling and around the top of the (very dirty) curtains. Hole in the rather thin bath towel and badly cleaned glasses and mugs. The single room had similar - dirty bed sheets, exposed wiring, tangled electrical cables and a bathroom window which didn't close properly. Dirty cutlery at breakfast (once we eventually got a seat). Not enough seating in the breakfast room, had to queue! Not a nice cooked breakfast, ran out of orange AND apple juice, awful tea. And when we dared to complain were threatened with being kicked out of the B&B and told that no-one else had complained (despite hearing on the way down to breakfast that someone had a broken bed and another was checking out early). Terrible accommodation and even worse customer service. Disgusting.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank design77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Aberystwyth, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Many causes for concern here: there was no fire notice in our bedroom, we were not required to register, and there was a gas boiler in what we at first thought was a clothes cupboard. Although the boiler was new and looked safe, it was noisy and added to the lack of feeling of concern for guests' comfort and safety.
Parking was chaotic, and latecomers were blocking in everyone else, which seemed to be a matter of complete indifference to the landlady. As there had been no registration she was unable to identify the cars in question, and 'solved' the problem by telling us to knock on room doors to find out who was blocking us in.
Our visit was during an events weekend at the Millennium Stadium and many of the hotels and guest houses had increased their prices, but we felt we got very poor value for money, as our room lacked the facilities and welcoming detail we surely had a right to expect at the price we paid. There was no chair, no hairdryer, no tissues, no shelf in the bathroom, clothes storage was inadequate and worst of all, there was no way of controlling the temperature of the radiator in the bathroom, which was on full during one of the warmest nights of the summer!
On the plus side, the shower and television were new and of good quality, and the room pleasantly decorated.
When the hotel is full the breakfast room does not have enough tables to seat the inevitable morning rush (others have commented on the inflexibility of breakfast time) and families were having to queue, sitting on the stairs, until a table became available!
We will not be visiting The Abbey Hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2009

Stayed at the hotel for 4 Nights, I must say it was very friendly and nice clean rooms. It is more like a B and B then a hotel which I was told when I booked. Nothing seemed to much trouble.

I had to move rooms on the 2nd night as the hotel was fully booked, both rooms i stayed in were modern and looked as if the had been redecorated within the last 6-12 months. If you want a five star hotel this is not for you, but if you want a friendly place to stay.........Give it a try

  • Liked — friendliness and Location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank guest56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Stayed at the Abbey Hotel for the weekend, 5 adults. Had a choice of rooms to choose from, told us breakfast was between 9 - 10am. We were on top floor with 3 single beds, quite spacious, new bathroom suite, but again no wardrobes.
The card machine still not working, as review posted in April said not working!! Went down for breakfast Monday morning about 9.30am, to be told breakfast in the week was 7-8am. Nobody told us that, so therefore she had kept all 5 full breakfasts warm until that time. You can imagine the egg and bacon by then was like rubber. We did get fresh toast though.
All in all it was ok for a weekend but would not stay there again.

  • Liked — near to city centre
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.0 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.8 mi away
Tanes Hotel
Tanes Hotel
#32 of 74 in Cardiff
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wynford Hotel
Wynford Hotel
#40 of 74 in Cardiff
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#22 of 74 in Cardiff
921 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
1.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: 149-51 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Abbey Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Hotel is a small and independently run hotel with masses of personality and charm. Following a recent change of management and comprehensive refurbishment programme the Abbey hotel is quickly building a reputation as trendy and modern customer service driven boutique and lifestyle hotel. The Abbey hotel's unique style of service derives its ethos and savvy approach to customer care from recognition and understanding of the greatly differing needs and dynamics of the individual traveller. We take the view the traditional custom and practice approach to accommodation services is outdated and rigid and is no longer convenient nor desirable for many travellers and visitors to the equally dynamic evolving and culturally rich City of Cardiff. We believe that personality and a unique, memorable experience are what really matter when you, your friends and family are travelling.We pride ourselves on striving to deliver the warm, friendly and more personalised service that often the larger chain hotels are unable to provide. The decor is elegant,glamorous, vibrant and unique in design. Guests are encouraged to make use of all reception areas and the bright and clean dining room is made available to guests for dinning at all times should they wish to order evening or late night takeaway. Every effort is made to ensure bedrooms are warm cosy and ready for your arrival, day or night. There is no traditional Front Desk check-in formality. Check-in is usually conducted in the lounge or dinning area where guests can relax, chat with staff and other guests whilst enjoying a welcoming cup of coffee. Our informal approach is, once again designed with you in mind,allowing opportunity to gather information on local dining,shopping and places of interest. Hosts are happy to offer assistance with directions, dinning reservations and booking of timely transport. All the little things that can often be difficult and daunting when you are unfamiliar with a City. No restricted check-in. We offer a unique, bespoke and hugely convenient 'on the go' system of check-in. This allows guest with reservations to check in by simply messaging,emailing or calling hotel with expected time of arrival. We will provide you with details of your room,a unique door code that will allow entry to the hotel at any time of day or night.Guests can use take this opportunity to discuss any specific requirements you might have during your stay. At the Abbey our working practices really are all about you and why the Abbey is becoming the preferred place to stay, whatever the nature of your visit to Cardiff we aim to fulfil every respective individual need. So if a bespoke accommodation experience, delivered in a warm, welcoming and informal manner is what you're seeking, look no further. Please note we are in process of updating our images and some images of hotel were taken prior to refurbishment and do not reflect the current significantly improved style and design standard of interior. Please feel free to call if you require any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cardiff
The Abbey Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing