We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid evening's rest...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
302 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Splendid evening's rest...”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Thank you to Cardiff's Mercure Holland House for a nice evening's rest. At first, we were doubtful. It seems an alarm was going off on our 4th floor wing for the room across the hall, but without a complaint, the problem was solved by evening. Our room was a special assist room, and I found the extra helps in the back to be problematic for me, for they take up such space in the tub. No shower, and extra helps attached to the commode. We had no need for the extra helps, but it was no problem.

Very nice breakfast the morning of departure. Thank you for a good evening.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrcabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We were thrilled to read you had a 'splendid evenings rest' with us and enjoyed our breakfast offering.

Please do let us know when you are returning to Cardiff again so we can ensure you have the correct room type you require.

Sincere thanks again

Regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    812
    326
    129
    83
See reviews for
277
950
75
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Spent the night here for our anniversary, we had a great stay, Wayne & Micheal on the front desk were great very helpful and polite. The room was very spacious and clean, furniture a little tired but I suppose that's to be expected unless you visit a new hotel, food was great in the restaurant (could of been a little bigger portions) very tasty and great friendly service from the waiting staff. Spa staff also great, we thoroughly enjoyed our massage.
Will definately stay here again, made our 1st Anniversary one we won't ever forget

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Slinksta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
We were so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary celebrations with us and have recommended the hotel, food and team- many thanks

Please do let us know in advance of any special occassions when you returm next time as we would welcome the opportunity to do something extra for you both...

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Overall poor,shame as staff very good.
Ridiculous price drinks,breakfast very poor,place smells of chlorine from pool in entrance and first floor. Windows need cleaning badly .
Stayed 3 days and bed not changed!
No vase for a bunch of flowers.

Room Tip: Don't bother if others available,no good views really
See more room tips
Green Features: Ok couldn't really judge. No obvious good or bad.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Many thanks for posting your constructive feedback. We are sorry that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay and even more so that we did not have the opportunity to address it whilst you were with us. We do have a 2424 service in place for our guests to contact the manager on duty 24 hours a day with any concerns or requirements.

If you would like to discuss your feedback any further my contact details are listed below

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
07908 140 412
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stay of 4 nights, , lovely staff very accommodating, especially for companion who is a wheelchair user,cannot fault the hotel at all, breakfast buffet offered variety, ( cannot comment on Restaurant for evening meal as I did not use it) very clean hotel, comfortable beds, room service daily,very close to shopping mall, overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twilight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Many thanks for your feedback and taking the time to post your review. We were so pleased to read you had a 'lovely' stay and felt welcomed at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This was a good hotel with an excellent location - only a few minutes walk to Cardiff pedestrian shopping center.However inside it was like a rabbit warren with extremely small windy corridors. Once we found our room it was huge and had great views towards the harbour BUT the first thing you see as you walk in the room are 2 very grubby armchairs and the windows were filthy and one had a big crack in it.
They do provide hairdriers, but these are hidden in the secret desk drawer which the reception staff were tired of telling everyone about. The staff were friendly and tried to be helpfull but overall I don't think I would return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suki49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
We were sorry that we did not exceed your expectations during our recent visit to our hotel. We have shared your feedback with the team and would like to advise that the window pane which was damaged is already in the process of being replaced. We have just started an exciting refurbishment of the bedrooms with two floors already complete. We are confident that should you return we would definitely be able to 'wow' you with the room decor...

Hope you enjoyed your time in the UK

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Enjoyed a good 2 nights stay here , this hotel is ideally situated close to all the shops and bars in Cardiff .
Rooms are gorgeous and big with great views over Cardiff
Breakfast is lovely and tasty
staff are very friendly indeed , you can have a good chat with them
my wife enjoyed the swimming pool

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russellh731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa M, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
We were thrilled to read you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us and found the hotel ideally situated, rooms spacious and the team friendly. Thank you so much for posting your great feedback and hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Marisa Morteo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 73 in Cardiff
3,696 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing