We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I only had one night, but they put me in a corner room with two sides with fabulous views over Cardiff!

A few minutes walk from the station and with all the facilities you'd want including a nice pool, steam room, gym etc.

The underground parking had plenty of spaces and although I had to pay £12 to park, at least it's safe and out of sight.

The food was excellent, though expensive and the bar staff gave excellent service too.

I really only havee the usual gripe: why on earth do these big hotels charge for wifi!? I can easily go and stay at a B&B with free wifi for half the price of a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benwha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Holland House Cardiff. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about wifi, which we are currently reviewing.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,107 - 2,113 of 2,609 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

We usually stay in the Park Plaza, which is a lovely hotel but we have found it quite noisy of late.The staff at Holland house are very welcoming, its great to have parking on site too. We had a fantastic room on the14th floor the views were amazing especially at night. Although the bathroom was'nt cleaned as well as it should have been, empty tisuue holder and rather naff bath products (much superior at the Park Plaza). The hotel seems a little tired and in need of a revamp and the lobby smelt strongly of bleach! The great things were the staff and the fabulous view from the top floors. I think we will go back to the Park Plaza next time we are in Cardiff.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isobel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I have taken note of your comments and we will address these. I hope we can welcome you back to the Holland House Cardiff very soon.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The staff were friendly and the rooms are great. my only minor criticism would be the amount of children in the pool and spa facilities. granted it was half term when we visited but it didn't fit the relaxing break my partner and I were looking forward to.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Holland House Cardiff. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Good, clean and friendly hotel with good amenities and lovely decor. Food is of a good standard although on this occassion we ate out. Would stay here again - excellent value if you take advantage of some of their offers that come up from time to time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mad_taff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly should you wish to make any future reservations.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed for weekend at this Hotel for the first time. Had large room on 9th floor with lovely views from panoramic windows. Lifts very efficient and quiet. We were two couples and both rooms were large with king size bed and had a comfortable leather sofa and a bathroom with a shower cubicle and a bath.
Had lovely evening meal (made all the more enjoyable by Vincente for whom nothing was too much trouble!) the hotel was full with two functions on but all the staff were very friendly and efficient. Buffet style breakfast with wide variety of food available. Not too far to walk to shops etc very central.
Only minor negative was the delay for taxis from the company used by the hotel, perhaps could get them to improve their service a little.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E-E45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comment regarding the taxi company. Rest assured we will investigate this and address.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have stayed at many hotels throughout the world and this is one of the very best. The executive rooms are large, clean, comfortable, with panoramic views of the city. The restaurant food and ambience are excellent and the staff are absolutely first class in all departments of the hotel. Trust me, the hotel is really this good ! We will definitely stay again !

Room Tip: Try to book an executive room for an excellent experience. Often cheaper to book on late rooms then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Holland House Cardiff again very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel as we offer the same rates as laterooms.com.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had a great deal through late rooms which included breakfast, 3 course dinner on the first night and an upgraded room with fab views over to Cardiff Bay. A short stroll into the city centre. The food was fab, good portions and very tasty. Nice selection of wines, staff very helpful and extremely pleasant. Didn't use the spa butbif we go again we will.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k1of2ksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Holland House again very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to make your next reservation on 02920 435000.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,483 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £63 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing