We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

3rd time I've stayed here for an annual conference and every time we have been very well looked after. The overall cleanliness of the hotel is 1st class. The staff are always very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in this year was excellent so next year I'll make sure I book the same room. Breakfast is also very good. Buffet breakfast's in some hotels I've stayed in can be very dry because too much food is presented and left to dry under the lights. Not here it was all very fresh. My only negative is the car park is quite small for the size of hotel you you have to make sure to arrive early in order to get a space.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

We were all so pleased to read it is your 3rd visit to the hotel and that this year your room was excellent. The chef was also appreciative of the breakfast comments as it does so often get overlooked- thank you

We do hope you will return again for business (or pleasure) and please do let us know about any parking issues as we do have an agreement with the local car park for any overflow.

Thank you again for posting your review and for such positive feedback

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,535)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,587 - 1,593 of 2,535 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

This hotel was without a doubt one of the best I've stayed at. Our welcome was very friendly and we booked a room on the 12th floor. We entered our rooms to amaze to witness our room being panoramic with a incredible view all round the room. The spa, food facilities were also really nice and generally the area is a really good weekender to either relax or nights out. The shopping centre is situated 10 mins walk away and has hundreds of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: If booking do make sure you are as high as possible and get a room with panoramic views #priceless...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lokz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review. We are thrilled to have exceeded your expectations and to have made your stay 'unimaginable'! .
The whole team really apprecaite you taking the time to write about the facilities and for recommending our hotel

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed in the Mercure Cardiff Holland House hotel in November 2013, booking after we had received a gift of a two night spa break. I have stayed in different hotels on a weekly bases, over the last 10 years, across the country, and have never experienced such a bad attitude on reception as this hotel.

.Our room accommodation was good with great views over Cardiff. The room was clean and the bed linen was spotless. We had our evening meals in the restaurant for both nights and found the staff both attentive, helpful and friendly, the food was also delicious. When I mentioned the sauce on the fish was not to my liking, the waitress came back from speaking with the chef with other alternatives.Even a large party booked in on the second night did not deter from the service we received, nothing seemed to much trouble in this restaurant.We also meet staff in the corridors,in the lift they all made a point of acknowledging us.

We had received such good rapport from all hotel staff we had encountered so far, we did not expect any confrontation on checking out. Firstly we where told we had to pay the full accommodation, even though it had already been paid. The receptionist contacted reservations, who also appeared indifferent, and unhelpful. By this time a queue had built up and we where made to feel as if we where avoiding payment. The attitude, rudeness, lack of thought, and confrontation manner was appalling.The receptionist solution was to send one of us back to the room ( another key had to be prepared) to get the information we had discarded after check in, There appeared to be no awareness of how she was making us feel. The bill was resolved eventually, leaving us shaken and upset.

Unfortunately we had to return later to collect luggage, and wanted to speak to her line manage On doing so she kept interrupting, she then said she had asked other guests in the queue to justify her behavior,( they probably wanted to get away soon as possible) her unprofessional ism continued with her constant confrontational abrupt manner. No one corrected her..
We were visibly shaken by the aggression shown. Who needs this on a trip we had been planning for awhile. If this is the standard of the reception something needs to change.

Room Tip: You have a great view from higher floors
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your honest feedback. We were pleased to read that you found the rooms spotless, the views great and the food delicious!
We can only apologise that there was some confusion with your booking when you checked out and would like to re-assure you that we take our customer service and training very seriously. Our front office team are usually rated very highly by our guests so we are disappointed that this was not the case for you.

If you would like to discuss your concerns any further my details are below

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Mb 07908140412

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank HuwPritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed hear as part of a large family party.
Very helpful hotel staff especially the bar staff who were able to give an excellent recommendation for a light lunch.
Room was clean and well equipped. Lift was a little noisy though ask not to be put near a lift if your going to stay.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank OcasionalGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your recommending the hotel and for your positive feedback about the team- we all really appreciate it!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and we will try to ensure a room situated away from the lift for you.

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed in the Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa in March of this year. i was on business and am only writing this because i have learned colleagues of mine have had similar experiences. The reception staff we unbelievably rude. Wouldn't stay there again

I had called ahead requesting a quiet room as I had to get up for work at 4.30am, so would need to go to bed very early. She offered me a room on the side of the hotel - when I asked her if the back would be quieter, she said "no, that this was the quietest side", when I asked how come the side - where one could clearly see (and hear) the main road, could be quieter than the back", she replied "I don't know". I was slightly taken aback by her attitude, which seemed to be deliberately unhelpful. I then checked with her that the room allocated, wasn't close to the lift, she said it wasn't, and left it at that. On reaching the room I could see that not only was it the first room after the lift, but where the bed was situated was right against the lift shaft. I returned to reception, this time asking to be dealt with by the other person on duty and he found me a room facing the back on the 10th floor.

It all seems quite innocuous writing it down, but her attitude from the start was deliberately rude and unhelpful. Not what you want after a long journey. If I had made the booking I would have walked away and checked in somewhere else.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank DomingoBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

We are sorry that your encouter with our reception team was far from satisfactory and has obviously impacted your stay. Please do accept our apologies.
Our reception team frequently get mentioned for the right reasons on our reviews and we will fully investigate why the team member was unable to assit you more effectively.

We really do hope this will not deter you from returning to the hotel as we would welcome the opportunity to get it right

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
2,167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £68 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing