We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed one night , they say it's a 4 star hotel but the breakfast was cold , the seating was torn , the noise from the traffic was terrible ( and we where on the 9th floor) .Then to top it all they charge you £12 for parking and as we wanted to go out in the evening they could not guarentee a parking space on return and said we would have to park in the public car park around the corner .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wingnut19192005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Divison Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I can assure you your comments are being looked into. Feel free to call me on 02920 435000 or email me on h6622-rd@accor.com to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,033 - 2,039 of 2,555 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here on day of Wales v Italy match with my son. Good deal on room. Rooms spacious and facilities are very good. I would encourage use of the restaurant. Location perfect being central but not with the noisy crowd!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Holland House Cardiff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Wow what a hotel couldn't have asked for better. Room was stunning with amasing views and nice and clean and modern. Staff were excellent and food was superb.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimHarris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This central hotel has a small underground carpark (£12), which wasnt that busy. As mentioned in other reviews pull up outside the hotel go and check-in and enquire if they have room in the carpark.
The hotel is in a good location 10 minute walk from the shops/stadium/station etc etc. Also it is a couple hundred yards from City Road (turn right out of the front of the hotel, up to the lights then left) which has every kind of food variety you could want, both resturants and take-aways - well worth the stroll. We ate at Mina (Lebonese) it was wonderful.
The public areas in the lobby/bar etc are well kept and spacious.
The Spa is a good extra, for a chill after shopping/work.
The rooms are spacious and beds really comfortable. however, the room we had 612 was a little tired and could do with a spruce and a deep clean! As with many chain hotels the cleaners don't worry about the nooks and cranies so after time there is a build up.
All in all a good central hotel, a few issues but plenty more bonuses. I always rate a hotel by asking myself would i stay here again, the answer is yes, we paid £78 b&b through Expedia.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lippers73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Guest,

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments regarding the cleanliness and the matter will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you back to the Holland House Cardiff very soon.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here for a conference visit, and was impressed with the room size and quality. The use of the swimming pool, steam room and sauna is also a definite bonus, especially for the fairly low price I paid. However, some things were not quite perfect: My bath tub would not drain unless I held the bath plug open, as otherwise the pressure of the water in the tub kept closing the plug again after a few seconds; one the first evening, there was a larger group in the pool area, with a rowdy group of teenagers throwing things around, and a man shaving in the sauna - not a particulary pleasant situation. But al in all, for the price, and the friendliness of the check in staff, I would still return if I returned to Cardiff again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller197780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally regarding the bath and also your comments regarding the sauna and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Holland House very soon.

Kind regards,

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I arranged a 2 night stay at the Mercure Holland House for 14 adults as we were on a stag do. We had 8 rooms, in which most were located on the same floor. On arrival, their is a small basement car park that is chargable at £12 a day, it was rather full but we were lucky enough to find a space. Im not sure where you could park if no spaces available. Check in took about 20 minutes as had 8 rooms to check in to, and also the agreed rate was challanged by the receptionist, but thankfully I had the emails to prove the agreed rate. 4 twin rooms we had booked were not available at check in so those rooms were upgraded to the corner panaramic rooms which were very nice and large with a King Bed and comfortable sofa bed. I had a look at the double rooms and twin rooms which we also had and they were also very nice. The room I had was a corner Panaramic room with great views of coast and city.

Location is very good, far enough out to be quiet and away from the town centre, but close enough to simply stroll into town after a 5 minute walk. The hotel itself is a fair few years old and looks a bit tired from the outside, but inside is nice and modern and looks recently refurbished.

We used the spa a few times, lovely pool, sauna and jacuzzi. We also had a residents massage which was very good and is discounted as your staying at the hotel, so instead of £30 it is £20. Well worth it.

We had a few drinks at the bar, was around £4 a pint so quite pricey but you expect that at a hotel. We had breakfast included, which was very good and in a nice restaurant area.

All in all a great stay, great rooms, great location, great breakfast. Only negatives I can think of is the excessive parking charges and no free wifi.

Room Tip: Request corner rooms, higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonnym_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Mercure Holland House Cardiff and I hope to see you on your next trip.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Interesting to read other comments about the Hotel and its management, sadly i have to echo these thoughts.
Having attended a recent charity event i was left very disappointed with the Hotel Management who seemed intent to ruin the night for the all involved.
It became apparent that maximising profits rather than supporting a charity was the sole priority of the Hotel and their staff.
If you are looking to host an event or conference i would recommend shopping around for a Hotel who values their customers first rather than their balance sheets.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lancaster18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding the recent event at the Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa.

We are very sorry that the event did not meet your expectations but would like the opportunity to address the issues raised in your feedback. From the outset, we offered our full support to the charity and made every effort to assist the event organisers in planning and executing a successful event .

As you may be aware, circumstances arose during the evening of the event which, if left unattended, would have placed our guests in a situation which was not in accordance with the service environment we wish to provide. A decision was therefore taken to protect the interests of the majority of guests which we believe was correct.

Over the last number of years the hotel has been privileged to support a large number of charitable events successfully including the Princes Trust and Marie Curie and we will continue to offer our support going forward and, as an example, we have an event in April supporting Ty Hafan.

I can certainly understand the upset caused by this situation but hopefully you appreciate the very difficult circumstances in which the hotel team were placed and the fact that the hotel involves itself actively in supporting well deserving charities.

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments and we very much hope that this unfortunate and isolated incident will not prevent you from returning to the hotel in the future.

If you have any further question then please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
2,181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £67 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing