We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Holland house hotel was a really good base for a hen party weekend, all the rooms were excellent, the bed was so comfy, breakfast was very high quality with plenty of choice, a bit of a walk to the centre but nice weather helped, would definitely recommend :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillybobs2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you so much for your recommendation and feedback. We were thrilled to read that your weekend was enjoyable and found the hotel to be 'Great'!

We hope you have reason to return again soon- the shopping is definitely worth the trip...

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    811
    326
    129
    83
See reviews for
277
949
75
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Staff so helpful. Paid extra for upgrade which was totally worth it. Beds really comfortable . Great stay. Fantastic views from top floor rooms of Cardiff Bay. This is a great hotel for business or for leisure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Wow- thank you so much for your reivew! It was great to read that you found your stay 'excellent' and our new beds really comfy...

We really appreciate you recommending us for business and pleasure and hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Plus Points ,
Arrived at mid day and they still checked us in !!
Free upgrade to Executive Suite on 14th Floor,on corner with total windows on both sides made holiday.....
Bonus that when you stay for more nights,the Parking goes down to a fiver !!

Could do better,
For Hotel of this quality,we expected Bath Gel,more and better range of Tea and Biscuits.
Disappointed that we could only get small range of wraps etc after 1000pm

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Secky17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We really appreciate your constructive feedback and were pleased to read that your upgrade made your holiday. Your comments about our company toiletries and room service menu will definitely be passed on to our head office- thank you,

We really hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

There is nothing I can say about this hotel except fabulous! Great room, great service, super food, and I am trying to think of an excuse to go back as soon as I can. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay despite an early start for work and hope on my next visit to be able to take advantage of the spa facilities. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We were truely thrilled with your feedback and not sure what to say other than a BIG THANK YOU!

We too hope you visit again soon and have the opportunity to try out all our facilities.

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for my Hen Weekend. We had 9 lovely bedrooms, breakfast was great with plenty of choice. Michael on reception went out of his way to help with directions etc. If I had to say one poor thing about this hotel it would be that more bar staff are needed when the hotel is full. An excellent weekend was had by all.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EIleenPRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review- and what a review too!
We were thrilled to read that your stay was so enjoyable and described the hotel as 'Fantastic'.


We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

When visiting Cardiff, this hotel is always my first choice, whether its with my husband and son, with the girlies, or my family! Was so pleased last time with everything as it was exceptional, that i actually wrote a letter to the manager. Was so touched when a card arrived on my doorstop thanking me for my comments. Have stayed in double rooms in the past and family rooms, but by far, on my hen party we were lucky enough to have the Penthouse suite! The room was stunning with such great views.

The staff in the hotel cannot be faulted in one way at all. They are so friendly and nothing is ever too much trouble.My best ever memory was two lovely restaurant staff showing my 8 year old son how to make flowers and candles out of table napkins, and another was a waiter getting my mum up for a little dance in the restaurant while someone played the piano! Food is always amazing and great value for money, and spa treatments are fantastic!

I am going to book a night away in April for my Mum's 60th birthday with my sisters, and have been in touch via email to see what offers are available. They are always quick to reply and attach menu's and spa treatment lists. We are definately going to book afternoon tea as this looks fantastic! Am also hoping to treat my mum to the Penthouse suite if its available as a special Birthday treat, and am sooooo looking forward to spending the night up there!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMichelleE30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Wow! We are not sure what to say other than a BIG thank you for your fantastic review. The team were genuinely thrilled reading your comments and knowing that they had exceeded your expectations again.

We so look forward to welcoming you and your mum back, please do call our reservations team directly so we can ensure we do something special for your mum...

Many thanks again,

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Everything was fine with my stay, it did exactly what it said on the tin. We also went swimming which was good.

Being picky the parking is £12 per night so build that into your cost. The only other thing I noticed was the room looked a little tired.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to post your constructive feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and would like to point out that we do special parking deals over the weekends- £15.00 for the whole weekend!


We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,696 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing