We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great value...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The first visit after 12 months away and this hotel continues to provide great service - I still believe it to be the best value "high-end" hotel in Cardiff.

At 80GBP/night for an executive room with great view there is no better value.

Rooms are very comfortable - especially those on higher floors (Privilege and Executive rooms). Air-conditioning is good, bathrooms and minibar well stocked and views across Cardiff and the Bristol Channel are great.

Upper floors have nice little touches with toiletries and a large bath though on this occasion - staying on 11th floor - I was surprised to find the bath robe is no longer provided, the toiletries are less numeroius than previously and whilst the minibar was provided, it was empty.

This hotel is well located for Queen's Street station and the city centre.

The breakfast is very good and the room service menu is excellent with service always prompt.

Parking is 6GBP/day and the free wireless is of good speed.

Finally, a special word of thanks for the check-in/desk staff who are very professional, helpful and cheerful. Little things make the stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

It was great to read you have returned to the hotel and experienced 'the same high standards' - thank you so much for posting your positive feedback, we all really apprecaite it -especially the reception team

Also, just to advise the bathrobes were an oversight- apologise as they should have been in the Privilege rooms

We hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,531)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,519 - 1,525 of 2,532 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just returned from a 1 night stay at Holland House and was pleasantly surprised that the standard way exceed my expectation -very good value indeed! I paid £75 for the double room.
From the moment we arrived the Reception staff were plesant and helpful, the room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The breakfast which was included could not be faulted and all this so close to the city centre.
Have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will certainly book in again.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Wow! - thank you so much for your review. We were so pleased to have exceeded your expectations and for your recommendation.

We hope you are able to return again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank FlynnWales
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here one night for a business trip. Its typical of the chain. Car park is hidden around the back and I didn't see any signs to it so found it by following my nose and luck. reception and staff pleasant and welcoming. Executive room was on the corner of the building and so was corner shade but apart from being in need of a lick of varnish on the windowsill it was well set up. Only complaint was that the heating was off when I arrived at 10pm and so the room was freezing. That's not very welcoming! Breakfast was a good buffet with all the bits to make a full Monty. Oh and just remembered I am entitled to a free drink when I arrive as a silver member, and I didn't get one.

So not bad and would stay there again.

Room Tip: stay higher for a quiet room
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisTubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Many thanks for your honest feedback- we really appreciate it. We were pleased to read that the team were pleasant and welcoming but disappointed that your room temperature was not right.

Reference your drink, please do accept my apologies and we will ensure we make it up to you next time

Please do return again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed here 2 nights for volunteer training. One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in, including one Hilton. Massive twin room with bath and separate shower in bathroom. All meals were excellent and staff were really conscientious about making sure my food was gluten free. All staff I met were incredibly friendly, helpful and accommodating. Any queries or tiny niggles were resolved quickly and with a smile.

Room Tip: Check parking cost before you come as website isn't clear. I think weekends are different, i.e...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank refinnejks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and for taking the time to post it! The team were genuinely thrilled with your feedback about their service and the hotel.

It is so motivating for everyone to hear about the positives and not jut the 'niggles' - thank you.

We hope you are planning to return again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed using our Tesco vouchers. What more do you want. Central location. Nice surroundings and helpful staff. Rooms large with great views and a lovely bed. My only minor moan would be that the room decor was a little tired, but like I said what do you want for nothing.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

It was great to read you had a 'lovely break' with us- thank you for posting your view, the great feedback and for your recommendation

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here on way back from london.Top notch hotel for very good value the night i stayed.Wonderful view of the city from room on 11th floor which was spacious,clean and very comfortable.The city centre is only a short walk away.Hotel has secure underground parking.The food was excellent in the relaxing bar.Overall would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the views
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank les-c72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you so much for your great review and for recommending the hotel. We were so pleased to read that you found our rooms spacious,clean with superb views.

Hopefully, next time it will not be flying visit and you will be able to enjoy the leisure facilities too

Many thanks again

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
3,856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
2,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £65 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing