We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas break ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Christmas break ”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with our family for one night over the Xmas holidays. We wanted to do some Xmas shopping and visit winter wonderland. Stayed here a few times as location is very central, rooms are large and to a high standard. Would recommend this to anyone as a good base for city centre. Walking distance. Parking is limited but very secure.
100% recommended

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback and recommendation. It was great to read that you have stayed a few times with us and we all hope you have reason to return again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,051
    804
    323
    126
    81
See reviews for
273
937
75
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed a night here and was impressed. Rooms are big compared to most city hotels and there was parking (paid). The hotel also has a pool, sauna and jacuzzi all free to use for guests, there is a Spa as well were you can book the usual treatments. Breakfast was good and only £10 if you book in advance. Location is good, walking distance to shops and bars.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MartinS39194S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We were so pleased to read that you were impressed with the hotel, especially our large rooms and the leisure facilities.

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post it


Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here this month on a special deal for only £60 as opposed to the usual prices which are normally double this. Got to say the hotel was very clean and tidy, staff at the reception desk were very polite and friendly. Room was fantastic. I expected it to be a bit basic for the price I paid to be honest, however I was amazed at how expensive it looked. I've stayed at a few hotels around the uk and Cardiff including some 5 star ones at let me tell you this by far is now my most favourite hotel I've been to in the uk. Looks like a 5 star hotel and the rooms are fabulous. If your looking to stay anywhere in Cardiff then book here.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thumbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Wow, we are not sure what to say about the fantastic feedback other than thank you!
The team were thrilled with your comments and so pleased to have exceeded your expectations.

We hope you joined our loyalty program Le Club as we email all our special offers out to our members- hopefully there will be a great offer to tempt you back soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed one night as we were up in Cardiff celebrating my Fathers 50th Birthday. I think our party had about 11 rooms in this hotel? We didn't spend a lot of time here, and most of it was whilst intoxicated so forgive me for the basic review!

Room was a good size, especially for the price. Not enough sugar and milk in the room. Shower door broken (room 709). Noisy neighbours outside in the corridor at 3 in the morning (thank you to whoever told them to go away). Breakfast prices were laughable (same in all hotels though so wasn't really surprised... top tip - go round the corner to the Weatherspoons if you're on a budget like we were). Staff seemed friendly enough but we didn't have much interaction with them. And finally, room service needs to understand that when a guest asks for more teabags, sugar and milk, they basically just need to raid a housekeeping trolley, not bring me a pint of milk and about 12 different varieties of Twinnings herbal tea!

Would come back again, and would recommend to all :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbowfish89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We were pleased to read that you came to Cardiff to celebrate a special family birthday and you had so much fun.


We hope that next time you return you are able to enjoy some of the hotel facilities and enjoy a cocktail or too with us

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I recently stayed in the Mercure Cardiff for their new years eve ball. This was not the first time we had stayed in the Mercure and we were more than satisfied with the service and the food supplied.

We would both stay at the Mercure again very happy and would recommend.

Room Tip: The hotel staff are very accommodating and In the 4 stays I've have had never had any issues wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
We were thrilled to read that you celebrated the New Year festivities with us and have given us your recommendation

Many thanks also for taking the time to post your feedback - we really appreciate it

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Home from home, so relaxing and a perfect place to stay, great value for money. Staff extremely friendly, breakfast was great and room comfortable. Will definitely be visiting the hotel again. In a great location for Dorking, Box Hill (a must to visit, especially the cafe and the views, great walking spot) plus Guildford

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post your review.
We were truely thrilled to read that your stay was 'home from home' and for recommending our hotel.

Sincere thanks and we hope to welcome you back again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

my boyfriend and i stayed for two nights the food was expellant the staff are very friendly. the room was compact but thought out well. with a extremely soft bed and a very deep bath. the spa was great although the steam room conked out the last day we were there which we found disappointing. but we would highly recommended this hotel, thank you mercure for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: choose a low floor, we were on the fourth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and so pleased to read you had such a 'superb stay'! The team were thrilled with your feedback and hope they can tempt you to return again soon


Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing