We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new years break!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great new years break!!”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stopped here over two night for new years and attended the 007 James bond theme new years party.

We were given a room on six floor. The room itself was spacious, well decorated and clean. We had a good view of Cardiff and had no issues within the room. The panoramic large glass windows made the room feel a lot lot lot bigger.
The bathroom was well designed with a nice walk in shower and separate bath.

Whilst stopping there for two nights we did notice that the room got quite cold and had no obvious signs of heating (Radiators etc). We did look into upgrading and paying the £20-£30 for a premier room. The manager who was very polite and helpful did show us the upgraded room and if i'm honest it wasn't worth the extra money for wi-fi, coffee machine and robes. The room was exactly the same as what we had already been given.

The hotel offers excellent leisure facility's including a pool, steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi.

The breakfast offered by the hotel caters for all needs (Full English, cereal, Continental breakfast) and on both mornings there was something for everyone.

The hotel is immaculate inside and whilst there all staff members we encountered were very friendly and polite and had that "Cant do enough for you" attitude.

The new years party was excellent and my partner and I had an excellent stay in the Mercure.

My only negative throughout the stay was the excessive £14 per night car parking. For a two night stay £28 is a little excessive.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chamone83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your New Year's stay with us. So pleased that you enjoyed our theme night. Our bedrooms are heated using the air conditioning unit and can be warmed or cooled using the thermostat near to the door.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    801
    323
    126
    81
See reviews for
271
936
75
479
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We were attending the 007 theme Gala Ball and decided to stay overnight as a treat - and treat it certainly was! We stayed on the 14th floor and were not disappointed with the views across the City. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff all very helpful and polite. Four of us had booked and initially an error had been made and each couple had been seated at separate tables for the dinner. However this was very quickly rectified with apologies once brought to the attention of the organisers. The Gala Dinner was delicious, the entertainment amazing and the staff were attentive throughout making this one of the best New Year Eve experiences we've had. Breakfast was buffet style with a delicious selection to suit all tastes. Good value, a fab way to see in the New Year and my one complaint is that I had to leave. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60sangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Guest,

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for New Years.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I booked this hotel for a weekend away through laterooms.com and was offered a B&B deal at first. Unfortunately laterooms.com rang me to say that the hotel were no longer offering breakfast - for the sake of 1 person at a buffet breakfast Mercure were willing to lose a booking?!? I kept the reservation as I saw this hotel being "built" when I was a student in Cardiff and wanted to use the once fan-fared spa.
Mercure's website was not clear on whether parking was free (it wasn't - £14 in a secure underground car park).

The room on the 9th floor was very spacious and clean but lacked a welcome book with details of the hotel's facilities, room service etc. When I tried to call down to reception the phone's labelled memory buttons weren't programmed so after trying the obvious numbers (0, 100, 9 etc) I went back down. The TV wasn't easy to use - lacked a coherent programme guide.

The spa wasn't as spacious as I'd expected - the Park Plaza is bigger - and was dated. There were tiles missing from the suspended ceiling in the changing room and cracked, patch repairs to the showers.

In summary the hotel is handily located for the city centre but over priced for the service offered.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drw2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Guest,

So pleased that you enjoyed your New Years with us. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

my lovely fella booked us in for a birthday treat and what a lovely hotel this is in the heart of cardiff 5min walk to the shops,the room we stayed in was lovely panoramic veiws over cardiff we was on the 7th floor.room was spotless bed very comfy.all the staff very polite and helpful.breakfast is buffet wich we both enjoyed.will be going back again soon :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your birthday stay with us at the hotel.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Mercure hotel on the seventh floor. It is ideally located within a short
walk of the city centre. Had a large room with 3 beds in it and a good sized bathroom. Had large glass windows which looked out over the older part of the city. I personally found the room cold although the air con was off. The hotel parking was under the hotel and charged at £14 a day which I felt was a bit expensive, although I don't know how much NCP parking was for 24 hrs. The wi if was free.

The breakfast was good with plentiful food and drink. Would probably stay again if we returned to Cardiff.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the castle, I would imagine you' d have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easylacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Guest,

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We currently have an agreement with the local NCP to honour our rates of £14 per 24 hours as oppposed to their own charges of £16.50 per 24 hours.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I stayed on the 14th floor and the view of cardiff was amazing, you can see the whole of the centre! Reception & breakfast Staff were helpful and friendly. only 5 min walk to shopping area. Good sized pool aswell!

Room Tip: Better rooms are on higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Dear Guest,

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed the fantastic views from the 14th floor. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Great location, really central and yet rooms are really quiet at night. Had a good view of cardiff from the room, and the bar was lovely. All decked out nice for the festive season. Staff were lovely. Spa facilities looked good, sadly didn't get time to use them :(

Would stay here again for another trip for sure, and weekend deals make it very worthwhile

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lellewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly for any future stays and to check for any promotional offers that we are running.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing