We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for what I paid” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wynford Hotel

Wynford Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wynford Hotel
Ranked #43 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for what I paid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here for my birthday on Saturday 7 th September..Had a friendly welcome at reception.. We had a twin room which was spotless..Some guests where loud but wasn't really a problem, in all fairness to the lady that worked there she was quick enough to ask people to quieten down..would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonkelly35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew1963, Owner at Wynford Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Many thanks for your review. As you quite rightly say it can be a bit loud and boistrous here at weekends and I am glad that you were able to accept that in the right spirit. I greatly appreciate your very positive comments, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    48
    25
    18
    28
See reviews for
4
19
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We read a few reviews on here before turning up and were a bit worried. There was no need at all as everything about the hotel and the city was excellent.

We went for a Stag with 13 people. We found the rooms to be clean and comfortable, the bar was a great meeting place and it was open until 5am so great to come back to after a night out and the staff were excellent (especially Rachel).

If you're in Cardiff for a romantic weekend then you're probably looking at the wrong hotel, if you want a great weekend out and a hotel in walking distance of the main pubs then stay here.

£40 per night per person is brilliant value and the walk to the pubs was about 10 mins.

Don't believe the bad reviews from people who want an extra window. Trust me, if you're in town for a party weekend then stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArgenTinnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dyfed
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

showers didnt work...when it did was cold..in desperate need of a full make over and paintjob,nicotine yellow all over...luckily we were too drunk to care until we woke up in the morning and realised what we were in.Its true what they say,you get what you pay for but then again it wasnt exactly that cheap..Will not stay again!There are better hotrels for the money

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I went to this hotel with a group of blokes on a Stag weekend and for that purpose probably spot on.
The city of Cardiff itself was very cosmopolitan, with a great variety of pubs, clubs, shops and restaurants and the people were very friendly. However, if you walk away from the railway station and over the bridge beside the Millennium Stadium you will enter what must be the “Rough Quarter” of Cardiff. Keep on going down Tudor Street for about a mile and turn right into Clare Street and you will find the Wynford Hotel.
We were in a three-bedded room and paid something like (not exactly sure because organised by Best Man) £170 for three of us (not each) for two nights. So really, stop and ask yourself what do you expect?
The room was clean, there were tea/coffee making facilities and a good shower en-suite. Luckily, I am deaf but the other members of our team told me that the noise from the nightclub on the ground floor only went on until 3 in the morning.
Breakfast was included and to be fair was quite good, but they did not serve any other meals in the hotel. And you were forbidden to bring food back to your room, which put you in a bit of a dilemma as the surrounding area was so unsavoury.
If you do stay here, don’t walk back alone at night – get a taxi.
To summarise, I would not stay there with my wife or on my own. With a group of blokes getting in at all hours, banging around and generally misbehaving then fine.

Room Tip: You can see the nightclub entrance further up the street, try to get a room as far away as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew1963, Owner at Wynford Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your review and your honesty. We don't pretend to be the Ritz but like to feel that we offer good quality basic accommodation thats ideal for the use you describe. One point, we actually do serve snacks and meals every evening and on the weekends our kitchens are open all day until 9.00pm. We do have a policy of no take away food to be brought back into the hotel but there is a late night curry house opposite the hotel open until 4.00am on weekends. The reason we have this policy is because of the fact we are a party hotel at weekends, I am sure you can imagine that guests can sometimes return after having a few too many and we would end up with more curry on the carpet than on the plate and the smell of takeaway can sometimes be offensive to other guests. I hope you understand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel was ideal for what we needed. It catered for our party of 20 people and also three other stag/hen parties at the hotel at the same time. The bar/nightclub downstairs was a good communal area for all people to join up. Rooms are standard but what do you need from a stag weekend. Drinks were bit expensive in the bar. The location was excellent as it had plenty of food restaurants within the area and also a 7 minute walk to town. Would recommend for stag parties that are not fussy!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Traveller_RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Receptionist and night porter to start off with were the rudeness people I have ever met at any hotel.
Noone enjoy working at this establishment waited about 15mins to be served at the bar which was totally empty like a ghost town staff were chatting loudly at the back and only once we went to the reception to ring the bell, noone was at the reception either, did someone serve us at the bar.
Room were dirty, small, outdated yet there worst to come. When we checked in to our twin room two double duvets were folded and placed on the floor under the table!? Why they do this baffles me as I didnt really feel comfortable using a duvet which had been on the floor.
Bathroom was flirty and the shower didn't work as the temperature consistently keep chaning from cold to boiling hot.
No where enough parking space for 40 rooms about 7 parking spaces.
Our room wasnt cleaned for our entire stay. No fresh towels were given ether.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and definitely wouldn't return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salty_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew1963, Owner at Wynford Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. During the extremely hot weather we made up the beds with double cotton sheets and folded the duvets which were also made up and left in the room. We did this in a bid to make your stay more comfortable during the hot weather. We state very clearly on our website that parking in our car park is limited. Our showers are all thermostatically controlled with anti scald trips on them and had we been aware of the problem with your shower we would have dealt with it immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Hi all, I spent 2 nights here on a hen do and it was not a pleasant experience, the rooms were so hot and there was hardly any ventilation! We had a small window for 4 girls sharing a room, it was ridiculous! After a very restless night with the night club below playing music until 3am i asked for a fan to help cool the room but they said they couldn't give us one due to health and safety ! The breakfast was good for the hotel and the ladies serving were very nice.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel especially in the summer!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Exmouth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew1963, Owner at Wynford Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
I am really very sorry you didn't have a pleasant stay. You were booked into one of our Party Rooms at the weekend. We clearly state at every stage of booking that these rooms are directly above the nightclub and are noisy until 3.00am. I have every sympathy with you regarding the heat and I am sorry that we couldn't make the room a more comfortable temperature. We obviously couldn't anticipate the heatwave or its duration and this is the first time we have had this problem. We are taking steps to get this resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tanes Hotel
Tanes Hotel
#31 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#23 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynford Hotel

Property: Wynford Hotel
Address: Clare Street, Cardiff CF11 6BD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wynford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wynford Hotel is very conveniently located within a few minutes walk of the city centre and all its facilities. Located on Clare Street which is one of the main arterial roads in and out of the city. This is a 40 bedroomed hotel with a range of different room styles. We have a residents bar open everyday from 10.00am until 5.00am the next day (residents only). As well as breakfast we offer a range of freshly prepared bar meals every evening. At weekends the hotel becomes the place for party people and a warm welcome is extended to Stag & Hen groups as well as everyone else. A word of warning though, if you are looking for a quiet weekend away then this is not the place for you. Throughout the week the hotel offers an excellent base for tourists and business travellers alike, with the City centre on our doorstep. With a range of recently refurbished rooms with Plasma TVs, a good standard of accommodation is offered with the benefit of free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wynford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynford Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing