We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veggie roast = love”
Review of The Rummer Tavern

The Rummer Tavern
Ranked #223 of 1,217 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Veggie roast = love”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Delightful indie pub - chilled and inclusive atmosphere, efficient and friendly service from fun and dashing young staff. Substantial and good-value food - the veggie Sunday roast is like being in love. Just remember you are not entitled to customise the menu ;-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    40
    12
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Eat here a couple times & the Mixed Grill & Steak & Chips have been good value for money...The staff are welcoming & friendly...Unfortunately my last visit Saturday 12 with two friends for lunch wasn't good - we all had fish & Chips which looked like a child's meal - the cod portion was small & the fish very wet & tasteless, desert spoon of peas & OK Chips...I would recommend the Rummer but advise to avoid the Fish & Chips.

Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
460 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“ok pub”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stopped here for a pint on the way to the rugby only to find no food available. Disappointing on match day. Bar service was friendly an efficient. Moved elsewhere for food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salmo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice traditional pub”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Called in for lunch on a Sunday and was not disappointed. A nice traditional pub located in the centre of Cardiff. Good choice of real ale (HPA especially recommended) and a nice menu. Sunday lunch offered at a competitive price of £6.95 and although that wasn't our choice it looked good when being served to other customers! We chose the Hunter's chicken and Scampi and the food was well cooked, good flavour and good size portions! Young staff cheerful and helpful. My only grouse (a small one) is the background music. The pub doesn't really warrant music and it was just a touch distracting when having a conversation. Apart from that would definitely visit again and recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAC446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great quality for a great price.”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stumbled on this pub/restaurant during a weekend in Cardiff and what a find it was. This traditional pub was comfortable and welcoming.
We hadn't gone in with the intention to eat, it was just a quick drink before looking for a place to eat, however, the food that was coming from the kitchen looked very tempting and we decided to give it a try.
The menu had a variety of meals available and as it was Sunday also offered a sunday roast option. As there was 8 in our party we all had different food from across the menu and only compliments followed.
All the food was plentiful, hot and tasty, the sevice was excellent and very reasonably priced.
All in all a pleasant time was had by everyone, this is a gem of a pub and well worth a visit if you are in Cardiff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winniesgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rummer Tavern also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to The Rummer Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing