We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Centrally situated high-rise, close to Queen Street station.
We only stayed for 1 night in an executive double on the 14th floor. Check-in staff were pleasant and helpful (especially as out Laterooms booking hadn't arrived) . Wayne was especially helpful making good suggestions about local restaurants and facilities. The room itself was fine, though the enormous windows needed cleaning on the inside. Comfortable bed and nice bathroom.
Underground car parking spaces really too small for our car. Good breakfast (though rather expensive if it isn't part of your package).

Overall, a very good experience that we'd be happy to repeat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Bob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the 14th floor executive room and found our new beds super comfy.

We appreciate you recommending the hotel and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,636 - 1,642 of 2,679 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Whenever I need to spend a few nights in Cardiff then this is always my first port if call. I have stayed here a number of times now and every time it has been an absolute pleasure.

The staff are always 100% professional and helpful no matter how big or small the query.

Breakfast is of very high quality and has such a wide range of choice. I have also ordered room service a number of times and as expected it was delicious.

The last couple of times I have stayed there I have been extremely lucky to have a corner room on the 14th floor which meant that the views from the panoramic windows was amazing!!

The room itself was very spacious, bed on one side seating area the other. The beds are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are big with separate bath and shower.

This place is so good that I have booked it as a surprise for my partner's 40th birthday in August and cannot wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sillybilly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Many thanks for your 'superb' review. We were thrilled to read we are your' first port of call' and hope that you have joined our loyalty program as you will be able to get free upgrades very quickly and automatically!
We all really appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you and your partner back soon- please do ensure we are aware so we can make the 40th birthday surprise even more special...

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed in the Holland House in Cardiff for 1 night on the Wales v Scotland rugby international week end.
Fantastic room on 14th floor (high floor requested) very clean & spacious
Its a shame that tariffs are so much higher on match week ends as the hotels are almost guaranteed to be busy
Staff were helpful & friendly, as we arrived mid morning we were allowed to leave our bags in reception until we returned that evening as check in time was not until 2pm.
good location within walking distance of good pubs & restauants
Directions to car park could have been clearer, difficult to find unless you are familiar with Cardiff's back streets


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Gillian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed the views from the 14th floor and found the staff helpful and friendly.

We do have great offers on throughout the year so keep an eye out and hopefully you will be able to return before next year's rugby games for a very competitive price.

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great room on 14 th floor with amazing views.
Wayne at reception was helpful

terrible food esp if you don't eat meat - processed and fried, and the same most days ( there are only so much tomato pie and chips you can eat)

Also unable to cope with large numbers at breakfast - we were queuing for a good while

Breakfast serving staff were sorely lacking in courtesy ( except for head waiter and chef)

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrDashing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Many thanks for your honest feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay and we are sorry we did not exceed your expectations this time. We were so pleased to read that the room was great and the staff helpful, but appreciate it is frustrating during busy breakfast times and that the food lacked variety for your dietry requirements.
This feedback has been passed on and we hope that next time we can 'wow' you and get a 5* rating.

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here for one night on business. My room was a corner room, with plenty of light and was a very good size. The bed and pillows were comfy and the room was of a very good standard. The bathroom was much better than I would have expected for a hotel in this price range and I was generally very impressed.

First contact with service was not great - couldn't find my booking and wasn't very helpful, but someone else sorted it and everyone else I dealt with was really friendly and helpful.

They have a pretty big gym which was well equipped and others in my party said the pool and sauna were really good.

I thought you got a lot for your money and I thought it was a good place to stay and I would be happy to stay again.

The location is not too bad, but it's not quite in the centre, just a little bit out, but it was only a fiver from Central station in a taxi at rush hour. Queen Street station is nearer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Many thanks for your positive comments and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We were pleased to read that you were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and all the facilities and hope we can tempt you to return again soon

Thanks again

Kind Regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Cardiff is a great location. Hotel is a short stroll from the city's social hub. This is my 3rd stay in this hotel. Excellent service and facilities are quality. Gym and spa provide a perfect place to wind down and relax for the afternoon.


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We were so pleased to read that you have stayed with us previously and found our spa/leisure facilites exactly what you wanted to help 'wind down and relax'. We really appreciate your feedback and you taking the time to post your review too.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon..

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Holland house hotel was a really good base for a hen party weekend, all the rooms were excellent, the bed was so comfy, breakfast was very high quality with plenty of choice, a bit of a walk to the centre but nice weather helped, would definitely recommend :)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillybobs2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you so much for your recommendation and feedback. We were thrilled to read that your weekend was enjoyable and found the hotel to be 'Great'!

We hope you have reason to return again soon- the shopping is definitely worth the trip...

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#18 of 74 in Cardiff
4,031 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £61 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing