We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very dissapointed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I've stayed in many hotels over the years and this has to rank the worst. The cleanliness of the hotel was extremely poor. Our room consisted of dirty bed sheets, a sticky table and stained carpet. I would not recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MinnMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We were so disappointed to read your feedback and even more concerned that you chose not to raise such serious concerns with the hotel at all during your stay .

We have a special 2424 hotline for all our guests to report any and every concern, the collateral is in every bedroom and on the front desk too. We always have a manager on duty as well to attend to any needs our guests might have, so we are genuinely confuesed as to why you did not contact anyone during your stay.


We would like to discuss these comments further with you directly and will also revert back to Trip to pass on our concerns too

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    780
    314
    123
    77
See reviews for
262
912
70
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Have stayed here severall times throughout April and May with work and think the hotel is great. The gym is excellent, though a tad small so there can be a wait for the treadmills, as are the pool and sauna/steam room. Staff have always been excellent, polite and friendly - even in extreme circumstances such as X-Factor auditions and lifts breaking down (which when i'm on the 14th floor can be extremely tiring and negates the need for the gym haha). Always request this hotel when staying on business and will also use for leisure in the future whenever I'm in Cardiff. Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flywaspmetaphor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Wow! many thanks for your positive feedback. The team were delighted to read and share your comments with the team. We really appreciate your recommendation for both business and pleasure and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Loved this hotel.
Had a privilege room that looked out across Cardiff. The whole hotel was absolutely spotless, the staff were friendly and really helpful. Our room had a minibar that was restocked with complimentary snacks daily and a safe that you code yourself. The breakfast literally has everything you could think of.
The spa was brilliant too. The pool was a little bit cold but not unbearable, the changing rooms were spotless and had hairdryers and lockers. Theres no hidden costs with this hotel, its in a great location for shopping in town and has local bars a walk away if that's your thing.
Would definitely recommend, worth the money 100%

Room Tip: go with the privilege rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you from us all, we were so thrilled you had a 'brilliant stay' and chose to share your feedback too!

We really appreciate you recommending us and hope that you have reason to return again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Have stayed in many hotels in Cardiff over the last few years but this was my first visit to the Mercure. Stayed overnight with four friends for a college reunion. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we had nothing but excellent service from the staff. The rooms (standard - which I found hard to believe!) were on the higher floors with outstanding views and were very large and spacious with everything you could need. (we intend to come back for a couple of days during the summer and although the rooms were excellent, we are all tempted to try the upgraded rooms!) We arrived back late after a meal out in Cardiff and were greeted by smiles and our request for nightcaps was dealt with promptly. The breakfast could not be faulted (my requested poached eggs were beautiful and served quickly)and when I requested 'gallons of coffee' -I indeed did have a very large pot served with a smile! We made our way to the pool later which was very pleasant. There was a fire alarm on leaving the pool, but we were then offered complimentary coffee and tea with delicious little Welsh cakes and the staff could not apologize enough for the inconvenience. So all in all- a great find and extremely reasonable

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 573annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We were so pleased you chose to stay with us when you recently visited Cardiff and thrilled with your feedback. Thank you so much for posting your review and recommending the hotel and the team!

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.....

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Love, love, love this hotel. Had a privilege room on the 12th floor. Room nice size, nespresso machine, free soft drinks, bathrobe, Slippers, super king bed which was really comfy with nice pillows, extra pillows etc in wardrobe if needed. Nice towels, toiletries etc. Had breakfast on site in Hodges restaurant and it was delicious. Quite expensive but was given a 2 for 1 deal on check in which made it an absolute bargain for the quality of food. Full English, pastries, large selection of fruit, tea/coffee, every fruit juice you could ever want and cereal. The staff were polite and friendly. About 300 metres from Queen Street. Really enjoyed our stay, thank you very much.

Stayed 30/05/14 1 night booked in partners name (Summers)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margateiscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review- the team read your comments numerous times as they were so pleased to have exceeded your expectations!

We cannot wait to welcome you back again to the hotel, do let us know when you are returning so we can ensure you get a room with a view...

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing