We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value and welcoming staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good value and welcoming staff”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night prior to a family party and booked chiefly because of its location near to the venue. We were very impressed with the welcome, the quality of the room and the service. This is a large hotel and could have been impersonal, but the staff in the reception, the bar and the restaurant made us feel very special. The room was larger than average with a very good bathroom - bath and separate shower - a comfortable bed and large TV. We could easily have spent more time in the hotel and should we need to be on Cardiff again would certainly stay here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Wow, thank you so much for your great feedback. The team were thrilled to share your comments - especially about the 'quality service' and the large bedrooms!

We hope you have reason to return to Cardiff again soon and have the opportunity to use all our facilities

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    800
    322
    126
    81
See reviews for
270
936
75
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Lovely hotel in a great location. The room was great - especially the bath!! I was slightly disappointed that the Jacuzzi was not working during my stay and there was a loud clicking in the steam room (not very relaxing) also there was a hose pipe leading from the wall into the pool which made the bottom end of the pool freezing - again not all that relaxing. Luckily the bath in my room was lovely and the sound system in the bathroom ceiling was a bonus :) I ordered room service and the food was of a good quality and was really hot which is impressive considering I was on the 12th floor. Again breakfast was of a high quality but the tranquility of it was interrupted by a team member (who I assume was the manager) telling off a trainee repeatedly for not setting tables correctly. I think I was simply unlucky and stayed on a bad day.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Many thanks for posting your feedback regarding your recent stay. We were sorry to read that it was a 'little disappointing' and would like to apologise for the Jacuzzi being closed for maintenenace works.
We were though pleased to read you were impressed with our large bedrooms, bathrooms and the quality of the food in the hotel.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations and return to us again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The staff where friendly and very helpful, nice view of the city and very clean and comfortable in my room. would recommend this hotel for a stay in Cardiff.The weather was terrible and was offered an umbrella if i wanted one to get to the city centre.

Room Tip: Higher rooms facing the city nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnejohn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We were all thrilled to read we had exceeded your expecations during your recent stay with us- even if the weather didn't.
We hope it will not deter you from returning to us soon - maybe a relaxing Spring break?

Many thanks

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Have stayed here several times, and last twice we have requested "High, quiet room", and have not been disappointed. Both times have had great, spacious rooms with fabulous views over the Roath / North Cardiff areas. Lovely big bed with quality bedding and a well appointed bathroom.
Excellent value and well located for New Theatre / city centre.

Room Tip: Request high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Many thanks for your recommendation- we really appreicate it. It is great to read you have stayed with us previously and hope we have tempted you to return again soon- check out our loyalty program for all the points you could be earning!

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here for one night in January. It was our second stay at this hotel.
Check in - Very quick and easy.
Rooms - We were very impressed with the room, it was much bigger than we expected. It seemed well maintained, everything worked, we were very pleased with it.
Food - We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel. Cant fault either meal, very enjoyable.
Facilities - We spent a lot of time in the spa area which was clean, inviting and quiet.
Location - Very convenient for the Cardiff shopping centre, just a 5 minute walk away.
Car park - This is probably the only downside to this hotel. the carpark is underground and quite tight to drive around. We were in a Landrover Freelander, I wouldnt want to drive anything bigger in to that car park. There isnt too many parking spaces either.

Overall - We enjoyed the stay and look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: We were on the 14th floor at the front. We had a really good view and would be happy to stay in that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We were so pleased to read you had a 'very nice stay' with us - chef was thrilled you enjoyed both meals too. Thank you so much for your feedback and taking the time to post it

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

if you enjoy complete comfort at the end of the night, then a little light exercise to blow away the previous evening's excesses, then this has to be the best Hotel in Cardiff at this price. And it's all put together by the friendliest staff you'd wish to meet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
It is great to read you are a regular at the hotel and sincere thanks for your great feedback. The team were beaming when they shared your review with everyone today!

We hope to continue to exceed your expectations and look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing