We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right product. Right price. Wrong people.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,530)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,310 - 1,316 of 2,530 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Enjoyed a good 2 nights stay here , this hotel is ideally situated close to all the shops and bars in Cardiff .
Rooms are gorgeous and big with great views over Cardiff
Breakfast is lovely and tasty
staff are very friendly indeed , you can have a good chat with them
my wife enjoyed the swimming pool

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank russellh731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

We were thrilled to read you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us and found the hotel ideally situated, rooms spacious and the team friendly. Thank you so much for posting your great feedback and hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel one night and had a spa day the following day. The hotel is clean, modern and conveniently located although the hotel is part of a chain it has a warm feel to it. The room we had was a corner room on a high floor with an amazing view of the City Centre-worth paying extra for. The spa facilities the changing rooms were clean and staff were nice. We had a very relaxing stay and would revisit.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank JESS1C4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your positive feedback. It was great to read that you had a relaxing day in the spa and found the hotel views stunning from your superior room.

Hope you have reason to return for another break soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

we have just returned from a 2 night stay at Holland house. I have stayed here several times in the past and it never disappoints. I like the higher floor rooms as there is a brilliant view. this time we looked at the bay. the staff are really very friendly and extremely helpful from the reception staff to Eyup and Susanna in the restaurant , we ate in each night as the food is always so good and did not want to go back into Cardiff at night. I ask for fresh milk . it arrived within 5 minutes. I thought our kettle didn't work, they replaced it right away when actually it was me being thick, I had not put the door card in the slot which turns all the electric on. even so they were very polite about it !! although we did not use the pool this time we have in the past and its a nice facility in a city hotel. the parking is on site which makes it very easy and convenient especially if you have been shopping !!! the breakfast buffet is very well stocked. with fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, pastries and a good selection of ingredients for a full English breakfast. a continental breakfast is also available. plenty of fresh juices, tea and coffee . and plenty of bread , jams, and spreads too. there is very little to complain about in fact there isn't anything. the only suggestion I would make would be a selection of cakes to buy with a coffee or a pot of tea in the afternoons. although the complimentary welsh cakes were much appreciated. have yet to use the spa. but I am working on that one.

Room Tip: the higjher rooms have good views.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clareamanda o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Wow, thank you for your 5 star review. The team were truly thrilled with your feedback and so pleased that you returned to stay with us again.

Do look out for our spa packages as there are some great deals out there and you won't be disappointed with our range.

Hope we have tempted you to come back soon....

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel is situated on the edge of Cardiffs amazing shopping district,a 5 minute walk from the station and only a couple of kilometres from Cardiff Bay. The Hotel is large and modern with a great pool and Spa facilities. Our room on the 10th floor was big and roomy with amazing views from the large picture windows.The bed was huge a very comfy and the bathroom was lovely.The room had a safe ,tea and coffee making facilities and free wi-fi was available everywhere in the building.The staff we had dealings with couldn't have been more helpful , especially the guy that checked us in. If you can, book a deal that includes breakfast , because the normal price is £16 pp,although they did have a special offer of £10 pp when we were there. All in all a great choice for a weekend break to Cardiff , but do shop around online for the best deal, as prices varied considerably

Room Tip: Ask for an external corner room on a high floor , you can see all over the city and down to the bay.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pablo560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you so much for posting your review and for the great feedback. Our Privilege rooms do have some amazing views across the city and bay and are currently being refurbished too.

We are so pleased to have exceeded your expectations and hope that you will have reason to Return to Cardiff again soon.


Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here for one night of our tour. Staff were pleasant and the room was excellent. We had a Queen plus single bed. The room was large with a desk and chair plus 2 armchairs and a table. There was a fridge and safe. Plenty of storage and very comfortable beds.
The bathroom had a separate shower and tub. We had excellent views from the 8th floor.

Breakfast was very good with lots of choice including the very addictive sausages.

Great hotel with a good location in Cardiff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

We were so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found the beds comfy and the views great too.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review- I know what you mean about the sausages- too tasty!!

Hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
3,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
3,853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#12 of 74 in Cardiff
2,165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £64 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing