We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed here for a conference I was attending, the room was massive with floor to ceiling windows, with views across Cardiff, comfy bed.
The only thing wrong was one of the chairs had a large dirty stain on it, but apart from that I would definately recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the fifth floor for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevanbob74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Guest,

So glad you had an enjoyable time at Mercure Holland House Hotel. We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,105 - 2,111 of 2,555 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

Lovely hotel in a very good location for the city and the bay. The leisure facilities were great and much used by us. Staff are really friendly and helpful and quickly remembered you. Dinner was of a high standard but breakfast could have been a bit better for a 4* hotel. As has been mentioned before, request a high room for a fantastic view. We were on floor 12 and had a fantastic view of the fireworks. We had a problem with a treatment in the spa, but this was soon rectified over and above our expectations. Only other small gripe was that the bed was hard. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a high floor for a great view and quieter too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Holland House Hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

After a 5 hour journey in teaming rain from Northamptonshire my husband and I were overjoyed at our room on the 14th floor, as requested. Evening meal in the restaurant was good but very overly priced for what was served! On returning to our room the TV didnt work, we phoned reception who offfered a choice of, waiting for the engineer the next morning or they would help us move to another room. A little apprehensive of giving up our super room we were moved to an Executive suite on the 12th Floor!!! Who could want for anything better. The views were even more amazing, watching fireworks from the comfort of our king size bed was awsome!! We would recommend this hotel to anyone but with just a few tweeks. The windows could have been cleaned for an even better view over the bay, internet didnt work on this high floor and the expensive restaurant made it necessary to eat outBeing opposite the local fire station made it a little noisy when they got a shout but didnt spoil our stay..Cardiff city centre was amazing and only a 10 minute walk in the November sunshine which was lovely! Would highly recommend this hotel but it would have been even better if the guy on the desk had asked the usual questions when we checked out, like did we enjoy our stay, was everything OK,. He just told us we had £12 to pay for parking and we were on our way!!

Room Tip: If you can get a good deal in a high floor room as we did, £65 per night, the higher the better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Holland House again very soon.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Only 5 mins walk into Cardiff centre so a great location. Room very spacious and good layout. generous sized bathroom - shame that the shower hose had been left to gathersuch a lot of mould as this spoiled the overall impression. Views from 8th floor extensive, although windows a little dirty. Overall just what you would expect from this chain - parking was £12 but we left the car for over 24 hours so not too bad when considering we were in the city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hagrid59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments regarding the shower hose. Rest assured we will address them.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Hotel was very impressive. spa and rooms were great as were evening meal and breakfast. we went on a two-night relaxation break and this was certainly value for money. However the one downfall was the noise from the very busy main road. our room was on the 9th floor and overlooked newport road. the traffic noise did keep us awake both nights so we came home more tired than when we went!! not sure we would return because of this.

Room Tip: not on main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments regarding the noise.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August for our 1 year anniversary/celebration of my A level results. It was a lovely stay, we were upgraded to a higher room with robes, slippers, a mini bar etc! Very kind. The room, bed & bath were massive!
The breakfast was buffet style, which was ok but not something I'd have expected from a 4 star hotel. Next time I'll be having breakfast in bed anyway ;P
My boyfriend and I felt slightly intimidated/looked down upon by some of the staff as we clearly weren't the usual type of people to visit such a hotel which was a shame, but otherwise - we loved it!

Room Tip: Higher floors are better. Just a little tip ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenBarraby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Guest,

We at the Holland House Hotel very much appreciate all your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and have noted all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Came on a Spa Break. £158 for two, included 25 min treatment, dinner and breakfast.
Only a couple of gripes. Spa break includes '25 minute Treatment' which we booked, but when we checked into spa, we were told we had to pay extra as the treatment we wanted was not included in the package - even though it took 25 mins!! The Spa brochure is unclear and mis-leading. The spa itself was heaving - relaxation room - was crowded and noisy. But, there were a couple of hen weekends so nobody is going to deny them their fun. Generally, the relaxation room is very tranquil and peaceful - We wanted to enjoy the whole spa experience but had to request robes - also there were four of us and we booked treatments two at a time - but on arrival this had changed - no big deal - but not what we requested (in fact the same happened last time we came).

The good points. Friendly, attentive staff. Beds comfortable. In fact, the sofa bed was really comfy. Dinner was excellent. Breakfast - very good choice.

Hotel near to shops/bars etc. Excellent views of the city.

Would we return. Yes, but not on a Saturday and not without full clarification of what break includes.

Would we recommend. Yes - most definitely.

I would just say to the hotel, don't let attention to small detail slip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floshie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Guest,

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments and the matter will be addressed with the spa. I hope we can welcome you back to the Holland House Hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,892 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
2,181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £67 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing