We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total disorganised and terrible attitudes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel on the 5th April 2014
Firstly what kind of 4 star hotel doesn't have enough parking to facilitate under half of the hotel? Then have the cheek to charge £5-£12 a night parking fee.
When checking in there was a mistake to our room booking due to no fault of my own, I was spoken to in an absolutely disgraceful manor and the receptionist was so rude and did not even try to resolve this issue.
The food was most certainly not up to 4 star standard, and tasted like microwaved meals.
The drinks where totally over priced £20 for a bottle of wine you have to dilute with lemonade just to be able to drink it.
How this hotel has got 1 star rating is beyond me!!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We were sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us and disappointed with some of your feedback. We are fortunate to have such large secure parking facilites on site- we have one of the largest hotel car parks in the city- and at very competitve prices. Our charges are clearly displayed on websites and on the entrance to the car park as well.
Our food is usually mentioned for all the right reasons and has never been compared to microwave food before- but we appreciate everyone's feedback and would like to take this opportunity to confirm that this is not the case.
Our wine prices also do vary as we have such an extensive selection of wines to choose from which obviously vary in price.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,557 - 1,563 of 2,611 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had an amazing stay in March. The staff were attentive to our room requests and we were given a large room to a high standard. Hotel leisure facilities are very good and the breakfast had so much to offer in the way of hot and cold fresh foods. Would definitely like to stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: We requested a large room with a view and were given just that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

It is so great to read you had an 'amazing stay' with us last month and enjoyed the facilities and food. Thanks so much for posting your review and for recommending the hotel

Hope you plan to return again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mohd I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A huge comfortable clean room with everything you might need! Food was tasty and plentiful at dinner and breakfast though service at dinner was a little unpredictable and it took a long time to receive our bill.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and pleased to read you found our new big beds so comfortable!!
We hope that you have reason return again soon and give us the opportunity to impress you with our dinner service too

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

stayed at this hotel last week, and had a wonderful time. The room was very nice, very clean and we had a great view from our room, breakfast was good and the staff at this hotel are very helpful, thank you. cant wait to come back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

We can't wait for you to return either!!
Thank you for the lovely feedback, we hope you have signed up to our loyalty program to gain all the benefits and offers, so you can return again even more quickly

Kind regards

Marisa Mortoe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank AshW133
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I was at here last week,I had a wonderful time and the rooms where fantastic.
The staff where so friendly and willing to help.
The restaurant was magnificent and clean,
The spa was super.
All in all i had a outstanding time at this hotel.
It was well worth the money and I shall be visting again.
Thanks very much!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reiss d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

The whole team were so pleased to read your review- thank you for your comments.
To be classified as a 'Magnificent Hotel' is a real compliment which we appreciate.

We hope you will return again soon- there are some great Easter promotions at present to tempt you back

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,222 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,951 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £63 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing