We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teatastic”

Pettigrew Tea Rooms
Ranked #34 of 1,295 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$36
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Pettigrew Tea Rooms are housed in the beautiful 19th Century West Lodge in the heart of Cardiff. This quintessentially British tea house is open seven days of the week serving, fresh lunches and delicious homemade cakes, all served alongside a wonderful selection of loose leaf teas. Join us for a light lunch or why not sample our full Afternoon Tea in peaceful surroundings, before a stroll through Cardiff's stunning Bute Park. A must for all visitors to the Capital City of Wales.
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

With a half hour to kill waiting for the tripper boat, we plumped for a Welsh cream tea at this cwtchy tea room on the banks of the Ely. Served cheerfully by an efficient waitress, the wholesome platter was promptly offered up for slaughter, as it were.
A huge slice of moist Bara Brith, a fruit scone you could sleep on, and plenty of jam n cream. As far as we could taste it was all home made. And very reasonably priced.
Top marks for an unexpected treat!

Thank JoandJim71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PettigrewManager, Manager at Pettigrew Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Thanks very much for your fab comments about us! I’m so pleased that you enjoyed our Welsh Cream Tea, it’s a fantastic twist to our Classic Cream Tea and is very popular with tourists who are always eager to try the famous Bara Brith. We now also serve a third cream tea option, our Savoury Cream Tea. This consists of two warm laverbread scones, served alongside Welsh apple chutney and mature cheddar cheese, do pop back and try some if you have the chance. Amy and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 502 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

We went to 'pettigrew tea rooms' after the high ratings on trip advisor we sat outside overlooking 'bute park' as it was our first time we were looking forward to having a cake and a cuppa and we have got to say we loved it and will definately return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank welshtaffy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PettigrewManager, Manager at Pettigrew Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

I’m so happy that you loved our tea and cakes! We have over 20 varieties of loose-leaf teas here to try and 14 different cakes in our cabinet, these are subject to change each season and we are able to introduce fabulous new cakes to our cabinet! Our newest at the moment is our Blackberry and Almond, which is gluten and dairy free, and delicious. Do pop back and see us again, we have plenty to try. Amy and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

One of the best cake ever tasted.
Nice stuff and big variety of tea, cakes and sweets (also gluten free).
It's ideal to stop there after a walk in bute park.
Absolutely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alessia_gattogatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PettigrewManager, Manager at Pettigrew Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Thanks for your great comments about us. Even in the winter we are a great place to stop after a walk through the park for some cake and tea or a luxury hot chocolate, our tearoom is always cosy but we welcome dog walkers outside under our covered, heated gazebos. Do come back again, Amy and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

No room inside so we sat out in the sun. Wonderful service, our waitress was sunny and very efficient. The tea was fresh, sandwiches were delicious and the scones were perfect, the dough can be so easily overworked but these were light and lovely. We were a bit greedy and ordered the full afternoon tea and it was a bit too much, we didn't really need the cakes which we asked the waitress to choose for us, but they were scrumptious. I would really recommend it and am looking forward to going again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juliamt61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PettigrewManager, Manager at Pettigrew Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2015

Thank you for such wonderful comments about our Afternoon Tea! We bake all of our cakes and scones on site so they are always fresh and you can really taste the difference. Soon we will be serving our Christmas Afternoon Tea which is such a treat, we have festive sandwich fillings, Christmas themed scones and cakes as well as Christmas Tea, and mini mince pies and mulled wine on arrival. Hope to see you again, Amy and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

My daughter took me here for afternoon tea as a birthday treat . Was fantastic food & staff wonderful :) will Definitely be returning xx

Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PettigrewManager, Manager at Pettigrew Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2015

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit last year. Afternoon Tea is always a lovely birthday treat – hope to see you this year for our Christmas Afternoon Tea which starts in just a few weeks! Amy and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pettigrew Tea Rooms also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Pettigrew Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing