We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit”
Review of The Ernest Willows

The Ernest Willows
Ranked #680 of 1,225 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: US$3 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Ernest Willows is situated in the heart of Roath, Cardiff We serve premium spirits, ales, craft beers and food all day everyday. We have a big screen and several plasmas for sporting events and if you fancy sitting in the fresh air we have a beer garden to suit all
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Weather spoons Ernest Willow is my local pub & i have visited pub many times. Overall the food is generally good. But the children's menu is very disappointing. There is usually a good atmosphere with good priced food & drink. There is also a large seating area to rear. However i recently ordered a jug of PIMS which resembled a jug of lemonade . Very disappointing to say the least and tasted of very little alcohol content at £6 75.. I did address issue with manager who really was not interested in my complaint. My advice is to be aware of PiMS drink , ask to look at PIMS measure prior to lemonade, Ice, Fruit & mint. !!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    38
    20
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff UK
Level Contributor
661 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Food Still not to Standard”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Recently we decided to return to this for breakfast again, we were not totally disappointed but it could have been a lot hotter, they seem to have a problem with serving hot food. Our only other comment was the colour of the bacon it looked as if it had been cooked in dirty fat. Its a great pity as the breakfast in this pub used to be very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great value food, bargain Beer, Excellent service!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I went here with the family on 6 Nations Final Day. the atmosphere was great with a lot of old locals
we had Great value food, bargain Beer, Excellent service! (First time I've tipped in a Wetherspoons!)

(i have never felt the need to mention toilets in a food review before but these are really exceptional!)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meurig63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Usually Great!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Love the cheap food and the tasty chicken burgers. The chips are always lovely and there's usually adequate seating. The toilets are some of the best I've ever seen, especially when compared to most pub toilets out there! Decent service. Needs a car park, as you have to pay if you park nearby during peak times.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cheap as chips (and have you seen the spectacular ladies' toilets?)”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I go here occasionally for convenient, cheap meals. The 241 offer is very good value for money (£6.79 for 2 good sized meals) and although it isn't fine dining it proves excellent value for money. The place is usually pretty full and there are signs of wear but if you can see the ladies' toilets it is worth the visit. The steak and kidney pudding is calorie-heavy but tasty even if the peas are bullet like. The chili con carne is just what you need on a cold and rainy day in Cardiff
The efficiency and attitude of the staff is variable but OK. The place has a Hygeine Rating of 5.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilovefoodandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ernest Willows also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to The Ernest Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing