We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and quiet enough for Cardiff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and quiet enough for Cardiff”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Really enjoyed our stay in the Holland House Hotel - excellent gym and pool facilities which we made good use of and which were not overly busy on a Saturday and Sunday morning. View from the 12th floor was magnificent and the room was beautiful as well as tasteful and comfortable. Breakfast was not included and was too expensive for us but there was a wee cafe just around the corner where we had a nice fry up! We went for a drink around 10pm on the Saturday night and there a pianist playing which gave it a very nice atmosphere. The drinks were what you would pay in any hotel bar - not a total rip off which was a nice surprise! The location was great for shopping being very close to the top of the Queen Street the main shopping street - but we had to walk a good bit further before getting a nice choice of restaurants however that meant we were a bit out of the main drag for stag and hen parties so it was worth it to get a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Get a room high up - it was stunning - we kept the curtains open all night to look at the lights acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pound_Witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holland House Hotel.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    825
    332
    133
    85
See reviews for
282
962
76
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed here after seeing Dolly Parton the day after our wedding. After finding that our first room had not been cleaned properly we were upgraded to a penthouse suite... wow. Amazing views over the city and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. However, my wife did not sleep so well as the noise of the city was constant and she is used to the quiet of the countryside. Not really much the hotel can do about this.
Breakfast was good although as with all hotels I would like to see better quality (i.e. free range) meats used in hotel breakfasts.
Was very impressed with the swimming pool and jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room towards the back of the hotel if you are worred about the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Guest,

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaragoza, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here for five days attending the University of Wales conference, and I can only speak good things about the place.
I contacted them by mail as we had a special rate for the Conference attendants; I got a very good rate for Bed and Breakfast, although I have to say if you book it via internet, it is quite expensive.
I asked for a twin room, and I got it. The room was quite big and the beds comfortable, the toilet had separate shower and bathtub and was also of good size. There's no free wi-fi, though, and although it has lots of conference rooms, I think they don't have a business center as such, with computers you can use. Nevertheless, we needed to print some documents and the receptionist offered to do it for us, which was very helpful. Actually, customer service was faultless at all times, they never failed to meet any of our requirements. They made our stay and work so much easier!
As I stayed for the weekend as well as during the conference, I had the chance to try almost every service at the hotel. The fitness center is good enough for a hotel, although I missed a set of wall bars... the pool is nice and big, so you can have a swim after hitting the gym, and there's also a Sauna and a Jacuzzi. Food was much better than I expected, and the breakfast is your typical English breakfast with some little extras... the sausages were amazing, and the staff at the restaurant friendly and attentive. There's a Spanish waiter called Vicente who would do anything to help you if you need something, but actually all of them were really nice when I stayed there.
A couple of tips: the minibar is empty, you have to ask for the drinks if you want some; and the hair dryer is in the desk drawer. Luckily I have short hair, but my female colleague was not so lucky, and I didn't realized until the last day that it was there.
Overall, an excellent choice for business, but also if you are staying as a tourist, as it's just steps away from Queen street, the main shopping street that will lead you to the castle. Cardiff is a nice city, but it's actually smaller than it seems and you can see every cultural spot in one day. There are lots of shops and trendy pubs, so you may need something more than that!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Guest,

My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. . We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holland House Hotel.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales, Caerphilly
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed here four times since Christmas and love the place.
Have not got a bad word to say, only that the pool does get busy on the weekend. Staying here again in October for a night in the city, can't wait. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianTutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dear Guest,

So glad you had an enjoyable time at the Holland House Hotel. We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed here at the beginning of September 2011 for 2 nights to celebrate a friend's hen weekend. Hotel was very clean and rooms spacious. Hotel staff very helpful. As we stayed on a spa package, this included both evening meal and breakfast. Breakfast = excellent variety ranging from continential choices to a full english! Evening meal was a set menu which although very nice there was a bit too much fish for my liking. Spa area excellent, treatments very relaxing. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrac15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights in September and had the "Executive Package".

The hotel is situated just a few hundred meters from the town centre, and the underground car park (careful if you own a big car - the spaces are very tight!) will cost you £12 per day and is situated at the rerar of the hotel

Whereas the view from our 12th floor corner room could have been spectacular - the dirt on the windows obstructed the view. There was also a surprisingly large amount of road noise audible throughout the night

The room itself is showing signs of ageing (strange ruts in the carpets?) ... wardrobe doors that do not shut ... lights which don't work ... and most strangely - the room safe was locked on our arrival and we couldn't open it. (Allegedly) someone came twice to our room (whilst we were out) and fixed it ... but it remained locked and unable to be opened. In frustration we called Reception (again) to be told that we needed the code to open it ... but they would not give us it verbally - someone had to come to the room "in 30 minutes or so". As it was 1130 at night ... we decided to forego this pleasure!

We found the bed to be very hard

Speaking of reception - they are desperately short of staff. I needed to get a wifi password (about 4pm on a Thursday) and joined a queue of six people with only one Receptionist who (bless her heart) had to go through tthe full check in procedure with each one ... it took 20 minutes befire she got to me (by which time there were even more people lined up behind me)

For some reason or other ... our TWIN room was only set up for a single person (1 set of coffees & teas, 1 robe etc) ... not desperately a problem - but a sign that things are NOT as they should be for a 4 star hotel.

Breakfast was average at best - most of the "hot" food was either lukewarm or dried out -... the coffee is served in a cafetiere which has seen better days (and you ended up with cups full of grounds) and the toaster only heated one side of the bread! We also had a strange incident where a waitress tried to clear our plates whilst we were still eating!!

All in all it is a pity that this hotel did NOT meet up with expectations. We have stayed at the nearby Novotel on several occasions and would choose the Novotel over the Mercure (although they are part of the same group) every time

Room Tip: The higher the better ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LloydyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, USA
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This was part of our escorted tour package. Not a long walk to downtown and the castle. Might be a bit far for anyone not accustomed to walking much, though. Very stylish. Good sized room with very nicely appointed bathroom. View was nothing to write home about - but that was not high on our needs. Did not get to appreciate the pool. The breakfast buffet was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSVTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,760 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#12 of 73 in Cardiff
2,115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing