We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base camp for Cardiff stag weekend”
Review of Wynford Hotel

Wynford Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wynford Hotel
Ranked #40 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great base camp for Cardiff stag weekend”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Looks can be deceiving! We pulled-up outside a tired looking building and expected the worst but hey it was chosen for a stag weekend. Limited parking is available via a secure gate to the rear of the building, we got lucky. Upon entry we experienced the best thing about this hotel the super friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. There is a great bar area with plenty of seating, SkySports and a pool table (killer) which kept us in the bar both Friday and Saturday night until 23:00 before heading into Central Cardiff...... Food was good, we had the breakfast buffet and an evening meal. Rooms are clean, tidy and functional. The hotel is noisy but this is part of the charm as groups arrive back from late night excursions and the on-sight night club kicks out. Is it a problem..... no, this is the target audience and the reason we are all there. Would you bring your spouse here for a weekend stay in the Welsh capital, no..... Would you recommend as a stag/hen venue, definitely...... and why wouldn't you, this is the home of 'RollaBall' for goodness sake!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilchino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    51
    27
    18
    29
See reviews for
5
22
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and helpful and cannot fault them for the service provided. Hotel is priced very well for the location and party friendly approach. The road is quite busy owing to relatively central location but noise was not overly bad from it (and we were right above reception - first floor) As pointed out there is a night club near. The rooms are of good standard for price. Would score 3 for hotel but the staff warranted giving the extra as cannot fault them.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel as part of my brother's stag do. This hotel is very honest in their marketing about their target audience; setting out it's position as an ideal stag and hen hotel. It provides clean, simple, accommodation, in a location that is very close to the centre. There's a nightclub 'til 3am and a bar that stays open until 5am for residents; great for a nightcap (not great, if you were looking for an early night, I should think).
The rate was £40 pppn, regardless of triples or doubles in the booking. You can book online on booking.com or phone direct; the price is the same either way (I checked). It seems a little unclear when booking if breakfast is included- there's mention of a good breakfast- but unclear on booking if it's actually b&b. Turns out it's £5 extra, but there's a Weatherspoon's 5 mins away offering even better value. In terms of value, £90/night (inc. breakfast) for a twin, really isn't that great; many chain 4* in Cardiff are available around £100 or so/night. And a family would be much better served in a Mercure, Holiday Inn or Premier Inn family room. But if you're looking for triples (or quads), this is one of few options I could find in a good spot in Cardiff.
Rooms basically furnished, with old bathrooms and a bit worn; however they are kept clean and you're not likely to be spending that much time in them!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank king_of_muffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

When we first arrived at the hotel, we had to call to ask about parking only to be told theres no spaces and to find somewhere on the street. After parking down a dodgy street, we got our room, door handle practically falling off. Bed was noisy and broken, sinking in the middle. Mold in the shower basin. We asked for a room not above the nightclub, so of course were put in the room directly above it. Stains on the carpet, ripped bed sheets. Staff at breakfast said I had to sit on the other side of the room as I wasn't eating, so my boyfriend had to sit alone to eat, lady was quite rude about it. Would not stay here again. Payed £80, at least expect a bed to sleep on that isn't broken.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

On the right hand side of the hotel there is a night club. It's open till 3 am in at weekends so please beware as you feel like your are in the night club with the base shanking the room! Breakfast was nice and the ladies serving it where very nice. But the hotel does look awful from the outside, and could do with a fresh up. Location is great for the city centre etc

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Wallyswhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stopped for a weekend as a party of eight and what a weekend !! The hospitality is great the hotel is deceptive from the outside but once through the doors it is lovely place. Spacious bedrooms tv and plenty of tea and coffee facilities nice hot showers and warm rooms. Lovely bar and breakfast room with breakfast at £5 per head per day extra secure off road parking. City centre 15 min walk, taxi £5. Busy night life.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Topchimp64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a stag weekend and it served it's purpose. The breakfast was good, and the residence bar was great as it stayed open till all hours. You really do get for what you pay for. It's a 10min walk to the city center and 5min from the Millennium Stadium. Disco also located in the hotel which could be an issue for light sleepers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 74 in Cardiff
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
1.6 mi away
Tanes Hotel
Tanes Hotel
#32 of 74 in Cardiff
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#28 of 74 in Cardiff
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynford Hotel

Property: Wynford Hotel
Address: Clare Street, Cardiff CF11 6BD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wynford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wynford Hotel is very conveniently located within a few minutes walk of the city centre and all its facilities. Located on Clare Street which is one of the main arterial roads in and out of the city. This is a 40 bedroomed hotel with a range of different room styles. We have a residents bar open everyday from 10.00am until 5.00am the next day (residents only). As well as breakfast we offer a range of freshly prepared bar meals every evening. At weekends the hotel becomes the place for party people and a warm welcome is extended to Stag & Hen groups as well as everyone else. A word of warning though, if you are looking for a quiet weekend away then this is not the place for you. Throughout the week the hotel offers an excellent base for tourists and business travellers alike, with the City centre on our doorstep. With a range of recently refurbished rooms with Plasma TVs, a good standard of accommodation is offered with the benefit of free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Wynford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynford Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing