We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Good, clean and friendly hotel with good amenities and lovely decor. Food is of a good standard although on this occassion we ate out. Would stay here again - excellent value if you take advantage of some of their offers that come up from time to time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mad_taff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly should you wish to make any future reservations.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,055 - 2,061 of 2,555 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed for weekend at this Hotel for the first time. Had large room on 9th floor with lovely views from panoramic windows. Lifts very efficient and quiet. We were two couples and both rooms were large with king size bed and had a comfortable leather sofa and a bathroom with a shower cubicle and a bath.
Had lovely evening meal (made all the more enjoyable by Vincente for whom nothing was too much trouble!) the hotel was full with two functions on but all the staff were very friendly and efficient. Buffet style breakfast with wide variety of food available. Not too far to walk to shops etc very central.
Only minor negative was the delay for taxis from the company used by the hotel, perhaps could get them to improve their service a little.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E-E45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comment regarding the taxi company. Rest assured we will investigate this and address.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have stayed at many hotels throughout the world and this is one of the very best. The executive rooms are large, clean, comfortable, with panoramic views of the city. The restaurant food and ambience are excellent and the staff are absolutely first class in all departments of the hotel. Trust me, the hotel is really this good ! We will definitely stay again !

Room Tip: Try to book an executive room for an excellent experience. Often cheaper to book on late rooms then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Holland House Cardiff again very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel as we offer the same rates as laterooms.com.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had a great deal through late rooms which included breakfast, 3 course dinner on the first night and an upgraded room with fab views over to Cardiff Bay. A short stroll into the city centre. The food was fab, good portions and very tasty. Nice selection of wines, staff very helpful and extremely pleasant. Didn't use the spa butbif we go again we will.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k1of2ksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Holland House again very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to make your next reservation on 02920 435000.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed 18 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in January in a large room with panoramic views over the city as two of the walls were glass.The room was clean and comfortable. It's a little walk from our favourite restaurants near the Hayes area. The breakfast was good but the health club was dirty in the changing room areas and the corridor to the pool. Only half the lights working in the pool so it was like swimming in the dark! I would stay here again but would not use the leisure club. There are better hotels in Cardiff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraint Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments regarding the leisure club. Rest assured we will address them.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed in a very pleasant large dual aspect room, with a great view over the city. we couldn't fault the room.
On arrival we were told we had prepaid (which we had), would we like breakfast - we said NO, and told that the car park was unfortunately full. Fair enough. We parked elsewhere.

However on receiving our express check out bill, we had been charged for parking for 2 nights (which we hadn't used as it was full) and for breakfast ( which we hadn't had as we had been out for breakfast with our son who is at Uni in Cardiff).
We had also been charged for our 2nd night stay again.
The complication arose because we had booked and paid for the the 2 nights separately and rung the hotel in advance to ensure we only had one room for the 2 nights. Their system couldn't cope with this.

When querying the bill, when we said we had not used the car park, we were accusingly asked where we had parked. How dare they. They need a system that records use. We were told that as we had put our car registration number on the booking that we would automatically be charged. HOW RIDICULOUS.
They regarded taking this off our bill as doing us a favour. It should not have been charged at all.
Breakfast the same they removed the charge, again as if doing us a favour. Again why were we charged in the first place, we never set foot in the restaurant.

And as for the charge for the 2nd night. They told my husband that they had cancelled the 2nd night booking and amended our first night booking to be 2 nights - expected us to pay an additional £20 and the room fee, which after an argument they agreed to charge the original amount.
We assumed this was because they had refunded out 2nd night fee back onto our credit card. So we paid. However no such refund was done,
Before leaving we checked with our credit card provider , found no such refund ,showed the reception staff our online credit card statement showing no refund, but 2 separate payments to Mercure, but because they couldn't find a payment on their system, they didn't believe us. They even suggested it was because we had booked through laterooms, when in fact we had booked direct with Accor Hotels. I have never been treated this way by a hotel before.
They suggested we leave it with them to investigate with their accounts department when they were quieter. They would then contact us later on ( when?) and refund us if they found the payment. It all seemed to be our fault. So we as customers didn't matter as they had other guests to see too?
3 hours later they had done no such thing and because I was hanging around reception, obviously less than impressed, whilst a large queue was forming they did eventually refund us. We wasted over an hour sorting this out.The manager was "out", and despite arriving back did not come and see us.

We expressed to the reception staff that less vigilant customers may leave in a hurry, and pay for things that they shouldn't. They assured us that no one was ever charged for things they didn't use. From what we have seen we cannot believe this ,as the systems in place are absolutely hopeless. It is such a shame as the hotel itself was very nice, but I'm sure we'll be able to find another one in Cardiff with a better attitude towards its guests.
Having had a great weekend we left feeling very disappointed with the attitude of the hotel.
One other thing the pool is freezing cold.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwazi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We appreciate all feedback. I have already responsed back to you directly regarding your comments via your email address. If you’d like to talk about the matter further, please feel free to email me on h6622-rd@accor.com

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
2,181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £67 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing