We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for my Hen Weekend. We had 9 lovely bedrooms, breakfast was great with plenty of choice. Michael on reception went out of his way to help with directions etc. If I had to say one poor thing about this hotel it would be that more bar staff are needed when the hotel is full. An excellent weekend was had by all.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EIleenPRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review- and what a review too!
We were thrilled to read that your stay was so enjoyable and described the hotel as 'Fantastic'.


We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,026
    790
    317
    124
    79
See reviews for
266
922
71
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

When visiting Cardiff, this hotel is always my first choice, whether its with my husband and son, with the girlies, or my family! Was so pleased last time with everything as it was exceptional, that i actually wrote a letter to the manager. Was so touched when a card arrived on my doorstop thanking me for my comments. Have stayed in double rooms in the past and family rooms, but by far, on my hen party we were lucky enough to have the Penthouse suite! The room was stunning with such great views.

The staff in the hotel cannot be faulted in one way at all. They are so friendly and nothing is ever too much trouble.My best ever memory was two lovely restaurant staff showing my 8 year old son how to make flowers and candles out of table napkins, and another was a waiter getting my mum up for a little dance in the restaurant while someone played the piano! Food is always amazing and great value for money, and spa treatments are fantastic!

I am going to book a night away in April for my Mum's 60th birthday with my sisters, and have been in touch via email to see what offers are available. They are always quick to reply and attach menu's and spa treatment lists. We are definately going to book afternoon tea as this looks fantastic! Am also hoping to treat my mum to the Penthouse suite if its available as a special Birthday treat, and am sooooo looking forward to spending the night up there!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMichelleE30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Wow! We are not sure what to say other than a BIG thank you for your fantastic review. The team were genuinely thrilled reading your comments and knowing that they had exceeded your expectations again.

We so look forward to welcoming you and your mum back, please do call our reservations team directly so we can ensure we do something special for your mum...

Many thanks again,

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Everything was fine with my stay, it did exactly what it said on the tin. We also went swimming which was good.

Being picky the parking is £12 per night so build that into your cost. The only other thing I noticed was the room looked a little tired.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to post your constructive feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and would like to point out that we do special parking deals over the weekends- £15.00 for the whole weekend!


We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We booked a one night Spa break on-line which included £70 worth of treatments. We rang the Spa to book our treatments a week before arrival to be told the Spa was full - although disappointed, i took this as a good sign that the facilties were popular. I contacted reception (Friday evening) and was told someone would call me back Monday morning to alter my booking. No-one called. On Monday evening my husband emailed and we got a response from Laura to say our booking had been amended and room upgraded to a privilege room on the 12th floor. This in effect saved us £9 on the brochure price. We raised this with Laura - who corrected us that we were actually saving £10 (how very generous) & she deducted a further £10 from our bill.
When we arrived, check-in was very easy, staff were pleasant & welcoming. We changed to go down to use the Jacuzzi to be greeted by an out of order sign. Hence us signing back out of the Spa area within 15minutes. It would have been helpful if someone on main Reception or the Spa Reception had mentioned this to us - we wouldnt have bothered going in at all. Our room had lovely dressing gowns in them - but no slippers that other people seemed to have been given. Ive just looked through the other reviews and note the comments about how dirty the hallway between the changing rooms and the pool area was - it was dirty with bits of wet black dust everywhere - not nice to walk through in bare feet. The whole wet area seemed to need a bit of TLC.
The room was very nice, amazing view but one window pane had a large crack right through it. The bedding was very clean, the bed very comfortable and while the overall standard of cleanliness was good - if you moved the curtains, the window edges and sills were full of furry dust & could have benefitted from a good deep clean.
The best part of the stay, apart from the company, was the restaurant staff & standard of service, which was absolutely exceptional. If you are looking for Michelin standards and acutely professional style - look no further than the Holland House restaurant. The gentleman that waited our table was outstanding. We told reception on our way out just how brilliant he had been & was told he was a new member of staff.... I hope this identifies who you are - we just want to say thank you for making our stay extra special.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We were sorry that you were unable to use the spa facilities on this occassion and really hope we have the opportunity to put it right soon and show you how great we can pamper you- please do contact us when you want to stay again.

Also, a big thank you from our restaurant team, they felt truly honoured to have been mentioned in your feedback especially Arnaldo our new manager

We hope you are able to get away again soon.

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was my first visit to the hotel on a hen night. We had the spa and afternoon tea during the day which was excellent, with impressive facilities.Very helpful reception staff especially Michael who was efficient and professional whilst dealing with our requests. The breakfast was first class and I couldn't fault my stay at the hotel.I would definitely stay again at this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyndaf E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We were so pleased you enjoyed your spa break with us and cannot thank you enough for recommending the hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback - and a special thank you from Mike too!

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel is perfect for a weekend break in Cardiff. The location is great with a maximum 15 minute walk to the city centre attractions. The spa facilities are great for relaxing after a busy day in the city. The breakfast and afternoon tea are also good. The rooms are very spacious with an enormous comfortable bed, well furnished and all very clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review and recommendation. It was great to read you found our location so ideal for your weekend stay and the rooms spacious and comfortable- our beds are new so thank you for the great feedback!

We hope you have reason to return again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here on sat 15th February and after a bit of a blip because the fire alarm went off and we had to go outside we were upgraded to a privilege room on the 12th floor. We were very impressed. It was a very spacious room with a sofa and two chairs and good views. The standard of he room was very good. It was not too far from the shops so a good base.
Not too sure about the bar staff who didn't seem too interested in serving us whilst we waited for our room in the afternoon and when we went for a drink before dinner.
The reception staff however were very good and also in the gym/soa . We thought the gym facilities were excellent and very spacious though it may get very warm in the summer despite having blinds you could pull down.we didn't use the pool but it looked very nice

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We were so pleased to read you had a 'lovely weekend' with us and were impressed with our bedrooms. Your feedback is most appreciated and will help us fine tune our operations.

We hope to welcome you both back again soon and maybe next time you have time use all the facilities

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
2,031 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
2,131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
3,611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing