We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value city break with Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We were visiting our student son in Cardiff. The hotel made the overnight stay into a very relaxing City break weekend. The room was very good value - for the weekend before Christmas and there was the added bonus of a spa. Great views of the city from our 14th floor room. My only gripe is the high charges for Wi-Fi tat all Accor hotels seem to make

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choppiedoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Dear Guest,

We at the Holland House Hotel very much appreciate all your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and having noted your comments regarding the wi-fi. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,085 - 2,091 of 2,551 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2011

Stayed here for a one night after a meeting locally. It's was easy to find however found the entrance via car by chance as it was dark and didn't see the signage if there was any. Pleasant check in and upgraded to an executive room. The room was well appointed the windows were huge floor to ceiling across true two corner walls this was a nice touch, would have appreciated being told on check in whether it was one or two way glass! Lol. Apparently only one way thankfully!
Carpet a bit worn and detail cleaning around windows needed attention but otherwise a good standard.
Used the coffee making facilities but always use Starbucks Via instead of hotel instant maybe hotels should use this instead of insipid Nescafé, closest thing to ground coffee in an instant. Only one biscuit so always a fight between two lol! Didn't use other facilities such as spa so cannot comment.
Overall a good hotel and would return.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbeygirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Dear Guest,

I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at the Holland House Hotel. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

just came back from a 2 night stay in suite number four and had a grate time service amazing grate staff grate location

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nando n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Holland House Cardiff. I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

A very good location close to Cardiff town centre. Parking a little limited so book in early.
The rooms can be a little dark and my Daughter had to change rooms because of the lack of lighting. Staff very good, friendly and professional. Food very good quality particularly as the hotel was very busy with Christmas parties. Leisure facilities ok,
a very good hotel and good value for money

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Towerman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Holland House Cardiff. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed at the hotel for one night on a night out in Cardiff. There were nine of us in 5 twin rooms. Everyone was pleased with the rooms, good size, comfy beds,good shower. Didnt eat in the hotel so can`t comment on that and bar prices are like any hotel in that its always a bit more expensive. Any members of staff we dealt with were excelent and polite and a big thanks to the reception staff who allowed us to check in online for our flight home and print off our boarding passes. I forgot to get their names but it is very much appreciated. Cardiff is a nice city and we hardly even scratched the surface on what was basically a two day pub crawl but if ever baci in Cardiff again I know the hotel I will be looking to book.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank currny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Holland House Cardiff. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Well, please take time to read my other review. I was less than happy and didn't anticipate ever returning. Due to a small mix up with a weekend booking for a trip to Cardiff, we ended up back at the Mercure Holland House. I had low expectations I must admit.

Anyway, first thing. Car parking is a nightmare, there were no spaces at all for us to park on Friday afternoon. It is small and the worry is, that, unless you park there and plan not to move the car until you go, even if you did get a space, and moved it would be gone by the time you got back, so you'd pay £12.50 for 24 hours and you might have only parked in there for 1 hour! Anyway, back to the hotel, I was pleasantly surprised! The room was lovely, well appointed and CLEAN (my main critiscism last time). Really enjoyed our stay - particularly good place to stay in winter due to the cosy decor. Gets very hot like a greenhouse in the summer, so may keep it for a winter escape.

Did not venture down to the swimming pool again as I saw (you can see in from the road) that it was exactly the same and not to my standards.

The breakfast was delicious, ordered veggie sausages which, on the first day were mindblowing, they'd run out on the second day. Apart from the coffee issue (which I mentioned before, cafetiere first day, poured from a thermos-like an American diner second day).

Overall, a cracking trip to Cardiff and very enjoyable stay in the hotel this time. If I go again, I will hope that we get a decent room, but if we don't I will ask to swap as I know they are out there. Just takes a little detail in the maintenance.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardiffr0cks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Stayed here on 22nd November as we had ticket to see lee evans and hotel was very near and great for the shops. We were on the 10th floor and the rooms were both fantastic but the corner room had the better view. We had booked on a dinner , bed, breakfast and spa treatment deal which was fantastic value for money food was great loads of choice good quality and good service nothing was to much trouble. Spa treatments were good too, but as we went and did a lot of christmas shopping didnt have time to try out the pool area. Would recomend this hotel to anyone staying in cardiff and wishing to be very central. If you are thinking of booking try calling hotel as i got the best deal by doing this.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are the better rooms but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Holland House Cardiff.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
2,181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £69 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing