We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed one night over Christmas and got a good deal. We had a large room and facilities were good. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice. We had our evening meal in the restaurant because the weather was so bad and found the food to be okay. Hotel is in a good location for exploring what Cardiff has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakestones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean T, Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Bakestones,

Thanks for the review and we're glad to hear you enjoyed the stay over Christmas. We hope we can welcome you back this year!

Regards,
Sean Turton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    780
    314
    123
    77
See reviews for
262
912
70
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

stayed for one night. and was really inpressed with the standard of our room very clean and all you could ask for. the veiw was great and the bed very compy. all staff very nice. would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetwalls233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back again soon to enjoy our fantastic views.

Kind regards
Michelle Howells
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just come back from an amazing stay. I was part of a hen group and had three course meal, breakfast, spa treatment etc. rooms were fantastic, spotlessly clean, shower amazing! Stunning views with the bay. Couldn't fault the food :) All Staff were so welcoming and helpful especially Megan on reception, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy67Poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review and that you enjoyed being pampered as part of the hen weekend. Megan and the team were thrilled to receive a special mention. I do help we can welcome you back again soon, maybe another pamper stay?

Kind regards

Michelle Howells
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here on 24 & 25 April for a meeting and a dinner. The rooms are all very large and have floor to ceiling windows, large bathrooms with separate bath and shower. The windows can mean that they are a little warm when you first get to them if the sun has been out but closing curtains and upping the aircon soon deals with that. The hotel in general is very nice in a good location, the lifts are swift and I never had to wait more than a minute or two for one. The food was very good and bar prices what you would expect. The staff were all very helpful and everything for me ran well there. The room decor is starting to look tired but I am told they are about to start a round of refurbishment. I was on an upper floor and the views were impressive. Because of the layout of the building, adjusting to the maze of corridors is recommended on arrival.

Room Tip: If you want the best views of Cardiff bay and across the city, request to be on a higher floor and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and in particular the fantastic views that we have from the rooms. We are in the process of having some mock rooms completed prior to the refurbishment in the Summer and I do hope that we can welcome you back soon to see the rooms.

Kind regards

Michelle Howells
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We have just got back from a 2 night stay in this hotel, my husband booked the penthouse suite for my 40th and it was a lovely room with wonderful views of Cardiff.
We booked the spa package so breakfast and evening meal were included however as someone has already mentioned the menu was limited and we decided to select from the main menu, however in order to do this we had to pay an extra £10 each which I felt was a bit harsh !!!!
Our waiter in the restaurant Eyup was brilliant and really made our evening.
The spa treatments were fantastic and the staff were really friendly and made you feel welcome. However you must book these in advance as ours were booked for 2pm each day, we tried to make these later in the day however unable to alter due to being fully booked!!!
Don't agree with being charged for parking car at the hotel this is charged at £6 a night.
Overall a fantastic break away and would definitely stay here again and hope that Eyup is still at this hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Happy 40th Birthday once again!

So pleased that you had a lovely stay with us. Thank you so much for your feedback regarding the menu and the car parking, this is something that we continually review with the team.

Eyup was pleased to hear of your feedback and is in integral part ofthe Restaurant team. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Howells
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Mercure Cardiff for a night. At first I thought that this hotel had good facilities. Little did I know that they lack parking spaces although they told me to park there. A Mercedes Benz parked in a PRIVATE space and after I tried to do the same, they told me I couldn't because its saved for paramedics. Bloody hipocrisy! Save your time by going a nearby car park instead. The staff doesn't care and neither should you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Becarefuloneating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you were not happy on this occassion due to the parking problems you encountered. We do only have limited parking in the basement of the hotel and I am sorry that on this occassion you were misinformed about where you could park. I have personally followed this up with the Front Desk team.

I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Michelle Howells
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights, great room very clean and comfy and great views, bed realy nice. Would definitely come back again.staff very good and helpful,food was lovely we had a great stay. Cardiff town 2 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natalee j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDivisionHH, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review, I do hope that we can welcome you back again very soon. If you are not already a member of our great loyalty scheme, Le Club, then please ask when you make your next booking and you can start receiving the great benefits associated with the scheme.

Kind regards

Michelle Howells
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing