We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few small problems, but very good overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A few small problems, but very good overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

I have just spent the last 2 nights in this hotel, which is in a great location for the city centre. Staff all friendly, room was quite large and well equipped, with excellent views of the city. Ensuite also a good size with a separate shower and bath, all fittings were modern.
The price of the room itself was good, but this has to be offset by the cost of parking (£14 per day) and internet (£9 per day).
Breakfast was something to look forward to every morning; not the best I have had but pretty close to it.
Bar prices were expensive, but no more so than the rest of the city centre bars. Cardiff seems to charge London prices, so it would be unfair to criticise this hotel alone.
On the down side, the aircon in the room was terrible; the room was always cold, and no matter what temperature I set the dial to (I set it as high as 30 at one stage, it was that cold in the room), it still only blasted cold air out. Great in summer, not so good in February.
Although I found the room to be generally clean, the bin in the bathroom had not been emptied from the previous guest and was full to the brim with tissues and God knows what else. It remained that way for the duration of my stay, so I left it in the middle of the floor when I left, as a gentle hint.
Last small niggle is that I woke up early on the first morning, so decided to make coffee. The drink sachets had not been replenished since the previous guest, and there was no coffee. In fairness, I walked down to reception (at 0530) and asked for more. Two minutes after I got back to the room, a member of house-keeping knocked on the door, and gave me 20 sachets of coffee!
Overall, a pleasant stay. I did not sample the spa, etc, as this was a business trip, but I may return with my wife in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeHockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Thank you for your feedback and apologies for the problems that you encountered. We can reset heating at reception should there be any problems with setting the temperature in the room.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    791
    317
    124
    79
See reviews for
267
926
71
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port El Kantaoui, Tunisia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Beds hard, big but hard. Room was adequate but paid an extra £20 for proper coffee maker and wi-fi and a free morning paper........... My early morning call didn't materialize but as we hadn't managed any sleep - hey ho!!

Evening meal was excellent, watch the £5 per head extra for a steak (paper tin)

Ecamine your check out bill, I was charged for 2 extra meals in the restaurant that must have been someone else's- the said they were sorry but mistakes shouldn't happen in a hotel that big and prestigious.

The pool was cold and cloudy - not what I expected, must be spoilt by Tunisia and Canary Island pools. Bristol harbour side was excellent as was the Aquarium, loads of bars and restaurants - a good night life (a bit cold). Plenty of choice from eating at the hotel

In all a disappointing night away, now looking forward to Djerba in May - should be warmer at least

Room Tip: Facing the church but at extra expense. High rooms are best away from bars and outside noises. My...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dafudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay, I have passed on your feedback to the relevant departments.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

Arrival, excellent, very warm welcome and lots if encouragement to visit City, which we knew anyway. Booked in later, again a warm and friendly member of staff. So, to room, 717. Nice dormer plot with roof top views of city. Tired fittings and decor.Bathroom door in need of tlc. 1.25 rolls of tissue!!hmmm, just about enough, no obvious way of asking for more. Room cold but reverse air con got it going. Bed, great. Bath....lovely, sink...plug not open enough.ZZZ..noise, no problem. Pool, Steam Sauna etc, Pool was unlit at one end so dangerous for lengths. Steam room, not that good. Changing was OK.
Breakfast, good. Toast machine....pathetic as per norm in hotels. Check out, good but expensive, £14.0o for 24hrs.
Easy walk to city. Food and wine listed were avoided as VERY expensive. Ambience...passable, piped music in car park, nothing in foyer!!

Room Tip: No tips for room choice based on our experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Within walking distance of Central Cardiff, this new hotel provides everything you could wish for. Plush, carpeted floors, excellent roomy restaurant and excellent service. There is also an afternoon tea service available from 1pm and this is substantial enough to do as a lunch, with sandwiches, scones with loads of cream, small cakes and some fresh fruit. Parking in the centre of Cardiff is expensive (£5 for 3 hours at least) so you can leave your car and walk.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated on the busy Newport road; although Cardiff at night may look attractive to som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gynaeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed our afternoon tea at the hotel, this is very popular at the hotel.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights just before Christmas as the Company Do was in the hotel. The room was so spacious, clean and comfy. The view was spectacular over the City. We were even allowed to take our small dog, which they made very welcome! The only gripe I would have is that I booked a Pedicure - charged me £22 and only painted my toe-nails - no foot-soak, rub or anything - very expensive for something I could have done myself!!!!! The pool was OK, I found it a little dark - no personal cubicles to get changed in - something I prefer. Apart from the Spa aspect - everything else was superb, even the 'Do' in the evening. Will definitely be staying again when in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay and party here. I have passed on your feedback to the Spa Manager and we are currently looking into this.

Thank you for your comments and I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

7th floor corner room, with fantastic views - nature threw in some high winds which made it exciting.

I booked in around 5pm but was not allowed a dinner reservation until 8pm as the dining room was busy, according to the Reception. Not funny after a long day - and a waste of the prepaid meal as I had to forgo starter and desert if I wanted to sleep, due to digestive troubles.

Nice hospitality tray? well,at breakfast, despite the assurance that 'somebody will take your order for tea or coffee' , that somebody did not. Nobody came within hailing distance - I did see a young woman and, later, a man, rushing past with various items to be stored on the other side of the room, but neither offered any guest a drink. There was a pump jug of water and a selection of herbal teas on the buffet, but it's not tea unless the water's boiling in my world. Thank goodness for the tray in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Divadarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear your feedback regarding the restaurant and I have passed this onto the Restaurant Manager.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night (the night of his birthday) and I had when booking, I requested a 'little something to make him feel special'- perhaps that explains why we got a corner room on the 14th floor- the view was spectacular! The room was spacious and very clean and the bathroom was clean too but one of the toilet rolls was a leftover from the previous occupant and it might as well have been replaced because it had only 2 complete turns of tissue left so I promptly binned it and moved on to the fresh roll. The fridge and coffee tray looked like they needed a lot of cleaning because there were dried-up water marks everywhere which I found that disappointing. We arrived late (around 10.40pm) and we had paid for half board only to be told that the restaurant closes at 10/10.30pm and room service had limited options (soups and sandwiches) which we were uninterested in so one member of staff brought us a menu of a fast-food eatery not far away (any links with the hotel staff???) and we ordered dinner which ended up not being bad at all. Breakfast was very good but the pork sausages were oily. On checking-out, the lady at the reception was very apologetic about the previous night's episode and we weren't charged for dinner :)

Room Tip: Great views from the higher floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simplymoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay. Pleased to hear your feedback and I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing