We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defiantly worth a try”
Review of Wynford Hotel

Wynford Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wynford Hotel
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Defiantly worth a try”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stopped for a weekend as a party of eight and what a weekend !! The hospitality is great the hotel is deceptive from the outside but once through the doors it is lovely place. Spacious bedrooms tv and plenty of tea and coffee facilities nice hot showers and warm rooms. Lovely bar and breakfast room with breakfast at £5 per head per day extra secure off road parking. City centre 15 min walk, taxi £5. Busy night life.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Topchimp64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    51
    27
    18
    29
See reviews for
5
22
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a stag weekend and it served it's purpose. The breakfast was good, and the residence bar was great as it stayed open till all hours. You really do get for what you pay for. It's a 10min walk to the city center and 5min from the Millennium Stadium. Disco also located in the hotel which could be an issue for light sleepers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Very good budget hotel, easy check in, decent bar, my room was spacious, clean & tidy, big bed, warm, decent bathroom & shower, secure car park, I didn't have breakfast,(rarely do) so cant comment, perfect for trips to the stadium, in a very 'Cosmopolitan' area, short walk from the river, you could do a lot worse. slight moan: Traffic noise may be a problem, for light sleepers.

Room Tip: traffic noise, if your room is on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Good value, 10 min walk to central rail station, still got a smokers' floor, so what's not to like? Well, tourists of a nervous disposition may be shocked about the walk from the Bute Park / Holiday Inn direction. Right over the River Taff from the Millennium Stadium, the Riverside suburb (bit of an "international quarter" these days) is just plain filthy. Piles of garbage and broken glass in the backstreets. I thought about taking a photo of it all, but several "hoodies" were hanging around and I got the feeling I might get mugged. This was definitely the most uneasy I've felt in the UK in the daytime for many years. Nothing to do with the hotel I admit, but anyone walking here would be best advised to approach directly from the station!

Otherwise, my room was facing the road so a bit noisy with traffic. The nightclub wasn't open but youths were talking and shouting outside till about 0200 on a weekday night. Wasn't interested in watching the room TV, but tried to switch it on anyway and couldn't - the batteries in the remote were dead. No hot water in the shower at 10pm, and a fixed shower head. Why can't hotels just add a detachable shower head? It's not rocket science.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CottonZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just spent 8 nights in this cozy,friendly hotel, nice room ,warm and well fitted rooms ,plenty of hot water in the excellent shower, and good food in the restaurant , nicely renovated bar (very trendy) ...busy on weekends ,when the small nightclub is buzzing with great music, reasonable price for city center hotel, within easy walking distance to everywhere,will surely go back .Night porter was charming...

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room on weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nigeld17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Where to start.. 200 metres from Millenium stadium, attentive flirty service, has an adjoining night club (not to be missed) and massage parlour. One of the most delightful dens for an affordable night out in cardiff. No guests allowed though

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBingoBongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Dirty hotel, Rude staff. Stay away. The worst hotel I have ever seen. Pubic hair in the shower and rubbish left in the bins, even found used needles! Over priced and the room smelled. Signs of damp throughout the hotel. Food was terrible. I obviously won't be staying again

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank blissfultranquility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew1963, Owner at Wynford Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
I have just read this review and I am very shocked at its content. We have several checks in place to ensure rooms are ready for the next guest, 1) Each cleaner has to fill in a checklist after cleaning each room to ensure everything has been done, 2) The housekeeping manager double checks each room before signing it off as ready to let. 3) Any complaint is logged and taken very seriously. This review flies in the face of those who have stayed and given a review(check out laterooms and booking.com reviews)
If I had found a room to be dirty with used needles in it I would have hot footed it to reception, made a very serious complaint and demanded my money back. I would have been on TripAdvisor the next day to warn any would be guests of my experience.
We had no such complaint in June whatsoever and I find it very strange that it has taken nearly six months from the date of stay to publish this comment when their experience was so bad????
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Tanes Hotel
Tanes Hotel
#32 of 73 in Cardiff
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#28 of 73 in Cardiff
1,485 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 73 in Cardiff
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#23 of 73 in Cardiff
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynford Hotel

Property: Wynford Hotel
Address: Clare Street, Cardiff CF11 6BD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wynford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wynford Hotel is very conveniently located within a few minutes walk of the city centre and all its facilities. Located on Clare Street which is one of the main arterial roads in and out of the city. This is a 40 bedroomed hotel with a range of different room styles. We have a residents bar open everyday from 10.00am until 5.00am the next day (residents only). As well as breakfast we offer a range of freshly prepared bar meals every evening. At weekends the hotel becomes the place for party people and a warm welcome is extended to Stag & Hen groups as well as everyone else. A word of warning though, if you are looking for a quiet weekend away then this is not the place for you. Throughout the week the hotel offers an excellent base for tourists and business travellers alike, with the City centre on our doorstep. With a range of recently refurbished rooms with Plasma TVs, a good standard of accommodation is offered with the benefit of free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wynford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynford Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing