We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised - will certainly return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
East Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised - will certainly return”
Reviewed 29 September 2008

I booked the Mercure on the basis of tripadvisor reviews. Just to clarify, there is pay-and-display on street parking directly behind the hotel which is £3.00 for 10 hours and free overnight till 9am. (hotel parking is £12 per 24 hours)

Checked in around 9.30pm and had to literally battle our way past half a wedding reception who'd chosen to use the front entrance as their smoking area and it looked a mess. I know how hard it can be to round up drunken revellers, but had the hotel a dedicated smoking area for the function suite then this wouldn't be a problem. I said as much to the front desk staff who were polite and understanding and took my comments on board. Not only that, the receptionist gave us a complimentary room upgrade to make up for it, which certainly shut me up.

The room was very well appointed, spacious and with amazing views. The decor was tasteful if a little tired. On the whole it was very comfortable and pleasant. Breakfast was a revelation, served till 11 which was a bonus, the breakfast room itself was absolutely heaving, but this was not reflected in the attitude and attentiveness of the staff, nor the food quality, all of which were exceptional. Plates were cleared instantly and unobtrusively. and in spite of the hubub, we felt relaxed and under no obligation to hurry. It is one of if not perhaps the best quality hot breakfast we've had in a hotel. Having worked in a Hilton hotel and being very familiar with 4* high volume hotel breakfast catering, I can only say I have no idea how they manage to produce sugh a high standard hot buffet.

Our only dissapointment was the fact that the hot tub was out of order. Other guests were commenting that it had been such since May, which is not really acceptable.

On the whole, this is a professionally-run hotel in a great location and for the £100 b&b rate we had, excellent value. We will definitely return.

  • Liked — the huge windows and view from the room
  • Disliked — the hot tub being out of order
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissPhirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    836
    337
    133
    86
See reviews for
286
978
78
497
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chipper127
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Was invited to a Charity function with an over night stay, was not impressed by the hotel building very 70s, but what a pleasant suprise, great receptionist,fantatasic room, view not that great but with a bed,bathroom seating area all very clean and very nice decoration who cares, the dinner was really good mass catering can be very hit and miss but this was good and i mean good, sevice was attentive the meal was hot tasty the surounding were very pleasant even my wife said the house wine was very good.
we had a great evening, the bed was very comfy the shower was super well i could go on and on, breakfast was very good great choice all in all a wonderful stay. parking i think could be a problem but we were directed around the corner to a pay and display that was free. the only thing i would say i didnt pay the the bill so value for money i dont know, but we will be visiting cardiff to see my daughter ant uni and i will be staying at the holland house, what ever it costs.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamTurners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We were only in Cardiff for 1 night and would definately stay here again, this place was just what we needed for the 1 night. The rooms were very comfortable and we had greats views of Cardiff from our room, leaving the curtains open at night to gaze over the city lights.
The bell boy was extremely helpful and did everything to go out of his way to help us.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FordyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

I had previously stayed here on business roughly once a month for a period of about 18 months ending about 16 months ago.
I allways rated it highly and easily the best hotel I ever stayed in for business.
Therefore when I needed to find somewhere in the South Wales area for an anniversiary break with the family I thought it would be good to go back and see how it had changed under the new ownership (and they were doing a very good Summer Break offer).
The answer is...it has changed very little. Check-in was quick and friendly. I had mentioned our anniversiary and asked for a room as high up as possible so was pleased to be on the 14th (highest) floor. As we were 2 adults/children we had the delux room with the sofabed and 180deg view. As before there were 2 complimentary bottles of mineral water.
The bed was big and very comfortable, the bathroom had a deep double-ended bath, a separate shower and several nice toiletries. Breakfast was easy and plentiful with lots of choice and good quality. Swimming pool was quite large, hot and not too busy.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but the menu looked very good, if a bit pricey. As I knew the underground parking cost/situation I parked easily at a pay and display on the road at the back of the hotel for £3 a day. Check-out was again quick and easy.
There were just a few small niggles that together stopped it getting 5 stars. There were no biscuits on the tea try the first day and only one the second day - for 4 people I think they could do a bit better! The TV remote did not seem to work properly and the internet access did not seem to work at all. I had to remind them to make the sofabed up for the children. The jacussi by the swimming pool was not working. Finally, someone had mentioned getting a note/fruit for their anniversiary but we didn't.
But overall it was a very relaxing stay, all staff were friendly and it's close enough to the city centre to walk easily without being noisy. We would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — View, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — No biscuits!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

We normally stay in the Park Plaza when we visit Cardiff and at the time, per trip advisor feed back this was still the number 1 choice. However, Park Plaza does not have suites and I fancied a bit of luxury and a bit of a treat so we tried this hotel for a change as we had heard good reports. I wish we'd stuck to the Park Plaza!

I suppose it depends what you're used to, but even though we had a suite on the "penhouse" floor, which sounded really exciting, and had amazing views across Cardiff (you need a head for hights up there) the decor seemed dated and the room, with a large seperate sitting area, seemed bare. The bar and restaurant were also in need of some tlc and updating.

To sum up, I would have preferred a lovely large room in the center of Cardiff in the Park Plaza to the very large suite in this hotel.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Dated interior
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimPembrokeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

My wife, son and I stayerd one night for our son's graduation, booking two rooms at a special deal rate of £70 each including breakfasts.

On arrival we were told the hotel was fully booked and asked if we'd mind surrendering our two rooms in exchange for the Presidential Suite! No-brainer!

The hotel has very good facilities and is well-located. Parking in the underground car park is secure and seems good value at £12 per 24 hours - one you've found the entrance. Breakfast was what one would expect from a 4 star hotel - not haute cuisine, but perfectly acceptable. Staff were pleasant and unfussy.

There's very little to complain about. Parts - including the Presidential Suite - are obviously due for refurbishment but nevertheless clean. A tripped RCB was promptly seen to. And as others have said, perhaps more effort could be made to clean the windows, since the panoramic views from the 15th floor are stunning and would be more so if not partially obscured by the splodges!

An absolutely first-class hotel? - probably just short.

Anything significantly better in Cardiff? - probably not.

Would we recommend it? - definitely yes.

  • Liked — Location and facilities
  • Disliked — Some rather faded areas in need of refurbishment
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chilternwelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

The standard of a hotel cannot be judged by the appearance of the building from the outside. It is judged almost completely by the service received by the guests.
The Mercure Holland House is a classic case in point. From the outside it looks like a 1960s office block, which is exactly what it was designed as. It's a lot nicer on the inside, although still nothing special.
No, this hotel is special because of the great service offered by the well-trained staff, along with their extraordinary politeness and courtesy. They simply could not do enough for us and we were always greeted with a smile.
The pool was great too, as were the views from the 12th floor!
Take a bow Mercure, you made our stay in Cardiff very special.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The £12-a-day parking fee
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Slingerlud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,795 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#12 of 74 in Cardiff
2,131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing