We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for couple of days and the whole experience was lovely. The reception was lovely and a nice welcome from the staff. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was huge and so comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and spotless and the towels were to die for. Thoroughly recommend a stay here if you need somewhere to stay in Cardiff. Very near to the shops and bars and a fabulous museum.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean T, Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thanks for your comments Lyn G. I'm glad you had an enjoyable visit and felt the Reception team made you feel welcomed. It's what they love to do. Hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Sean Turton
Dept General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,531)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,451 - 1,457 of 2,532 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Having just stayed at this hotel and upgraded to an executive room on the 8th floor I was disappointed with the standard.
It is supposed to be a 4star hotel but although the room was a lovely size the standard of finish was not. There was a cracked window, damaged bathroom door, loose carpet by the door, ripped cover on the desk chair and green paint or similar on the bed sheet.
I expected better.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Timeaway33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean T, Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Sorry to hear that didn't meet all of your expectations during your stay. The rooms are about to get a complete makeover which I'm sure will address your concerns. That window will also be replaced during this; as you can imagine this is no mean feat being the pane weighs over 200kg and is eight storeys up. We hope you get the chance to come back and experience the changes we will be making.

Warm Regards,
Sean Turton
Dept General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank DeepakChandra
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sean T, Owner at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Wow what a fabulous weekend we had at the Mercure hotel cardiff....this was our second visit at mercure hotel cardiff...every time the services offered by mercure has exceeded our expectation....all the staff were extremely helpful, welcoming, thoughtful and professional. Mercure has excellent location which made our entire stay memorable for us. We would like to thank all the staff specially the general manager who is doing excellent job with the team in maintaining the highest possible standards...We would like to emphasize the hotel staff who was always ready to go the extra mile to make us feel very comfortable and providing us a personalized service. Summarized we enjoyed a hotel on highest luxury level with a exemplary service....we cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, the experience was wonderful and I hope to be back again next time We are in cardiff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JATIN584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean T, Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. It's fantastic to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and in particular the service from the team. I have shared your comments with them as they really appreciate receiving positive feedback. We hope you'll have the opportunity to come back and visit us again soon!

Regards,
Sean Turton
Dept General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night with a party of friends. On arrival, one of our parties' room's wasn't ready so we put all of our stuff in 1 room then walked about the city. All rooms ready when we came back. Lovely and spacious, including the bathroom and it was all exceptionally clean with decent sized bath towels! The bed was so comfortable and with blackout curtains we slept a treat! It was £14 for 24 hour parking which is an extremely small car park given the size of the hotel! This fee was kindly waived due to our rooms not being ready on arrival. Extremely friendly staff, will be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank notgoingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean T, Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Appreciate the review notgoingout and glad we could assist in getting you a good night's rest. The beds have only just been replaced with the rest of the rooms getting a welcome refresh in the very near future. I hope you get the opportunity to come back once we're finished.

Many Thanks,
Sean Turton
Dept General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My sister and I arranged to meet in Cardiff and stay overnight on the anniversary of a Mother's death. We wanted peaceful, cheerful surroundings so we could sit and reminisce. We were delighted with our choice. We had a very large room on the 10th Floor. The views were amazing by day and night. We sat and watched the sun go down and rise over Cardiff. The view extended to the North Devon Coast. We looked down on train lines and busy roads with amazement. Inside the room was spotless, modern and comfortable. We had comfortable single beds, easy chairs, fridge, tea and coffee facilities, a beautiful bathroom with separate shower and bath. The swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna were a bonus. The staff were busy but efficient and very helpful. We would both recommend this hotel. We found it easy to walk (just a few minutes) to the main centre of Cardiff.

Room Tip: If you like good views ask for a high floor, there are four working lifts.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshtripper100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean T, Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, facilities and service from the team. We love the view from the rooms too particularly at that time of the day! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Sean Turton
Dept General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed one night over Christmas and got a good deal. We had a large room and facilities were good. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice. We had our evening meal in the restaurant because the weather was so bad and found the food to be okay. Hotel is in a good location for exploring what Cardiff has to offer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaGR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean T, Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Bakestones,

Thanks for the review and we're glad to hear you enjoyed the stay over Christmas. We hope we can welcome you back this year!

Regards,
Sean Turton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
3,855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
2,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £65 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing