We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,631 - 1,637 of 2,609 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We booked an overnight spa break. We arrived early to use the spa facilities, on checking in we were informed our room was not ready. It did say on our confirmation check-in was 2pm but its worth trying as sometimes the rooms are ready. 2pm came and our room was still not ready so we were given an upgrade to another room. The reception staff were very polite and attentive Our room had fantastic corner panoramic views, was very spacious and the bathroom had a separate shower and bath which was a surprise, although we did find the room quite cold. The spa treatment and facilities were lovely. It was surprising to find that under 16's were allowed to use the sauna/steam room if accompanied by an adult as all other spa's we have visited don't allow under 16's to use some spa facilities. The evening meal was of good quality and service by the restaurant and bar staff was excellent. My husband did not like any of the starter choices and on asking he was offered other alternatives. We do think that there could have been more choice for evening meal rather than a set menu, but this could be due to the time of year we visited. There was a good choice at breakfast and again the food was lovely. All the staff we encountered were polite and friendly, we would recommend and stay in the hotel again. We have given 5 stars as nothing detracted us from enjoying our stay and the room upgrade was unexpected but a great gesture of customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissChatterboxWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Wow, thank you so much for your feedback. We are all so pleased you had a relaxing stay with us and have given us 5*.

We hope to see you and your family again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Booked 3 rooms for our family and they was lovely large rooms with sofas, flat screen tv and DVD player, a nice little extra, the bed was a super king and very comfortable, the views was amazing the Walls was nearly all glass, my family loved it, will go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jones196445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

We were thriled to read that you all had a 'lovely suprise' during your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind comments and recommending the hotel

We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We booked a Xmas break at this hotel and were pleasantly supprised by the experience. Although 'corporate' hotels can be soulless places at times we found this hotel to have friendly helpful staff. Our room was comfortable and clean, everything worked too. The food throughout our stay was of good quality, tasted good, well presented and well thoughtout in respect of menu choices. Only a couple of niggles; the buffet food could have been hotter (the Xmas lunch food via waiter service was pipping hot). The room air conditioning/heater veered from too warm to too cool; not sure why this should be! The entertainment was questionable although this didn't affect us (we were in the area to visit family and friends). All in a good value break.

Room Tip: 14th floor offers good views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSBFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. The team were so pleased to read that your Christmas break was made special and that you were pleasantly surprised by your experience with us This is what we strive to achieve for all our guests and it so motivating for the team when we get it right!

We really look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Maz24
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We were all surprised by this hotel. The food was excellent and surpassed our expectations. The bedrooms were comforable and a good size, lovely and warm given the time of year we stayed.

Out only negative comments for this hotel would be that the spa area was distictly average - the jacuzzi was cold, the sauna very small and the pool was a little cooler than you would hope for.

The staff were all very pleasant and happy to help. Overall we found it to be good value and in a great location. Onsite car parking was great. Was supposed to be a £12 a night, but we got it for free :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soylentgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

We were so pleased to read that you were pleasantly suprised about the hotel and that it surpassed your expecations!. A big thank thank you from us all- especially chef as he was really apprecaitive of the comments about the food.

We will investigate the water temperature of the jacuzzi as this obviosuly should not have been cold and can only apologise and address for next time for you.

We really hope you have reason to return to the hotel again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,485 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £63 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing