We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute shambles”
Review of Lab 22

Lab 22
Ranked #4 of 76 Nightlife in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A creative cocktail lounge where guests can experience an array of liquid delights.
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute shambles”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I've never been to Lab 22 before and it was 4 of my friends birthday. Rang up a week before to boon a table, directly told them there was 15 of us and paid the £50 deposit whilst requesting to sit by another group that we knew was there that night. Rang on the day to ask if we could up the table to 20 people, was told there wasn't room and said 'you can probably squeeze everybody on'. Got there, had a 6 seater table, was told that if we wanted another table it was £50 plus we'd have to move. Obviously I appreciate that the £50 comes off your bar tab but none of this was specified when I called. Most of my friends left and I felt embaressed that I had organised this night. The staff were rude and said 'well it's £50 per table'. No sorries or anything of the kind. Drinks are overpriced and very basic. Will honestly never visit again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank NatalieDymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    26
    8
    5
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced snobbery”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Less than average location on chippy lane, will double entry cost if your male regardless of if half the group are female. Small venue, average music, very pretentious and not worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Confusing concept but enjoyable”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Not quite sure about the concept they are trying to portray here. Managed to get 4 of our group of 6 in (strict dress code and footwear requirements). Got in for free, eventually although bouncer seemed unsure whether we were able to head in or whether he was meant to charge us! Bit confusing. when we got in there there was no on in the bar area at all, the "table reservations" were all full though. Cocktails were quirky, good selection, roughly £10 each. Can't complain, but confusing whether the are trying to make it members, exclusive or open to public dressed appropriately. Also their website could do without the annoying music being played on loop!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cjesson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another interesting and enjoyable evening!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my second visit to Lab22. We had the 7 course taster menu from a voucher site and were impressed with the quality of service, creativity and flavour of each unique cocktail. Would recommend this place for a casual drink or a business meeting. Staff are really friendly.

Helpful?
Thank legendgez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“AWFUL - AWFUL - AWFUL - DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME & MONEY”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Where do I start...

Lab 22:
Seven Course Taster Menu

Dirty Tables
Shockingly bored, uninterested,"can't be bothered" - not even rude, just didn't give a you know what attitude. You know who you are and you are not an asset to this establishment.
Rubbish, watered down cocktails - over half in small shot cocktail shaped gasses.
Canopes - what a joke.

You clearly make money from rugby weekends, because this place is awful, arrogant and just dated.

Where is your template from? Meat head doormen, taps that are not fitted properly Manchester, Leeds, Birmingham, Newcastle have amazing bars. Look at those for a template and how to run a decent bar.

What a joke - if you waste your money here you are a fool!! You have been warned!

Helpful?
Thank CardiffDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lab 22 also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Lab 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing