We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Following reviews we were a bit wary of booking but for the rate we could not refuse a quick getaway.
We have stopped in several hotels in Cardiff but this was one of the best we have encountered.
What made this was the quality of the rooms, it was big well appointed and clean.
Check in was painless and were allowed to check in early.
The spa was excellent and clean. All staff were friendly and welcoming.
I see from the reviews people have complained about the parking charges, unfortunately parking in Cardiff is not great and comparing to Hilton (£20 a night) and Park Plaza (£18 a night). £12 is not that bad. I’m sure if you are prepared to park out of town and walk you will be able to though.
We didn’t eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food.
You would think the review would be heading for 5* but were a couple of issues that stopped me. I am a light sleeper so could hear some traffic noise, so I would ask for a room at the back. The external windows needed cleaning. The air con worked well but was a bit loud. The shower pressure was adequate but could have been stronger. Whilst the room was clean some of the fixtures were worn and needed replacing.
As a note you are closer to City Road than the town centre so if you are looking for something to eat you may want to use TA to locate somewhere there. I would recommend and will be likely to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhooseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean T, Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to provide a comprehensive review of your stay. I'm sure that other travellers will benefit from and appreciate your comments. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team here as they to enjoy hearing what our guests are saying about their great service.

Thanks again and we hope you get a chance to come back to Cardiff soon!

Warm Regards,
Sean Turton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,095
    836
    339
    133
    86
See reviews for
287
979
78
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Amazing room with lots of space and fantastic views! Very helpful and friendly staff. Will definitely be staying there again! Very close to all the shops and short walk to a small station for trains to the lovely and lively Cardiff Bay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean T, Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and it was our pleasure to look after you. If you love the rooms now I'm sure you'll be impressed once they have been refurbished later in the year! If get the opportunity we would love to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,
Sean Turton
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is location within walking location of Queen Street mall. We stayed in a corner studio and was impressed with the quality of the services offered and the standard of staff. We only had breakfast which was impressive.
We can recommend this hotel

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Russellsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks for your feedback and for taking the time to post it too. The team were pleased to read your comments and appreciate you recommending our hotel.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon..

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A conveniently located hotel with adequate underground parking. My room was fantastic with windows on two sides allowing views of the city, hills and the Bay. The bed was very comfortable and the room nice and quite.
I found the staff to be helpful and very friendly. Breakfast offered plenty of choice and was particularly enjoyable. Dinner was good overall but I wouldn't rave about the steak, but I expect meat to be very good and would admit to being hard to please with food.
I will certainly use the Mercure again when I'm in Cardiff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's on the upper floors and with views to two sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for the positive feedback!
We were thrilled to read that you found the 'room fantastic, our new beds really comfortable and the staff friendly/helpful'.

We hope you have reason to return again soon and maybe next time you can take advantage of our leisure facitilies too

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,797 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#12 of 74 in Cardiff
2,132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing