We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs”

Harvester St John's
Ranked #845 of 1,264 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Welcome to Harvester St John'sAt Harvester St John's in Cardiff food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Cardiff, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Plasnewydd, Adamsdown and Grangetown, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I feel it's only right to say, we were sat next to the table that complained about the eyelash. There was an apology from a waitress while two others cleared away the salad as we were asked to wait while they did this, they then put fresh out. The manager then came over and apologised but the very loud and rude lady would not except it he did try explaining that he had been clearing off the salad area but that was not good enough for her. We as a group thought the food was of a very good standard the salad was brilliant the waitresses were very helpful. All around a fantastic meal for great value.

Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester St John's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Harvester St John's
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 251 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Before visiting Cardiff we looked up reviews on Tripadvisor. We tried Garlands Eatery (too slow) and Restaurant Minuet and Cafe Continental- neither open at 9.30 am on a Wednesday. So we went to Harvester St Johns - and what a pleasant surprise. Friendly, welcoming staff and an all you can eat cooked breakfast for £4.99 plus a couple of quid for unlimited coffee. Nice surroundings and the breakfast was cooked to order so fresh and tasty- no dried up buffet here. Excellent selection and we would definitely go again in preference to the ones mentioned earlier

Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester St John's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Visited Harvester in April 2014 before going to watch a show and I was extremely disappointed with the service and food. The cleanliness and hygiene of the restaurant was poor: food had not swept off the floor, no loo roll in the ladies toilets and I found an eyelash in my food. I informed a member of staff re the eyelash and received no form of apology. As a person who has worked in a fast food restaurant, I did not expect service as poor as this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MinnMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester St John's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Weekend away with friends in Cardiff and this was our first wander through the city centre. Quite hungry after the train ride and happened across the harvester which suited all our tastes. Clean place, good service and decent food. You can't argue with the prices in my opinion e.g. Fish and chips for £6.99 with as much salad / bread rolls as you wanted is excellent value at lunchtime in the city centre. Most of us had the burgers which were really good and extra jalapeños and piri piri sauce catered for those who liked extra heat. We asked for white rolls as they'd run out and they were immediately brought out. I've always enjoyed Harvester wherever it is, you can fill up for a good price and you can't say fairer than that!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Damo_M_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester St John's, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

ordered 3 burger and chips, burgers sat for ages, in sight while going cold, was going to serve myself but we were waiting for chips to be cooked, why? then when chips arrived pale and under cooked,
no loo roll in the ladies rubbish will not be going back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 333hobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester St John's, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvester St John's also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan
Llantrisant, Rhondda Cynon Taff
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Newport, Southern Wales
 

Been to Harvester St John's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing