We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regular client!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Regular client!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

if you enjoy complete comfort at the end of the night, then a little light exercise to blow away the previous evening's excesses, then this has to be the best Hotel in Cardiff at this price. And it's all put together by the friendliest staff you'd wish to meet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
It is great to read you are a regular at the hotel and sincere thanks for your great feedback. The team were beaming when they shared your review with everyone today!

We hope to continue to exceed your expectations and look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    799
    321
    126
    81
See reviews for
268
936
75
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newport
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

2nd time we've stayed. This time we had the room for a great price and got an upgrade to a suite for £50 extra. Well worth it. Suite was excellent.

Very nice hotel, nice breakfast and friendly staff (many thanks to wayne on reception - what a nice guy). Much better than St Davids in Cardiff Bay who really think they're something special (and they're not).

Had large bedroom on top floor, separate lounge area, free minibar. Compared to St Davids whos idea of a suite is a settee behing a curtain.

Just a few minor things:-

1. Cracked window/damp. Huge crack in the window and evidence of water leak on the ceiling. 4* hotel really should be fixing things like this asap.

2. Bed although it looks nice is a bit hard.

3. £10 tray charge for breakfast in room. Not being stingey but £10 extra for this is a bit much. I would happily tip the person who delivered.

Room Tip: suite on the top floor are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulfoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
We were thrilled to read your review- especially Wayne- many thanks! We are fortunate to have good sized suites with fabulous views over the city. Reference the cracked window please accept our apologies, they are due to be replaced this year and hopefully when the weather is more settled we can crack on!

We hope you will return again soon to us and look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City
Level Contributor
207 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The first visit after 12 months away and this hotel continues to provide great service - I still believe it to be the best value "high-end" hotel in Cardiff.

At 80GBP/night for an executive room with great view there is no better value.

Rooms are very comfortable - especially those on higher floors (Privilege and Executive rooms). Air-conditioning is good, bathrooms and minibar well stocked and views across Cardiff and the Bristol Channel are great.

Upper floors have nice little touches with toiletries and a large bath though on this occasion - staying on 11th floor - I was surprised to find the bath robe is no longer provided, the toiletries are less numeroius than previously and whilst the minibar was provided, it was empty.

This hotel is well located for Queen's Street station and the city centre.

The breakfast is very good and the room service menu is excellent with service always prompt.

Parking is 6GBP/day and the free wireless is of good speed.

Finally, a special word of thanks for the check-in/desk staff who are very professional, helpful and cheerful. Little things make the stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
It was great to read you have returned to the hotel and experienced 'the same high standards' - thank you so much for posting your positive feedback, we all really apprecaite it -especially the reception team

Also, just to advise the bathrobes were an oversight- apologise as they should have been in the Privilege rooms

We hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 1 night stay at Holland House and was pleasantly surprised that the standard way exceed my expectation -very good value indeed! I paid £75 for the double room.
From the moment we arrived the Reception staff were plesant and helpful, the room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The breakfast which was included could not be faulted and all this so close to the city centre.
Have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will certainly book in again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Wow! - thank you so much for your review. We were so pleased to have exceeded your expectations and for your recommendation.

We hope you are able to return again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here one night for a business trip. Its typical of the chain. Car park is hidden around the back and I didn't see any signs to it so found it by following my nose and luck. reception and staff pleasant and welcoming. Executive room was on the corner of the building and so was corner shade but apart from being in need of a lick of varnish on the windowsill it was well set up. Only complaint was that the heating was off when I arrived at 10pm and so the room was freezing. That's not very welcoming! Breakfast was a good buffet with all the bits to make a full Monty. Oh and just remembered I am entitled to a free drink when I arrive as a silver member, and I didn't get one.

So not bad and would stay there again.

Room Tip: stay higher for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Many thanks for your honest feedback- we really appreciate it. We were pleased to read that the team were pleasant and welcoming but disappointed that your room temperature was not right.

Reference your drink, please do accept my apologies and we will ensure we make it up to you next time

Please do return again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed here 2 nights for volunteer training. One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in, including one Hilton. Massive twin room with bath and separate shower in bathroom. All meals were excellent and staff were really conscientious about making sure my food was gluten free. All staff I met were incredibly friendly, helpful and accommodating. Any queries or tiny niggles were resolved quickly and with a smile.

Room Tip: Check parking cost before you come as website isn't clear. I think weekends are different, i.e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank refinnejks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review and for taking the time to post it! The team were genuinely thrilled with your feedback about their service and the hotel.

It is so motivating for everyone to hear about the positives and not jut the 'niggles' - thank you.

We hope you are planning to return again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing