We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standards are slipping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2009

I have been staying in this hotel on business since it first opened as part of the Macdonald chain. When Mercure took over, standards started to slip- noticeably so during my latest visit.
The hotel needs freshening up and refurbishing in some areas- worn and tired carpets, etc. The television in my room did not work properly this time either.
However, the large beds are very comfortable and the bathroom was spotlessly clean.
Check-in and out was smooth. The hotel is still good vale for money for the business and leisure traveller. Free internet connection in bedrooms is very useful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshman_on_2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,386 - 2,392 of 2,642 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2009

We've been to this hotel before (when it was a MacDonald Hotel) and gave it a 5* review. This time, we were disappointed, expecting the same experience I guess, and a 5* experience is hard to live up to a second time.

The room was still lovely, although the bathroom was looking a little tired, but clean and modern nonetheless. It was the service that let the hotel down this time. Any hotel that expects you to cook your own toast in the morning doesn't deserve 5* in my opinion. I hate those machines, you have to stand there watching your bread go through, it's like watching paint dry, while the rest of your food gets cold. Or, you get your toast first, and then it's cold by the time you've got your breakfast. The breakfast, in terms of quality, choice and service, was nowehere near as good as our previous visit.

We also requested a cot in the room, and when we arrived it wasn't in there. It's only a small thing in the scheme of things of course. We would prefer to stay at the Future Inn in the Bay now, it's cheaper and does just as good a job.

If you've already booked, don't worry, it is a lovely hotel, clean and modern, it's just a let down for us to see that it isn't as good as it used to be.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minniecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

We booked this hotel as I had stayed here before three years ago and was not dissapointed this time either.Booked it back in March as a two nights for one package which was fantastic for a family of 4.Four nights with breakast for less than £270!Rooms were spacious,and the kids loved the pool an breakfast.Ideal location for the Urdd eisteddfod and for shopping.
The only downside was they had over priced us on the childrens menu which we were charged £7.95 on the bill and should have been £6.They also charged for the unlimited drinks the children had,which meant we were over charged £5 more than the bill should had been.The staff resolved it straight away,but they knew the price was incorrect!!!!
The staff were very helpful,and professional.
Thanks again for a wonderful stay,and will be recommending.
P.s.The windows could do with a clean as other guests have commented,but a bit of a tall order as they are so high up!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matholwch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Too bad it was only for a couple of nights. The design of the hotel from the lobby to the restaurant to the room was very contemporary and spacious. The location was within walking distance of the shopping district in Central Cardiff.
The staff were very friendly and even provided an ethernet cable for use in the room. Wired internet is free in the room while you have yo pay for wi-fi in the public areas such as the lobby. Staff were welcoming and helpful, offering to call for taxis upon leaving the hotel for the evening and upon check-out.
Didn't get a chance to check out the fitness centre and the swimming pool, though I know they exist. The food was excellent and would recommend people get their breakfast included as it's all-you-can-eat and can get your money's worth.
The room itself was more spacious than expected as it included a couple of extra chairs for watching tv or eating as opposed to using the bed. Found it really difficult to find the switch though for the lamps beside the desk - was really far away (near the washroom) and didn't make sense to me why it was there. The bed was really comfortable and spacious and had no problems sleeping. The windows (as commented already by others) could definitely use some work as they were dirty and would always be an issue when taking a picture of the city. One window was even had a crack mark like in a windshield. The washroom was very nice with a separate tub and shower.

Definitely my first option when I return to Cardiff!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 84paladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

I booked a spa break for this hotel through a spa website. It was a christmas gift for my mum and what a wonderful choice! I had upgraded to a suite and had called ahead to ask for the best room possible as it was a gift. When we arrived they had given us the presidentail suite, which was amazing. Everything here was great. We each had 2 treatments wich were very good, we also ate in both of the nights and the meals were wonderful as was breakfast. The hotel does not look very attractive from the outside but it is a different story on the inside where it is clean and modern with wonderfull views and great facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMPitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Our trip was a surprise birthday for my sister, found the hotel easily from London, nice building from outside even though it did represent an office building. Rooms from the 10th floor upwards have the best views of Cardiff. (i was on the 7th floor). Nice room size with a WICKED corner suite which i had throughly enjoyed.
Fanastic spa treatments available at reasonable prices, however, ensure you book treatments well in advance before you arrive at hotel, they get very busy at weekends. Had a facial out of this world, my siser had a pedicure which she also enjoyed. The guys had massages and were truly relaxed and energized for the rest of the day. Sauna, Jacuzzi (to much chlorine), gym and swimming pool also available and were great.
Restaurant in the evening was disappointing booked table for 8.15pm was not served with meal (starter) until 9pm, not sure how long we waited for main course but kitchen closed before we could order dessert.
On the whole would recommend another trip to couple/friends.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sexymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Delicious breakfast and great service.
Wonderful view from 1403.
Lovely suite.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuroConnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
2,241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,412 reviews
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,984 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Address: 24-26 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 0DD, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £60 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star luxury hotel in the centre of Cardiff, 15 min walk from Cardiff Central railway and bus station and a 30 min drive from Cardiff International Airport. The hotel features 165 en suite rooms, the award winning First Floor restaurant, a stylish bar as well as a luxury leisure club and spa. 15 meeting rooms and function suites suitable for hosting conferences, events and weddings. Fibre Optic WiFi internet access. Underground parking available at the hotel at GBP 12.00 per 24 hours (subject to availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Holland Hotel Cardiff
Accor Holland Hotel Cardiff
Holland House Hotel Cardiff
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel And Spa Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing