We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly faultless...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nearly faultless...”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Good friendly staff in a nice modern hotel with just a few issues. Checked into the hotel and upon entering the room found another guest was still staying there. Room was empty at the time but could have been embarrassing for both of us! Staff quickly arranged another room but got a twin rather than the double booked. A complimentary breakfast and a free nights parking was fair compensation. The next morning the shower was cold but after a boiler reset and a half hour wait normal temp restored. Minor issues which the staff dealt with promptly and efficiently.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capnstubing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
We really appreciate your understanding with the issues you encountered during your recent stay. Please accept our apologies again for any inconvenience caused - we look forward to having the opportunity to give you a 'faultless stay' next time

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,051
    804
    323
    126
    82
See reviews for
273
938
75
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We booked our wedding at the mecure holland house 2 years in advance, leading up to the wedding i was called in to go through plans and finalise our plans......Not happy as we had to do this 5 times as we had 5 wedding planners in the space of 4 months. On the day of the wedding the hotel binned my top table flowers when they were asked to put them in my room they binned my table plan which i paid £65, not one thing did they stick to after all that planning they still managed to mess up my wedding day. We were not told the buffet would be out an hour, to my shock on the day it was gone even the cakes i signed a disclamer for to put out were taken away, what shocked us more was the food i paid for and my cakes were put out in the bar for a hen party. We had a free night accomidation bedroom was nice yet at 8pm when i wanted to freshen up they had NOT moved my things into our new room so had no where to freshen up. My brother and sister wanted to decorate our room and put a bottle of champainge into the room, yet the hotel said this is already done, to my brothers shock the next day it had not been done. Over all bad experiance. Food was lovely although they forgot a few things, room was nice but basic.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
I am so sorry to read the issues you had last May (2012) with your wedding at the hotel and fully understand how this must have effected your special day.
I have contacted the General Manager that was here at the time to ensure that your issues were addressed and have been led to believe that the General Manager met with you personally to find a satisfactory solution at the time.

Please accept our apologies again.

Kind regards
Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

we had a pleasant stay at the holland house hotel, all staff, including reception manager michael were very helpful and friendly. its so nice to be greeted with such an enthusiastic welcome. the room was perfectly adequate and clean, and the both the menu and food were superb both at breakfast and dinner.
the pool, hot tub and changing room were great, and really add to your stay. unfortunately, the pool did seem to have a couple of what looked like tissues floating in it. also, the tap in the bedroom seemed to be very old and was almost falling out. considering we were on the 8th floor, at the back of the hotel, the noise of traffic was surprisingly noticeable.
the staff were very accommodating when we changed our dinner time several times, and we did have dinner quite late on, resulting in us being the only ones in the restaurant apart from a rather rowdy business group. this group were obviously regulars, and the head waiter was very friendly toward them, however this did seem to result in them using vulgar language towards a waitress, and swearing quite loudly. the restaurant was nearly empty, and the waiter did assure us that the men were just jokers, but i hope that the dignity of the staff is not compromised for the entertainment of tipsy regular guests.
the wine at dinner also seemed quite hit and miss, with one glass of white being perfectly acceptable, while the red was really awful, but swiftly replaced with a nicer glass on complaint.
overall, for food, facilities and rooms, the mecure holland house hotel is good choice for a break in cardiff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Sincere thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay - Mike was thrilled to get a mention.
We will take all your comments on board as we aware the pool does get quite to busy over the weekend so we will monitor it more closely.

Also please accept our apologies again for your red wine, hopefully you enjoyed the replacement

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I recently stayed at the Mecure Holland Hotel for a function, and I can say I am somewhat disappointed with my experience.

The Service and hotel for me was not four star. I had to change me room, because it had not been cleaned properly and there was bad smell. The staff took ages to clean the room. I understand that they were busy, but still

I stayed at the hotel for two nights, when they made the room up on the second night, the bed was made up really sloppily. When I chatted to a friend who also stayed she said pillow covers were put on inside out.

I was really looking forward saying at the mecure, but in the end was glad to go home!

Room Tip: Clean, room with a good bed and a decent shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHD580415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
We are so sorry that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. I have passed on your feedback to our Housekeeping team to help improve standards going forward. Please accept our apologies for not getting it right first time.

Should you wish to contact me directly to discuss your concerns any further my details are below

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed here for Hollys ball really enjoyed the spa and pool facilities were great staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. We also ate in the resturaunt as we had vouchers when we booked for a 3 course meal for 15 pound and food was amazing fantastic value for money only little niggle is I feel the rooms could do with being modernised a bit not a huge deal as they were still very comfortable and plenty big enough all in all a lovely stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback- we really appreciate it. We are proud of our spa and pool facilities and glad you were able to use them during your stay- also chef was glad to get a mention about our special dinner offer- thank you!.

Our bedrooms are of a good size and comfortable but we are aware that they need some modernisation and the plans are being prepared at present so watch this space as we will have some exciting news very soon...

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights recently whilst attending a conference. Had a twin room which was a great size, bathroom with separate shower cubicle and nice toiletries. Am sure the view would have been great from the massive windows but unfortunately the weather wasn't really playing ball. Restaurant was good, breakfast range was good and turned over quickly so nothing seemed to be sat for long. Bar staff really friendly and good source of local knowledge, bar prices a little high but to be expected in hotel. Pool nice and clean, reasonable size, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi all clean. Seemed a little way out of the city centre, rather than being right in the centre.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay. We are pleased you found the hotel comfortable for your business trip and hope you managed to unwind in the pool. We are sorry the weather was not better for your stay but hopefully next time you can take advantage of our fabulous views

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2013

my wife and i booked for a spa night. excellent value for money £205 for b&b, evening meal and £70 worth of treatment. well worth it...........................room on top floor fab views across cardiff and bay. room had extra desk which provided extra space. staff all very friendly and good choice of food for meal included in price

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank gavin_ansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thanks for your review about your recent Spa break, so good to read your positive comments. We are fortunate to have great size rooms and some fanastic views but the best feedback for us is always to see 'very friendly staff'- so thank you from us all

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing