We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Lloyds Bar Great Western
Ranked #410 of 1,226 Restaurants in Cardiff
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Always go there for the atmosphere, drinks and a dance. Although the food is usually good, it can be a bit hit and miss. I recently had a chicken burger and I had to send it back as it was way too over-cooked. It was really tough, asked for it to be changed and the next one wasn't too much better. But then we have eaten there and the majority of the time the food is good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank csmith502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    83
    54
    27
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“79 PENCE FOR ONE MUSHROOM !!!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Called in here for a steak meal recently and ordered some sides,one of which was Mushrooms.When the meal arrived there was just one small Mushroom on the plate.I asked the guy was that it and he said Yes! I then asked how much I had paid for that Mushroom and he said 79p and that was the national set charge in DJ Witherspoons !! I nearly fell off the chair-what an absolute Rip Off! However they have your money first when you order and that is that.
Frankly the meal overall was not brilliant and the tables generally had not been cleaned properly from previous diners.No excuse as the place was not that busy.
Will surely give this place a miss in the future- they can certainly stuff their Mushrooms as far as I am concerned!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gardenmanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Book room only and enjoy breakfast at the Western”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We recently stayed in Cardiff for a concert and went room only knowing we were 2 mins walk away from the Great Western. Excellent value breakfast and the place has been refurbished since our last stay...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Munters”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Went into this spoons with the lads after a night out on the booze. First thing you notice is the lack of welcoming atmosphere. The bar staff were rude and snappy with one particular vertically challenged bird. Fair play she had it all going on in the chest department but other than that, not alot going on. Drinks were served with very little head on and the food, although its cheap, isnt worth the money. Cold chips and dry chicken were the order of the day. Unless youre tending to an epic hangover and have no place else to go, give this place a wide berth.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank goonerfan1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place For Lunch”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

As with any Lloyds Bar, the food is half decent for the price and comes with a pint, lunch frequently at this particular place as close to work, friendly staff and good food there.

Generally find they dont have a certain variety of the meals on every visit, whether they just dont stock these I dont know but other choices do the job.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesfox316 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lloyds Bar Great Western also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Lloyds Bar Great Western? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing