We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week on business. Huge room, very comfortable bed and great breakfast. Friendly staff. Very good standard of cleanliness. Also use of gym and swimming pool included. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review and the 5* feedback. We are thrilled you have recommeded the hotel and had a great stay

Hope you have reason to come back to stay again- maybe leisure next time....

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    811
    326
    129
    83
See reviews for
277
949
75
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here last weekend. We were able to check in early which saved a lot of messing. We were in room 603 which had two sides of the room of just windows, we had amazing views of cardiff and the mountains in the distance. The room was very spacious, queen bed, desk, t.v., chair, table and two seater sofa. The bathroom had separate bath and shower, the bath was very deep.
It was less than a 5 minute walk into Cardiff city centre which was great. We tried the pool, a bit cool for my liking, the sauna and steam room were lovely.
We had an evening meal - which was fantastic, I highly recommend the confit cod !
There was a deal on the breakfast so we got two for one. It was a mixture of traditional english, continental (cheese and ham), cereals, fruit, toasts/jams.

Down sides

There was a large wedding event going on on the ground floor, the noise was very loud in the restaurant whilst we were eating. We could still hear some of it when we got to our room (6th floor), however that stopped around 12 so it wasn't too bad.

No hairdryer in the room. I thought there would be seeing as though it had an ironing board in there so my hair was still wet after going to the pool.

Room Tip: 603 and any of the floors above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaPodiatry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and for your feedback. We are so pleased you found the room fantastic and enjoyed dining with us too- definitely put a smile on chef's face!.

Reference the hairdryer all our rooms should have one and we are sorry that it was missing from your room; reception should also keep spares too - just in case

Thanks again for your comments, hope you are able to return to us again in the near futures

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

stayed here for the cardiff tattoo and toy convention, stayed for 2 nights. me and my partner really enjoyed our stay. nice big rooms, comfy beds, lovely view. only criticism would be the carpets could be modernized but that didnt affect our stay at all. would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: ask to be placed in on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adelesmith89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
'Loved ' your review- thank you! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the convention you were attending at the hotel

Reference the carpets- appreciate your comments- we are undergoing a refurbishment at present and have a new lovley warm colour scheme going in the rooms- including the carpet...

Hopefully you will return again soon and let me know your thoughts on the new decor

Kind regards


Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

14 of us descended on this place as part of a Stag Do and the hotel staff were excellent at processing all of us into our respective rooms!

All rooms were excellent with all the facilities working, however only criticism comes as we were staying in twin rooms. The beds were configured in the style of a double, we separated our beds and found alot of dust and muck on the carpet where the bed had been. This is the only complaint that we have and we wee only in the room for about 6 hours in total, 5 of which were asleep!

Would stay here again, however we got a superb deal through our Stag Do agent. Looking at the prices if we were to just turn up then I think £174 for a weekend room is far to much!!

Good location for Cardiff city centre, about a 5 minute walk to town and 10 minute walk to the bus and train station.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G8XYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thanks for your review, we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your fun weekend in Cardiff and found the hotel a 'great place to stay'


Reference the bed configuration we can only apologies that it was not set up to your requirements but houskeeping are on standby 24/7 should you ever need anything again in the future

We look froward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in vity centre of Cardiff 2 min Walk. Gteat shops and resturants. Hotel could not have done more to help. No problem with wheel chair doors widen, staff very helpfull, manager was very considerate.

Great place great city great hotel great people.

Donot forget you get charged 5p for bags.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your review- we were all pleased to read your comments:-

Great place, great city, great hotel, great people !!

Not much more to say other thank you again

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed for four nights at the hotel in July. The location is excellent and the view from our room was stunning. The staff was very friendly and we were able to have a (very) early check in, which was great for us. The breakfast was excellent and the restaurant was nice as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferdagarpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
We were so pleased to read you had a 'lovely' stay with us in July and found breakfast excellent and the restaurant good too.

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback- we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here & checked in at 1pm only to be told that our room wouldn't be ready until 2pm. This was not a problem as we had bought our swimwear with us so we left our luggage with reception & headed to the spa. The pool was cold & the jacuzzi was lukewarm not warm enough to feel properly relaxed. The sauna & steam room were nice however I was disappointed to find no private changing chambers in the changing rooms so had to resort to getting changed in a toilet cubicle as it was busy in the changing rooms. At 2.30pm our room was still not ready to be checked into which I was a bit annoyed at as we paid a lot of money to stay here. Finally at 3pm it was ready. Big airy spacious & quiet room with a lovely & comfortable queen size bed & the bathroom was lovely with a seperate bath & shower. But the room was booked for 2 people & looked as if it had only been made up for 1...just 1 set of toiletries & only 1 teaspoon & the loo roll holder was lose & fell very easily from the wall. We ring reception to request some cutlery & almost an hour later it still hadn't arrived. We each had a back neck & shoulder massage which was lovely but not long enough. The treatment time was supposed to be 30 minutes but I had 15 - 20 minutes. I don't see the need for the relaxation room...for £38 I would much rather more time spent on the actual massage. But the therapist was lovely & the products were divine. Afternoon tea was also very nice. This hotel is very clean & luxurious but it is also very expensive & I feel that the Hilton Newport offers a much more dedicated service at a more affordable price. If the points I mentioned above are rectified & the price is affordable then yes I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmj361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to post your constructive feedback and were disappointed to read that we did not exceed your expecation on this occassion. We wish you had raised these issues during your stay so we could have addressed them for you and show you how passionate we are to deliver our guests expectations

Please do let us know when you are returning next as we would like the opportunity to upgrade you and show you what we can really do- my contact number is below

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
07908 140 412
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,696 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing