We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Llandyrnog, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very good overnight stay”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Large well appointed rooms. Two minor negatives are the slow lifts - only 4 for a 14 storey hotel and floor to ceiling glass wall windows give a spectacular view but they really heat upthe room in the sun. The air conditioning only takes the room down to 19C. Not a real problem in March.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Holland House Cardiff again.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    825
    331
    133
    85
See reviews for
282
962
76
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stay here regularly on business. The rooms are well appointed with really comfortable and very big beds. The hotel is well laid out with no long corridors which means you don't get loads of people wandering past your room making a noise, no matter which room it is. Every room has a great view. The food is good and the staff are friendly. The only downside is it is situated on a busy road.
This is one of my preferred hotels in Cardiff - I stay in a few.

Room Tip: I've never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Platothefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your custom. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any further comments to add regarding any stays with us.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I only had one night, but they put me in a corner room with two sides with fabulous views over Cardiff!

A few minutes walk from the station and with all the facilities you'd want including a nice pool, steam room, gym etc.

The underground parking had plenty of spaces and although I had to pay £12 to park, at least it's safe and out of sight.

The food was excellent, though expensive and the bar staff gave excellent service too.

I really only havee the usual gripe: why on earth do these big hotels charge for wifi!? I can easily go and stay at a B&B with free wifi for half the price of a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benwha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Holland House Cardiff. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about wifi, which we are currently reviewing.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We usually stay in the Park Plaza, which is a lovely hotel but we have found it quite noisy of late.The staff at Holland house are very welcoming, its great to have parking on site too. We had a fantastic room on the14th floor the views were amazing especially at night. Although the bathroom was'nt cleaned as well as it should have been, empty tisuue holder and rather naff bath products (much superior at the Park Plaza). The hotel seems a little tired and in need of a revamp and the lobby smelt strongly of bleach! The great things were the staff and the fabulous view from the top floors. I think we will go back to the Park Plaza next time we are in Cardiff.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isobel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Guest,

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I have taken note of your comments and we will address these. I hope we can welcome you back to the Holland House Cardiff very soon.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The staff were friendly and the rooms are great. my only minor criticism would be the amount of children in the pool and spa facilities. granted it was half term when we visited but it didn't fit the relaxing break my partner and I were looking forward to.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Holland House Cardiff. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Good, clean and friendly hotel with good amenities and lovely decor. Food is of a good standard although on this occassion we ate out. Would stay here again - excellent value if you take advantage of some of their offers that come up from time to time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mad_taff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly should you wish to make any future reservations.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#12 of 73 in Cardiff
2,114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing