We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - barely anything else one could ask for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Too bad it was only for a couple of nights. The design of the hotel from the lobby to the restaurant to the room was very contemporary and spacious. The location was within walking distance of the shopping district in Central Cardiff.
The staff were very friendly and even provided an ethernet cable for use in the room. Wired internet is free in the room while you have yo pay for wi-fi in the public areas such as the lobby. Staff were welcoming and helpful, offering to call for taxis upon leaving the hotel for the evening and upon check-out.
Didn't get a chance to check out the fitness centre and the swimming pool, though I know they exist. The food was excellent and would recommend people get their breakfast included as it's all-you-can-eat and can get your money's worth.
The room itself was more spacious than expected as it included a couple of extra chairs for watching tv or eating as opposed to using the bed. Found it really difficult to find the switch though for the lamps beside the desk - was really far away (near the washroom) and didn't make sense to me why it was there. The bed was really comfortable and spacious and had no problems sleeping. The windows (as commented already by others) could definitely use some work as they were dirty and would always be an issue when taking a picture of the city. One window was even had a crack mark like in a windshield. The washroom was very nice with a separate tub and shower.

Definitely my first option when I return to Cardiff!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 84paladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,301 - 2,307 of 2,555 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2009

I booked a spa break for this hotel through a spa website. It was a christmas gift for my mum and what a wonderful choice! I had upgraded to a suite and had called ahead to ask for the best room possible as it was a gift. When we arrived they had given us the presidentail suite, which was amazing. Everything here was great. We each had 2 treatments wich were very good, we also ate in both of the nights and the meals were wonderful as was breakfast. The hotel does not look very attractive from the outside but it is a different story on the inside where it is clean and modern with wonderfull views and great facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMPitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Our trip was a surprise birthday for my sister, found the hotel easily from London, nice building from outside even though it did represent an office building. Rooms from the 10th floor upwards have the best views of Cardiff. (i was on the 7th floor). Nice room size with a WICKED corner suite which i had throughly enjoyed.
Fanastic spa treatments available at reasonable prices, however, ensure you book treatments well in advance before you arrive at hotel, they get very busy at weekends. Had a facial out of this world, my siser had a pedicure which she also enjoyed. The guys had massages and were truly relaxed and energized for the rest of the day. Sauna, Jacuzzi (to much chlorine), gym and swimming pool also available and were great.
Restaurant in the evening was disappointing booked table for 8.15pm was not served with meal (starter) until 9pm, not sure how long we waited for main course but kitchen closed before we could order dessert.
On the whole would recommend another trip to couple/friends.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sexymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Delicious breakfast and great service.
Wonderful view from 1403.
Lovely suite.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuroConnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I agree with most of the other comments about the hotel. Helpful staff, great location, generally very clean and a great view from the 14th floor. Breakfast was very good with a great choice and good service (mostly self service though). The one poor area was the restaurant for dinner. Bar prices are very high and the waiters spoiled what could have been a pleasant meal. The food was quite good and a reasonable choice but our order was not taken down properly and the wrong main course served. The steamed pudding ordered for dessert was served uncooked but on a very hot plate - how do they manage that? We ate out on the other evenings (take a taxi to Mermaid Quay).

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crispin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We were here for two nights and we enjoyed them immensely. Location is excellent, the rooms (we were on the 14th floor) are excellent with fantastic views across the city to Cardiff Bay in one direction and the mountains in the other. The staff were immensely helpful -- nothing was too much trouble. It's a gem. If you're staying Sunday night, you need to know that the restaurant is closed, but there are good meals in the bar.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bagster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

I've stayed here a few times. The hotel used to be an office block and still has a bit of a look & feel of one. The benefit is that there is plenty of space in the public areas and every room has a huge expanse of windows. The rooms all have a nice bathroom with separate bath tub & shower. Unfortunately the room I stayed in had not been refurbished and is starting to show signs of age - the bathroom was looking a bit grubby, the walls & furniture are marked. On the plus side, the room rate (booking direct with the hotel's website) was the cheapest yet with breakfast included. Staff were very efficient and friendly.

There is secure parking in the basement (£12 for 24hrs) with the entrance hidden round the back of the building. You can catch a train to Cardiff Bay from the station 5 mins walk from the hotel - trains every 12 mins (until midnight), journey takes 4mins!

This hotel is still a good option if the rates are good.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank John_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,892 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
2,181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £67 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing