We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Judgement Day ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night to watch Judgement day.
What a lovely hotel! I decided to upgrade the rooms which were lovely and spacious and have amazing views, if it hadn't have been pouring it down they would have been even better, but hey we can not control that! :)
The staff we encountered were all very professional and friendly, from checking in to checking out.
Major upside is that there is under ground parking if you arrive early enough, which is great.
A few minutes walk from the town centre. So a perfect stay! I will recommend this hotel to everyone when they visit Cardiff.
Thank you once again, we will look forward to returning very soon x

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank x-soph20-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

The team were so pleased to read that you had a great stay and have recommended our hotel- thank you!

We hope that the weather will be splendid too next time you visit Cardiff...

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,502 - 1,508 of 2,606 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the centre of the town. I booked a superior room and got a room on the 11th floor with an amazing panoramic view of cardiff with two of the walls being glass. The pool was a bonus. Only downside was that there is no computer for guests to do check in so I had to get the front desk to do it for me. Whilst the guy on duty was very helpful his supervisor was more reluctant. No need to book breakfast as starbucks right next door.

Room Tip: Get a high room and upgrade to superior for a small amount it is worth itm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0lidaydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Many thanks for posting your feedback about your recent stay. We were thrilled to read you found our location so perfect and the rooms great- the pool is also a big favourite of mine too!

We hope you have reason to return to Cardiff again soon..

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for five days for business. Given the top floor suite which was a great bonus. Some aspects of the room a little tired and great view was spoiled by dirty windows and a cracked (but repaired window). The suite was huge but furnishing was minimal and the desk area was poor if you planned to do a lot of work. Wifi was ok in living area but poor in bedroom.
Housekeeping failed to show up one day and left towels on the floor the next.
The menu in the restaurant is not large but the food was very good. Bar area large with plenty of seating. Breakfast was buffet for 10 pounds extra.
Reception were polite and helpful.
It is a short walk (8 minutes) into the centre of Cardiff and is away from the rowdy end with the bars and clubs.
Didn't get to use the spa so cannot comment.
All in all probably good value if you get the prices I have seen online

Room Tip: Higher the better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank playasdelcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write your honest feedback about your stay with us. We take on board your comments regarding the tiredness of the rooms and are pleased to advise we are about to commence a very exciting refurbishment -soon....
We hpoe that your issue with housekeeping was raised during your stay and addressed effectively and promptly.

We really hope to be able to exceed your expectations next time, please do let us know when you are returning as it would be great to get your comments on the 'new' rooms.

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have been to this hotel before for a spa day but this is the first time I have stayed at the hotel. It was a special occasion and I was hoping it would be a memorable one too. From the moment I arrived to the moment I left I have nothing but praise. The hotel reception, room, meal,spa afternoon tea etc we're all to a high standard and the staff couldn't do enough for you. I would highly recommend this hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmo440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Wow!- thank you so much for your lovely comments. The staff were thrilled to read the great feedback about their service and that you have highly recommended the hotel.

We hope you have joined our loyalty program as we have some great offers coming out soon...

Hope we get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Loved the wall to wall picture windows, amazing room , thanks! A bargain! Super comfy bed, soft crisp sheets, luxury pillows! Shame the same could NOT be said in bathroom! Cheap loo roll, ugh. Worn thin cheap towels and only shampoo! No shower gel cap or conditioner! So take your own! That was a shame! Nice bar, stayed open late. Couple we were with had baileys at bar think it was £5 for a tiny 25ml thimble full! Bit tight?? Is that normal? Anyway have stayed here before and for £60 odd its a bargain! Def recommend, easy walk to centre! Thanks x click like x joy

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean T, Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hi rockySouthWales, thanks for posting a review. I enjoy the views from both apsects in our rooms too! The prices in the bar are correct but you get a double (50mL) for your money. Glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Sean Turton
Dept General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Came to watch heineken cup with friends . Hotel ok for the money we paid. Didn't have brekkie we ate out. Rooms a bit dated and could do with some new furniture but bed comfy and bathroom clean.
Good base to explore Cardiff and area.
Pool was ok, shame the jacuzzi wasn't working .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Pinfold31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean T, Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. Not long to go until the rooms get new furniture and I hope you get a chance to return once it's been done. I hope you enjoyed the weekend and the result was in your team's favour.

Many Thanks,
Sean Turton
Dept General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,215 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,946 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £63 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing