We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stayed here on our wedding night 4th may”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“stayed here on our wedding night 4th may”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We booked the Presidential suite for the night of our wedding on 4th May. We booked in late (2am) and got a very nice welcome and because it was for our wedding got a late check out free!
The hotel is very clean and tidy, the rooms were also clean and tidy, and the breakfast was brilliant! -one of the best breakfast I have had in a uk hotel!
The staff are helpful and friendly and we had a very delightful stay!
the only bad thing I would have to say was, the staff knew we were checking out late, so I did not like it very much when a member of staff just walked into our hotel room (after he knocked once and we asked them to wait - was getting changed) and he just walked straight in! to fill the fridge!
but evrything else was lovely! I would stay again :-) and recommend it to friends

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duckywucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear duckywucky,

Congratulations again to you both on your recent marriage. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am sorry that Room Service entered your room before you checked out. I have passed this feedback onto the Restaurant Manager.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,051
    804
    323
    126
    81
See reviews for
273
937
75
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Booked to stay overnight on Sat 11th May 2013. Made use of the underground car park (£14 for 24 hours ) . Check in was smooth and the reception staff were extremely polite and welcoming. The room we were allocated was a corner suite with good views and was clean and tidy. You did need to request stocking of mini bar , although prices appeared reasonable. My only criticism of the rooms are looking a little tired , carpet was looking faded,stained and curtains did not shut properly

The bed was queen sized , extremely comfortable and sleep quality was fab. The hotel is a short walk into the city centre and great spa facitlities available for hotel guests. This was definitely a deciding factor in booking this hotel compared to others more central to mill lane area.

Breakfast buffet had a good of selection of hot and cold foood , nice surroundings and were seated promptly by attentive staff. The jams and pastries were good , well presented and cooked breakfast items were hot . My only niggle was that the sliced bread appeared cheap in quality and i was dissapointed that the sauce used was not the preferred brands.as the bacon and sausage was good quality and spoilt by cheap sauce. All in all though a pleasurable stay with good customer service and i will return

Room Tip: ask for corner suite preferably high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiflarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear fiflarue,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Mercure Holland House Hotel and for your feedback.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Was taken here as a treat on a Sunday evening, Room was very nice, modern and spacious. We had a Massage and a Facial in the spa which were amazing, then 2 for 1 cocktails in the bar for happy hour.
Dinner was excellent even though a part of a deal they did not skimp on the portions and the quality again was amazing aswell as the service.
The service at breakfast let them down as was not asked if we wanted coffee etc, but still very nice, 3 time we have stayed here and is one of the best hotels in Cardiff.

Room Tip: HIgh floor for a great view of cardiff
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2304Nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear 2304Nicky,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and so pleased that you enjoyed some spa treatments and our lovely cocktails in the bar.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Would highly recommend and definitely stay there again.
Walking distance to city centre, perfect after a shopping trip or show. Hotel is beautiful, clean and spacious and staff are the best.
The room we had was big, comfortable , clean, warm and sunny. The bathroom was sparkly clean. Towels and toiletries readily available, we asked for more towels and they were delivered within minutes.
The food in the restaurant was excellent, big thank you to all kitchen staff, the treatment facilities were amazing. It was spacious, warm and so relaxing.
But most importantly the staff, who could make or break our experience, absolutely made it the best!
From the moment we checked in we were made to feel welcome and special although there were at least 4 other hen parties going on in your hotel at the same time.
Would highly recommend to everyone. :-)

Room Tip: All rooms have huge windows which are mirrored so you can enjoy a lovely day without the glare. Curt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Michaela T,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay for a hen party and the lovely email that you sent to the hotel. I hope it won't be too long before we welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
417 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here previously when it's been on offer for an over night stay dinner and breakfast. Easy check in, had an executive suite as part if deal which makes you feel extra special. Dinner menu is set but you do have a choice. Breakfast buffet was fab with lots of choice. Parking is available but not many spaces. Close to centre about £5 in taxi. Facilities are great. Room needed to be a bit cleaner as there was a large stain on the throw on the bed and a clump of dark hair on top of the white duvet. Robes and slippers should have been in the room to use facilities and we booked treatments but they weren't. Would stay again but only as a treat when it's on offer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinytrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Tinytrace,

Thank you for your review and thank you for your feedback regarding the room, I have followed this up with the Head Housekeeper. I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Davies
Rooms Divison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

we have just returned from a nights stay at the above hotel.We booked the deal through travel zoo got a upgraded room 3 course dinner on the same night and breakfast the next day.the upgraded room was on the 14th floor very dissapointing for an upgrade,the decor was awful,the settee in the room was ripped on both sides,there was no mirror by the dressing table so when you dried your hair you could style it..all the outside of the dressing table had dirty marks on it...
minibar empty you had to prebook drinks to go in it..a kettle there will a few coffee sachets but no biscuits..bathroom ok needed a good clean tho..

the only good thing was the dinner the staff were lovely as was the breakfast.....but on the whole very dissapointing and would not be going back here again...

Room Tip: dont stay on the 14 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justine199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Justine199,

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take all feedback seriously at the hotel and your feedback regarding your room is being investigated and followed up.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Less than a 5 minute walk to the town centre and close to train stations this is an ideal location as outside the town enough to be quiet.
Very good quality rooms and interior, we didn't eat or use the bar here so can't comment on that, but toiletries provided in the room is a nice little touch.

Friendly and efficient at check in and check out and there is a car park underneath (extra cost which is why not a perfect review)

Room Tip: Get the highest floor you can, the views are excellent if the weather is clear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonJ68_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear SimonJ68_Uk,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at the Mercure Holland House. I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Michelle Davies
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing